
Temporary Restraining Order 
(CLETS)DV-111 Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Fill in court name and street address:
Superior Court of California, County of

Case Number:

This is a Court Order.
DV-111, Page 1 of 5Temporary Restraining Order (CLETS)

(Domestic Violence)
Judicial Council of California, www.courtinfo.ca.gov 
New January 1, 2010, Mandatory Form 
Family Code section 6200 et.seq.
Approved by DOJ

Description of that person:

M FSex: Height: Weight: Race:
Hair Color: Date of Birth:Eye Color: Age:

Court fills in case number when form is filed.

DRAFT 12
Group A 

06/04/09 xyz

Not Approved by the 
Judicial Council

Person in       must complete this page only.

Name of restrained person:

1

2

Name of protected person:

Home address (if known):
Zip:State:City:

Work address (if known):
Zip:State:City:

1

Additional Protected Persons
In addition to the person named in      , the following persons are protected by temporary orders as indicated in 
items        and        (family or household members):   

AgeFull Name Sex

Check here if there are additional protected persons. Attach a sheet of paper and write, “DV-111, Item 3, 
- Additional Protected Persons” as a title.

3
1

4 5

Address (skip this if the person above has a lawyer) (If you want your 
home address to be private, give a mailing address instead):

City: State: Zip:
Telephone (optional): Fax (optional): 
Lawyer (if any) (name, State Bar number, firm name, address, telephone, 
fax (optional), and e-mail (optional)):
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Personal Conduct Orders
You must not do the following things to the  

Harass, attack, strike, threaten, assault (sexually or otherwise), hit, follow, stalk, molest, destroy 
personal property, disturb the peace, keep under surveillance, or block movements.
Contact (directly or indirectly), telephone, send messages, mail, or e-mail.      

Stay-Away Order
You must stay at least (specify): yards away from:

DV-111, Page 2 of 5New January 1, 2010

Peaceful written contact through a lawyer or a process server or other person for service of legal papers related 
to a court case is allowed and does not violate this order.

4

5

The persons listed in 

That person’s  school
e.

That person’s homeb.
That person’s job or workplacec.

3a.

d.

Granted Not Granted

Granted Not Granted

The person named in 

Turn In or Sell Guns or Firearms
You must:

Sell to a licensed gun dealer or turn in to a law enforcement agency any guns or other firearms within your 
immediate possession or control. This must be done within 24 hours of being served with this order. 
File a receipt with the court within 48 hours of receiving this order that proves guns have been turned in or sold. 
(You may use Form DV-800, Proof of Firearms Turned in or Sold, for the receipt.)

•

•

9

No Guns or Other Firearms 
You cannot own, possess, have, buy or try to buy, receive or try to receive, or in any other way get guns, other 
firearms, or ammunition.

8

Temporary Restraining Order (CLETS)
(Domestic Violence)

g. The children’s school or child care

b.

a.

2

1

h. Other (specify):

Move-Out Order
You  must take only personal clothing and belongings needed until the hearing and move out immediately
from (address):

Child Custody and Visitation Order
You must follow the orders listed in attached Form DV-140, Child Custody and Visitation Order.

6

6

7

Case Number:

Your name:

Granted Not Granted

Granted Not Granted

Brief and peaceful contact as required for court-ordered visitation of children is allowed unless a 
criminal protective court order says otherwise.

person in        and   persons in      :   1 3

f.

That person’s vehicle
Brief and peaceful contact as required for court-ordered visitation of children is allowed unless a 
criminal protective court order says otherwise.

This is a Court Order.

Court will complete the rest of this form.

Temporary Restraining Orders Against the Person in 
The court has made the temporary orders granted below.  If you do not obey these orders, 
you can be arrested and charged with a crime. And you may have to go to jail for up to one 
year, pay a fine of up to $1,000, or both.  These orders will expire on the date of the hearing 
listed in item      of Form DV-110, Notice of Court Hearing, unless they are extended by the 
court.

3

Take any action, directly or through others, to obtain the addresses or locations of the persons in       and 
     . (If item c is not checked, the court has found good cause not to make this order.)

c. 1
3

Not Requested

Not Requested

Not Requested
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Case Number:

Your name:

DV-111, Page 3 of 5New January 1, 2010

Date:
Judge (or Judicial Officer)

Temporary Restraining Order (CLETS)
(Domestic Violence)

This is a Court Order.

Additional orders are attached at the end of this order as DV-111, Attachment 14.

Other Orders Granted Not Granted

Property Control
Until the hearing, only the person in can use, control, and possess the following property and things:

Property Restraint

Unlawful communications may be recorded.

No Fee to Notify (Serve) Restrained Person 
If the sheriff serves this order, he or she will do it for free.

66
If the people in       and       are married to each other or are registered domestic partners, they must not transfer, 
borrow against, sell, hide, or get rid of or destroy any property, including animals, except in the usual course of 
business or for necessities of life. In addition, each person must notify the other of any new or big expenses and 
explain them to the court. (The person in       cannot contact the person in       if the court has made a “no 
contact” order.)

The person in       can record communications made by the person in        that violate the judge’s orders.

Animals: Possession and Stay-Away Order
The person in       is given the sole possession, care, and control of the animals listed below. The person in       
must stay at least ______ yards away from and not take, sell, transfer, encumber, conceal, molest, attack, strike, 
threaten, harm, or otherwise dispose of the following animals: 

66

Granted Not Granted

Granted Not Granted

Granted Not Granted

Granted Not Granted

Criminal Protective Order (check a or b)
A criminal protective order or Form CR-160, Criminal Protective Order — Domestic Violence, is in effect.
Case Number: County: Expiration Date:

Peaceful written contact through a lawyer or a process server or other person for service of legal papers related 
to a court case is allowed and does not violate this order.

b.

a.

The court has no information about the existence of a criminal protective order.

The court received information that the person in         owns or possesses a firearm.

Not Requested

Not Requested

Not Requested

Not Requested

Not Requested14

10
1

11

13

15

1 2

1 2

2 1

12
1 2

16

217
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Case Number:

Your name:

DV-111, Page 4 of 5New January 1, 2010 Temporary Restraining Order (CLETS)
(Domestic Violence)

You cannot own, have, possess, buy or try to buy, receive or try to receive, or otherwise get guns, other firearms, or 
ammunition while this order is in effect. If you do, you can go to jail and pay a $1,000 fine. You must sell to a 
licensed gun dealer or turn in to a law enforcement agency any guns or other firearms that you have or control as 
stated in item        above. The court will require you to prove that you did so. 

Warnings and Notices to the Restrained Person in 
You Cannot Have Guns or Firearms. 

66

9

If You Do Not Obey This Order, You Can Be Arrested and Charged With a Crime.

If you travel to another state or to tribal lands or make the protected person do so, with the intention of 
disobeying this order, you can be charged with a federal crime.
If you do not obey this order, you can go to prison and/or pay a fine.

It is a felony to take or hide a child in violation of this order.  •
•

•

Certificate of Compliance With VAWA
This temporary protective order meets all “full faith and credit” requirements of the Violence Against Women 
Act, 18 U.S.C. § 2265 (1994) (VAWA) upon notice of the restrained person. This court has jurisdiction over 
the parties and the subject matter; the restrained person has been or will be afforded notice and a timely 
opportunity to be heard as provided by the laws of this jurisdiction. This order is valid and entitled to 
enforcement in each jurisdiction throughout the 50 states of the United States, the District of 
Columbia, all tribal lands, and all U.S. territories, commonwealths, and possessions and shall be 
enforced as if it were an order of that jurisdiction.

2

This is a Court Order.

After You Have Been Served With a Restraining Order
Obey all the orders.

If you want to respond, fill out Form DV-120, Answer to Temporary Restraining Order, and file it with the court 
clerk. You do not have to pay any fee to file your response.

Serve Form DV-120 on the person in      or that person’s attorney. You cannot do this yourself.  Serve it by mail or 
personal delivery within the time given in item       of Form DV-110, Notice of Court Hearing. The person who 
does the service should complete and sign a proof of service. Form DV-210, Prooof of Service by Mail or Form 
DV-200, Proof of  Service (In Person), may be used. File the completed proof of service with the court clerk 
before the hearing date or bring it with you to the hearing.

•

•

•

In addition to the response, you may file and serve declarations signed under oath by you and other persons who 
have personal knowledge of the facts. You may use Form MC-030 for the declaration.

In addition to filing a response, you should go to the hearing. If you have any witnesses, they should also go to the 
hearing.  

At the hearing, tell the judge if you agree or disagree with the orders requested.

Even if you do not go to the hearing, the judge can make the restraining orders last for up to five years.

•

•

•

•

• Read Form DV-540-INFO, Information for the Restrained Person, to learn how to respond to this order.

1
5
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Case Number:

Your name:

DV-111, Page 5 of 5New January 1, 2010

—Clerk's Certificate—

I certify that this Temporary Restraining Order is a true and correct copy of the 
original on file in the court. 

Clerk’s Certificate

[seal]

Clerk, by , Deputy

(Clerk will fill out this part.)

 Date:

This order is effective when made. It is enforceable anywhere in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, all tribal 
lands, and all U.S. territories and shall be enforced as if it were an order of that jurisdiction by any law enforcement 
agency that has received the order, is shown a copy of the order, or has verified its existence on the California Law 
Enforcement Telecommunications System (CLETS). If the law enforcement agency has not received proof of 
service on the restrained person, and the restrained person was not present at the court hearing, the agency shall 
advise the restrained person of the terms of the order and then shall enforce it. Violations of this order are subject to 
criminal penalties.

Instructions for Law Enforcement

Temporary Restraining Order (CLETS)
(Domestic Violence)

Child Custody, Visitation, and Support
Child custody and visitation:  If you do not go to the hearing, the judge can make custody and visitation 
orders for your children without hearing your side.
Child support:  The judge can order child support based on the income of both parents. The judge can also 
have that support taken directly from your paycheck. Child support can be a lot of money, and usually you 
have to pay until the child is age 18. File and serve a Financial Statement (simplified)(Form FL-155) or an 
Income and Expense Declaration (Form FL-150) so the judge will have information about your finances. 
Otherwise, the court may make support orders without hearing your side.

•

•

Spousal support:  File and serve a Financial Statement (simplified) (Form FL-155) or an Income and Expense 
Declaration
(Form FL-150) so the judge will have information about your finances. Otherwise, the court may make support 
orders without hearing your side.

•

This is a Court Order.
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