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I. [§75.1] SCOPE OF BENCHGUIDE 
This benchguide provides an overview of the procedure for sentencing 

persons convicted of misdemeanors. It includes procedural checklists, a 
brief summary of the law, and a sentencing script. Sentencing provisions 
for infractions and traffic violations are covered in California Judges 
Benchguide 82: Traffic Court Proceedings (Cal CJER). Sentencing 
provisions in DUI cases are covered in California Judges Benchguide 74: 
Sentencing Guidelines for Common Misdemeanors and Infractions (Cal 
CJER) and California Judges Benchguide 81: DUI Proceedings (Cal 
CJER). 

II. PROCEDURE 
A. [§75.2] Checklist: Setting Date for Sentencing 

(1) Following a guilty verdict or guilty plea, advise defendant of the 
right to be sentenced not less than 6 hours and not more than 5 days after 
the verdict or plea. Pen C §1449. Ask defendant if he or she waives time 
for sentencing. 

(2) If defendant does not waive time: 
• If proceeding without a probation report, set time for sentencing not 

less than 6 hours and not more than 5 days after the verdict or plea; 
or  

•  If probation is considered, set time for sentencing within 20 judicial 
days. Pen C §1449.  

(3) If defendant waives time: 
• Proceed to arraignment for judgment and sentence if defendant 

desires to be sentenced immediately; or 
• Set sentencing date within 10 days, or later with defendant’s 

consent, if defendant indicates that he or she will make a 
prejudgment motion at the hearing; or 

• When defendant requests a probation report and/or the court refers 
the case to the probation department, set sentencing date within a 
reasonable period of time, allowing enough time for the preparation 
of the report. For discussion, see §75.6. 
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(4) Hear and decide any request for release on bail pending 
sentencing. For discussion, see §75.8. 

(5) Optional: Request parties to submit any prejudgment motions 
within a specified period of time before the date set for sentencing. 

B. [§75.3] Checklist: Sentencing Hearing 
  

 JUDICIAL TIP: This checklist contains items that may not apply 
with respect to many run-of-the-mill sentencing proceedings, 
particularly when the parties have agreed to a sentence as part of a 
negotiated disposition or the court has already indicated what 
sentence it would give were the defendant to enter into an open plea 
with the court. It relates to a sentence after a verdict of guilty or an 
“open” plea (a plea made without a promised or negotiated 
sentence). On a stipulated plea, much of this is unnecessary.  

 
(1) Call the case and ask for appearances. The defendant is not 

required to be present unless he or she was ordered to appear when the 
sentencing date was scheduled or the defendant is to be sentenced for a 
domestic violence offense. For discussion, see §75.11. 

(2) If defendant appears without counsel, advise defendant of the right 
to counsel and ask whether he or she desires assistance of counsel. If 
defendant answers yes, postpone sentencing to allow defendant to obtain 
private counsel or to speak with the public defender. If defendant wishes to 
proceed in pro per, obtain a waiver under Faretta v California (1975) 422 
US 806, 95 S Ct 2525, 45 L Ed 2d 562.  
 JUDICIAL TIP: The court is not required to advise the defendant 

of the right to counsel if the right has been waived earlier in the 
proceedings, unless the defendant appeared with counsel at an 
earlier hearing. For discussion, see §75.12. 

(3) If defendant agreed to a plea bargain before another judge, obtain 
a waiver from defendant of his or her right to be sentenced by that judge. 
For discussion, see §§75.4–75.5. 

(4) Ask defendant whether he or she waives formal arraignment for 
judgment and sentence. If defendant does not waive arraignment, confirm 
the correct name and identity of the defendant, advise of the nature of the 
charge(s), the plea, and the verdict (if any). For discussion, see §75.10. 

(5) Ask defendant whether he or she has any legal cause why judgment 
should not be pronounced. For discussion, see §75.10. 

(6) If a probation report was ordered, state for the record that the 
report was received, read, and considered. Pen C §1203(b)(3). Confirm that 
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defendant has received and read a copy of the report. For discussion, see 
§75.51. 

(7) If a report was not ordered, inform the parties of the information 
to be considered by the court in determining sentence. Grant a continuance, 
on defendant’s request, to allow defendant to prepare an answer or rebuttal 
to the information. Pen C §1203(d). 

(8) Request and receive any comments and/or evidence from defendant 
or defense counsel to answer or rebut the contents of the probation report 
or other information considered by the court. For discussion, see §75.13. 

(9) Request and receive any comments and/or evidence from the 
district attorney, including any statements from the victim(s). For 
discussion, see §75.18. 

(10) Determine whether to grant or deny probation. For discussion, 
see §75.51. 

(11) If probation is denied: 
• Render judgment of county jail term and/or fine. For discussion, see 

§§75.21–75.23. 
• If defendant is convicted of multiple counts: 

— Impose a sentence on each count and stay execution of sentence 
of any count to which the Pen C §654 double punishment 
prohibition is applicable. For discussion, see §75.36. 

— State whether sentences are to run concurrently or 
consecutively. For discussion, see §75.37. 

• If applicable, order defendant to pay restitution to any victim(s) for 
economic losses. Pen C §1202.4(f). For discussion, see §§75.24–
75.30. 

• Impose a restitution fine of not less than $150 and not more than 
$1000. Pen C §1202.4(b)(1). For discussion, see §75.31. 

• Calculate custody and conduct credits and subtract the total from 
the imposed county jail term and/or fines. For discussion, see 
§§75.38–75.43. 

• The clerk must enter the judgment in the minutes, stating briefly the 
offense for which defendant was convicted and any prior 
convictions. Pen C §1207. 

(12) If probation is granted: 
• Suspend imposition of judgment or impose judgment and suspend its 

execution. For discussion, see §75.54. 
• Specify term of probation. For discussion, see §75.53. 
• Specify conditions of probation. For discussion, see §§75.55–75.57. 
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• If service of time in county jail is made a condition of probation, 
calculate custody and conduct credits and subtract the total from 
the jail term. For discussion, see §§75.38–75.43. 

• Ask defendant whether he or she understands the conditions of 
probation and accepts probation on those conditions. If defendant 
rejects probation, impose sentence (Step 11, above). For discussion, 
see §75.59. 

(13) Advise defendant of his or her appeal rights (unless defendant 
pleaded guilty or is represented by counsel), the right to rehabilitation, and, 
if applicable, the duty to register with local law enforcement authorities. 
For discussion, see §§75.44–75.47. 

III. APPLICABLE LAW 
A. Preliminary Matters 

1. Proper Sentencing Judge 
a. [§75.4] General Rule 

Although it is the preferred practice to have the judge who presided 
over the trial pronounce judgment and sentence, a different judge may do 
so. People v Downer (1962) 57 C2d 800, 816, 22 CR 347. But see People v 
Strunk (1995) 31 CA4th 265, 275, 36 CR2d 868 (blanket procedure 
directing that all sentencing matters be handled by one judge without 
explicit agreement by defendant or showing of good cause violates 
defendant’s right to independent, full, and fair sentencing hearing). 

When a judge accepts a plea bargain and retains sentencing discretion 
under the agreement, an implied term of the bargain is that this judge will 
impose sentence. People v Arbuckle (1978) 22 C3d 749, 756, 150 CR 778; 
see also K.R. v Superior Court (2017) 3 C5th 295, 311–312, 219 CR3d 451 
(defendant does not have to affirmatively show reliance on judge taking  
plea also presiding at sentencing, disapproving cases to the contrary).   

If the judge who took the defendant’s plea is unavailable for sentencing 
because of internal court administrative practices, the defendant has the 
right to withdraw the plea. People v Arbuckle, supra, 22 C3d at 757. See 
People v Pedregon (1981) 115 CA3d 723, 726, 171 CR 468 (error for 
another judge to impose sentence when visiting judge who accepted plea 
had returned to his permanent assignment). The Arbuckle rule does not 
apply when the judge’s unavailability arises from circumstances clearly 
beyond the power of the court, such as the judge’s resignation, retirement, 
illness, or death. People v Dunn (1986) 176 CA3d 572, 575, 222 CR 273 
(retirement); People v Jackson (1987) 193 CA3d 393, 403, 238 CR 327 
(illness); People v Watson (1982) 129 CA3d 5, 7, 180 CR 759 (death). 
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b. [§75.5] Arbuckle Waiver 
The defendant’s right to be sentenced by the same judge can be waived. 

However, mere silence or acquiescence to a new judge at sentencing does 
not waive a pleading defendant’s Arbuckle right. If the prosecutor wants “to 
allow a different judge to preside at sentencing . . . [the prosecutor] should 
seek to obtain a waiver from the pleading defendant.” K.R. v Superior Court 
(2017) 3 C5th 295, 312, 219 CR3d 451. Courts should assume the judge 
who accepts a plea should also sentence the defendant unless the 
prosecution shows otherwise. Defendants do not have to invoke Arbuckle 
and opt in. K.R. v Superior Court, supra, 3 C5th at 313. 

Previously, the courts of appeal were divided as to whether a defendant 
waives this implied term of the plea bargain by silence when a different 
judge imposes sentence. However, K.R. v Superior Court disapproved cases 
to the extent they held a defendant must make “a factual showing that he or 
she subjectively intended the judge taking the plea would also pronounce 
sentence.” K.R. v Superior Court, supra, 3 C5th at 298, 313 n10. 
 JUDICIAL TIP: The judge taking a plea who believes there is a 

possibility that he or she will not be available for sentencing should 
inform the defendant at the time of taking the plea and should 
obtain a waiver of the requirement. In some counties in which 
judges routinely cover one another’s calendars, the judge taking the 
plea may want to automatically seek an Arbuckle waiver from the 
defendant if not proceeding to immediate sentencing after the plea. 
If the sentencing judge did not receive defendant’s plea, the judge 
should ask the defendant whether he or she has any objection to the 
judge’s pronouncement of judgment and sentence.  

2. Time for Pronouncement of Judgment and Sentence 
a. [§75.6] General Rule 

The court must pronounce judgment not less than 6 hours nor more 
than 5 days after a plea, finding, or verdict of guilty, unless the defendant 
waives the time for sentencing and wishes to be sentenced immediately. Pen 
C §1449. The court may extend the time for sentencing for the following 
reasons (Pen C §1449): 

• Probation referral. The court may delay sentencing for not more 
than 20 judicial days in order to refer the case to the probation 
department for preparation of a presentence report. The defendant 
or probation officer may request a postponement of sentencing of 
not more than 90 additional days to allow for preparation of the 
report. 
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• Prejudgment motions. The court may extend the time for sentencing 
by not more than 10 days to hear and determine a motion for new 
trial or in arrest of judgment. See 6 Witkin & Epstein, California 
Criminal Law, Criminal Judgment §§100–137 (new trial motion), 
138–140 (arrest of judgment motion) (4th ed 2012). 

• Determination of defendant’s sanity. If the court has reasonable 
ground to believe that the defendant is insane, it may delay the time 
for sentencing and commit the defendant to custody until the issue 
of sanity has been heard and determined. 

b. [§75.7] Incarcerated Defendant 
A defendant who is subsequently incarcerated for more than 90 days 

on a different misdemeanor or felony conviction before being sentenced on 
the current charge must be sentenced in the current matter within 90 days 
of the district attorney’s receipt of written notice from the defendant 
indicating the defendant’s place of confinement and his or her desire to be 
brought for sentencing. Pen C §1381. If the defendant is not sentenced 
within the 90-day period and a continuance has not been granted on the 
defendant’s request or by his or her consent, the court must dismiss the case 
on the motion of the district attorney or the defendant. Pen C §1381. 
Judgment may be pronounced in the defendant’s absence if the defendant is 
represented by counsel, or if the defendant knowingly and intelligently 
waives the right to be present. Pen C §1193(b); People v Kriss (1979) 96 
CA3d 913, 919, 158 CR 420. 

For an outline of the procedure for handling the sentencing of a defen-
dant subsequently convicted of a crime and incarcerated in a federal 
correctional institution located in California, see Pen C §1381.5. 

3. [§75.8] Release of Defendant Pending Sentence 
A defendant in a misdemeanor case who has applied for probation may 

be admitted to bail as a matter of right pending pronouncement of judgment 
and sentence. Pen C §1272(1), (2). The court has discretion to release a 
defendant who has not applied for probation. Pen C §1272(3). When setting 
bail, the court must consider the protection of the public, the seriousness of 
the offense for which the defendant was convicted, the defendant’s previous 
criminal record, and the probability that the defendant will appear at the 
sentencing hearing. Public safety is the primary consideration. Pen C 
§1275(a)(1). In addition, the court may consider factors such as the 
information included in an own-recognizance investigative report prepared 
under Pen C §1318.1. Pen C §1275(a)(1). 

The court may set reasonable bail conditions related to public safety. 
In re McSherry (2003) 112 CA4th 856, 860–863, 5 CR3d 497 (trial court 
had authority to place restrictions on defendant’s bail pending appeal of his 
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conviction of multiple counts of misdemeanor school loitering; restriction 
requiring defendant to stay at least 200 yards from places where children 
congregate was reasonable and related to public safety given defendant’s 
prior criminal history of child sexual abuse). 

Note: In re Humphrey (review granted May 23, 2018, S247278; 
opinion at 19 CA5th 1006, 228 CR3d 513, to remain published and citable 
until further order), regarding ability to pay and alternatives to custody that 
assure appearance and safety of the public, will likely apply to misdemeanor 
bail issues, despite the fact the defendant is post-plea or -verdict (the 
presumption of innocence no longer applies). 

4. [§75.9] Referral of Sex Offenders for Probation Report 
If the defendant is convicted of an offense requiring registration as a 

sex offender under Pen C §§290–290.024, or if the probation officer 
recommends that at sentencing the court order the defendant to register as a 
sex offender under Pen C §290.006, the court must refer the defendant to 
the probation department for an assessment of the risk of recidivism. Pen C 
§1203(d). The assessment must be performed using the State-Authorized 
Risk Assessment Tool for Sex Offenders (SARATSO) (see specifically Pen 
C §§290.03–290.09). The court must consider this report at sentencing. Pen 
C §1203(d). Each county probation department is required to assess every 
eligible defendant whether or not a report is prepared under Pen C §1203. 
Pen C §290.06(a)(6). 

Probationers who pose a high risk of recommitting sex crimes, as 
determined by SARATSO, are subject to intensive and specialized proba-
tion supervision. Pen C §1203f. 

B. [§75.10] Arraignment for Judgment 
The court must inform a defendant who appears for judgment of the 

nature of the charge, the plea to the charge, and any verdict returned on the 
plea. Pen C §1200. Generally, defense counsel will waive arraignment for 
the purpose of imposing sentence. The court must then ask the defendant 
whether he or she has any legal cause to show why judgment should not be 
pronounced. Pen C §1200; Stenback v Municipal Court (1969) 272 CA2d 
27, 31, 76 CR 917 (court may render judgment only if defendant fails to 
show legal cause why judgment should not be pronounced). This inquiry is 
called the “allocution.” 

Penal Code §1200 does not entitle the defendant, in response to the 
trial court’s allocution, to offer an unsworn personal statement in mitigation 
of punishment. Any such statement must be made under oath and subject to 
cross-examination. People v Evans (2008) 44 C4th 590, 592, 80 CR3d 174. 

Penal Code §1201 defines the following as legal causes why judgment 
should not be pronounced: 
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(a) Insanity. If the court has reasonable ground for believing defendant 
to be insane, the court must try the question of defendant’s insanity in 
accordance with Pen C §1369. Pen C §1201(a). 
 JUDICIAL TIP: Competency is rarely raised for the first time at 

the sentencing hearing. Competency issues generally surface 
earlier in the criminal proceedings. See California Judges 
Benchguide 63: Competence to Stand Trial (Cal CJER) for a 
comprehensive discussion of court procedures under Pen C 
§§1367–1376. 

 (b) Good cause in arrest of judgment or for new trial. If the defendant 
has good cause to offer, either in arrest of judgment or for a new trial, the 
court may, in its discretion, order the judgment to be deferred, and proceed 
to decide the motion. Pen C §1201(b). 
 JUDICIAL TIP: Prejudgment motions are rarely made at the 

sentencing hearing. The California Supreme Court disapproves of 
this practice. “Defense counsel has a professional duty, if not a 
legal obligation, to notify the court and opposing counsel whenever 
feasible that the defense contemplates making a new trial motion at 
the time set for sentencing, and to indicate the proposed grounds 
for the motion.” People v Braxton (2004) 34 C4th 798, 807 n2, 22 
CR3d 46. 

C. Pronouncement of Judgment and Sentence 
1. Rights of Defendant 

a. [§75.11] Right to Be Present 
A defendant has a constitutional right to be present at the 

pronouncement of judgment and sentence. Cal Const art I, §15. However, 
judgment in a misdemeanor case generally may be pronounced against the 
defendant in his or her absence if the defendant is represented by counsel or 
if the defendant knowingly and intelligently waives the right to be present. 
Pen C §§977(a)(1), 1193(b); People v Kriss (1979) 96 CA3d 913, 919, 158 
CR 420; see People v Shelby (1980) 108 CA3d Supp 7, 11, 166 CR 707 
(court may not sentence defendant who fails to appear on day of sentencing, 
unless court has before it sufficient facts that absence is voluntary). 

The court may order the presence of a defendant at sentencing. 
However, courts may not have blanket policies requiring the personal 
appearance of all misdemeanor defendants at sentencing. The decision to 
order a defendant’s presence must be made on a case-by-case basis. Olney 
v Municipal Court (1982) 133 CA3d 455, 462, 184 CR 78. 

Domestic violence exception. A defendant charged with a mis-
demeanor involving domestic violence (as defined in Fam C §6211) or a 
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misdemeanor violation of Pen C §273.6 (violation of protective order) must 
be present at sentencing. Pen C §977(a)(2). 

DUI exception: The court may, in an appropriate case, order a 
defendant charged with a misdemeanor offense involving driving under the 
influence to be present at sentencing. Pen C §977(a)(3). The subject mis-
demeanor DUI offenses are Pen C §191.5(b), Veh C §23103 as specified in 
Veh C §23103.5, Veh C §23152, and Veh C §23153. Pen C §977(a)(3). 

b. [§75.12] Right to Counsel 
A defendant has a constitutional right to retained or appointed counsel 

at the pronouncement of judgment. Cal Const art I, §15; Mempa v Rhay 
(1967) 389 US 128, 137, 88 S Ct 254, 19 L Ed 2d 336; In re Cortez (1971) 
6 C3d 78, 88, 98 CR 307. When a defendant appears without counsel, the 
court must advise the defendant of his or her right to counsel and ask if the 
defendant desires assistance of counsel. In re Roberts (1953) 40 C2d 745, 
748, 255 P2d 784. When the defendant wishes to retain counsel or seek the 
appointment of a public defender, the court should postpone sentencing for 
a brief period to allow the defendant to procure counsel or a public defender. 

If the court finds the defendant eligible for court-appointed counsel, it 
must advise the defendant that he or she may be required to pay all or a 
portion of the cost of counsel if, after the conclusion of the criminal 
proceedings, the court determines that the defendant has the present ability 
to pay. Pen C §987.8(f). 

The court is not required to inform a defendant of the right to counsel 
when the defendant has been advised of, and waived, the right to counsel at 
an earlier stage of the criminal proceedings. In re Fresquez (1967) 67 C2d 
626, 634, 63 CR 271. The previous waiver remains in effect and the 
defendant has the burden of taking affirmative action to reinstate the right. 
In re Turrieta (1960) 54 C2d 816, 821, 8 CR 737. However, when a 
significant time has elapsed between the initial advisement and sentencing, 
the court must again inform the defendant of the right to counsel. Turrieta, 
supra, 54 C2d at 820 (2-year interval); see People v Hall (1990) 218 CA3d 
1102, 1106, 267 CR 494 (2-year interval); In re Pickett (1972) 25 CA3d 
1158, 1164, 102 CR 487 (14-month interval). 

When a defendant who was represented by counsel before sentencing 
appears, without explanation, in pro per, the court must advise the defendant 
of the right to counsel, whether or not the defendant was informed earlier of 
the right. People v Maldonado (1965) 237 CA2d Supp 902, 904, 47 CR 470 
(court erred in allowing defendant to proceed in pro per when case file 
disclosed an attorney of record and no substitution of counsel). 

If the defendant wishes to proceed in pro per, the court must obtain a 
knowing and voluntary waiver of his or her right to counsel. Faretta v 
California (1975) 422 US 806, 95 S Ct 2525, 45 L Ed 2d 562; In re Johnson 
(1965) 62 C2d 325, 334, 42 CR 228. For discussion of the taking of a 
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Faretta waiver, see California Judges Benchguide 54: Faretta and Marsden 
Issues (Cal CJER). 

2. Admissible Evidence at Sentencing Hearing 
a. [§75.13] Probation Report 

If the case is referred to the probation officer, the court may consider 
the contents of the officer’s report. Pen C §1203(d). However, before the 
court may do so, there must be a substantial basis for believing that the 
information contained in the report is accurate and reliable. People v 
Peterson (1973) 9 C3d 717, 727, 108 CR 835. Information collected in a 
probation report includes (Pen C §§1203(b)(2), 1203.1k, 1203.10(a)): 

• The defendant’s background and prior criminal history; 
• The circumstances surrounding the commission of the offense; 
• The probation officer’s recommendation for or against probation 

and conditions of probation, if granted; 
• A recommendation of the amount of the restitution fine the defen-

dant should be required to pay under Pen C §1202.4(b); and 
• A recommendation of the amount of restitution to the victim or the 

Restitution Fund that the defendant should be required to pay under 
Pen C §1202.4(f). 

If the defendant is convicted of an offense requiring registration as a 
sex offender under Pen C §290, the probation report must include the results 
of the State-Authorized Risk Assessment Tool for Sex Offenders 
(SARATSO) (see Pen C §§290.04–290.06), if applicable. Pen C 
§1203(b)(2)(C). Probationers who pose a high risk of recommitting sex 
crimes, as determined by SARATSO, are subject to intensive and special-
ized probation supervision. Pen C §1203f. See §75.9. 

The report may include facts relating to counts dismissed as part of a 
plea bargain that are transactionally related to the offense to which the 
defendant pleaded guilty. People v Harvey (1979) 25 C3d 754, 758, 159 CR 
696. 

The following information should not be included in the probation 
report or considered by the sentencing court: 

• Evidence suppressed as a product of an unlawful search and 
seizure, where the police conduct shocked the court’s conscience,  
after a Pen C §1538.5 hearing. See Cal Const art I, §28(f)(2); People 
v Moore (1988) 201 CA3d 877, 885, 247 CR 353 (evidence 
suppressed under Pen C §1538.5 inadmissible only if exclusion 
mandated by Fourth Amendment exclusionary rule). See also 
People v Brewster (1986) 184 CA3d 921, 928, 229 CR 352 (illegally 
seized evidence suppressed in unrelated matter is admissible). 
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• Arrests not resulting in convictions. Records of arrests and police 
contacts that did not result in conviction should not be included in 
the probation report or considered by the sentencing judge unless 
supporting factual information is included and the information is not 
presented in a misleading manner. People v Ratcliffe (1981) 124 
CA3d 808, 823, 177 CR 627; People v Calloway (1974) 37 CA3d 
905, 909, 112 CR 745. 

• Arrests for charges that were successfully diverted. On successful 
completion of diversion or a deferred entry of judgment program, 
the arrest on which the diversion was based is deemed never to have 
occurred. Pen C §§1000.4(a) (drug deferred entry of judgment), 
1000.12(b) (child abuse and neglect counseling), 1001.9(a) (mis-
demeanor diversion), 1001.33(a) (cognitive developmental dis-
ability diversion), 1001.55(a) (misdemeanor diversion), 1001.75(a) 
(parental diversion). 

• Arrests or convictions for marijuana offenses specified in Health & 
S C §11361.5 that are subject to destruction 2 years from the date 
of conviction or from the date of arrest if the defendant was not 
convicted. Health & S C §11361.7; People v Boyd (1979) 24 C3d 
285, 292, 155 CR 367; People v Fick (1980) 107 CA3d 892, 897, 
166 CR 106. 

• Juvenile records sealed under Welf & I C §389. 
If the case is not referred to a probation officer, the court may consider 

any information concerning the defendant that could have been included in 
a probation report. Pen C §1203(d). When the case is not referred to a 
probation officer, the court must advise the defendant of the information to 
be considered, and on the defendant’s request the court must grant a 
continuance before judgment to allow the defendant to answer or controvert 
this information. Pen C §1203(d). 

b. [§75.14] Pre-Plea Probation Report 
The court, with the defendant’s consent, may use a pre-plea probation 

report instead of a Pen C §1203 presentence report in determining sentence. 
Pen C §1203.7. The information contained in a pre-plea probation report is 
similar to that included in a Pen C §1203 presentence report, including the 
probation officer’s recommendation for or against the defendant’s release 
on probation. Pen C §1203.7. 

c. [§75.15] Defendant’s Alternative Sentencing Report 
The defendant or defense counsel may file a report providing a study 

of the defendant’s background and personality and suggesting a rehabilita-
tion program. Pen C §1204. When such a report is filed, the district attorney 
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or probation officer must be allowed to reply to the report or evaluate the 
suggested program. Pen C §1204. 

d. [§75.16] Psychological Evaluation of Defendant 
As part of the probation investigation, the court may require a 

defendant who is convicted of a misdemeanor offense in which a minor was 
a victim of abuse or neglect (Pen C §§270–273) to undergo a psychological 
evaluation to determine the extent of counseling necessary for successful 
rehabilitation. Pen C §1203h. The results of the examination must be 
included in the probation report, and the court may require counseling as a 
condition of probation. Pen C §1203h. 

e. [§75.17] Testimony of Defense Witnesses 
The defendant may call witnesses, including himself or herself, to 

contradict, explain, or otherwise rebut information contained in the 
probation report. Pen C §§1203(d), 1204; People v Gelfuso (1971) 16 CA3d 
966, 972, 94 CR 535; People v Valdivia (1960) 182 CA2d 145, 148, 5 CR 
832. However, the defendant has no right to court-appointed experts. People 
v Stuckey (2009) 175 CA4th 898, 96 CR3d 477 (request for appointment of 
a psychotherapist and a drug treatment counselor denied). And the 
defendant does not have the right to cross-examine the probation officer 
who prepared the report. People v Arbuckle (1978) 22 C3d 749, 754, 150 
CR 778 (Sixth Amendment right of confrontation inapplicable at sentencing 
stage of criminal proceedings). 

f. [§75.18] Victim’s Statements 
The victim of the crime, the parent(s) or guardian(s) of a minor victim, 

or the next of kin of a deceased victim has the right to appear, in person or 
by counsel, at the sentencing proceeding. Pen C §1191.1. The victim, or up 
to two of the parents or guardians of a minor victim, or the next of kin of a 
deceased victim may reasonably express his, her, or their views concerning 
the crime, the person responsible, and the need for restitution. Pen C 
§1191.1. The court must consider these statements in imposing sentence and 
state on the record its conclusion of whether the defendant poses a threat to 
public safety if granted probation. Pen C §1191.1.  

Article I, §28(e), of the California Constitution provides a broad 
definition of “victim” to include the victim’s spouse, parents, children, 
siblings, or guardian and, if the victim is deceased, a minor, or physically 
or psychologically incapacitated,  a lawful representative of the victim. 
Article I, §28(d), also provides that a court in its discretion may extend the 
right to be heard at sentencing to any person “harmed” by the defendant. No 
definition of “harmed” is provided, but is likely broader than “victim.” 
These constitutional provisions appear to allow the trial court to depart from 
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Pen C §1191.1, which restricts comments to victims or immediate family 
members. 

In lieu of or in addition to a personal appearance, the victim, the 
parent(s) or guardian(s) of a minor victim, or the next of kin of a deceased 
victim may file with the court a written, audiotaped, or videotaped statement 
or a statement stored on a CD-ROM, DVD, or any other recording medium 
acceptable to the court. Pen C §1191.15(a). The court may hear and consider 
other out-of-court or unsworn statements about the circumstances of the 
crime and the characteristics of the defendant relevant to sentencing as long 
as the defendant has notice that the statements will be accepted and has an 
opportunity to respond. People v Mockel (1990) 226 CA3d 581, 586, 276 
CR 559 (consideration of letters from friends and family of the victim did 
not violate defendant’s due process right to fair hearing). However, the 
defendant does not have the right to cross-examine the victim or other 
source of these statements. People v Huber (1986) 181 CA3d 601, 635, 227 
CR 113; People v Zikorus (1983) 150 CA3d 324, 333, 197 CR 509. 

3. [§75.19] Rendition and Entry of Judgment 
At the time fixed for pronouncing judgment, if no sufficient cause is 

alleged or appears to the court why judgment should not be pronounced, the 
court must render judgment of a fine or imprisonment or both. Pen C 
§§1202, 1445. The rendition of judgment is the oral pronouncement of 
sentence in open court. People v Moran (1973) 33 CA3d 724, 728, 109 CR 
287; People v Blackman (1963) 223 CA2d 303, 307, 35 CR 761. The 
defendant does not waive the court’s duty to pronounce judgment orally by 
waiving formal arraignment for judgment. People v Prater (1977) 71 CA3d 
695, 702, 139 CR 566. When judgment is rendered, the clerk must enter it 
in the minutes, stating the offense for which the defendant was convicted 
and any prior convictions. Pen C §1207. 

4. [§75.20] Punishment for Misdemeanors 
Except when a different punishment is prescribed by statute, every 

misdemeanor is punishable by imprisonment in county jail not exceeding 6 
months and/or a fine not exceeding $1000. Pen C §19. If the misdemeanor 
is punishable by imprisonment in county jail but no fine is prescribed, the 
court may impose a fine not exceeding $1000 in addition to the prescribed 
imprisonment. Pen C §672. For a list of sentencing terms for common 
misdemeanors, see California Judges Benchguide 74: Sentencing 
Guidelines for Common Misdemeanors and Infractions (Cal CJER). 

a. [§75.21] Imprisonment 
Many misdemeanor offenses are punishable by county jail terms of up 

to 1 year. A sentence may not exceed 1 year except on conviction of more 
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than one offense when consecutive sentences have been imposed. Pen C 
§19.2. In California, a jail term punishable up to 1 year is limited by statute 
to a period not to exceed 364 days. Pen C § 18.5(a).  

 JUDICIAL TIP:  Depending on the court’s practice, when the court 
imposes a sentence to county jail, it should: 

• Order immediate remand; 
• State the date on which the defendant must surrender to the 

custody of the county sheriff to serve his or her term; or 
• Order the defendant to report back to court for later surrender 

and remand to the custody of the sheriff’s department. 
  

b. [§75.22] Fine; Penalty Assessments 
 

FINES, FEES, & PENALTY ASSESSMENTS 

MAX. FINE $1000, unless statute provides otherwise 

CUSTODY CREDITS TOWARD BASE FINE  
credit min. $125 toward base find for each day of custody 
credit (Pen C §2900.5(a), Carranza 6 CA5th Supp 17) 

BASE FINES & FEES 

Restitution fine Pen C §1202.4 $150 – $1000 
Probation revocation 
restitution fine 

Pen C §1202.44 $150 – $1000 (stayed; same 
as restitution fine) 

Court operations 
assessment 

Pen C §1465.8 $40 (per count) 

Criminal conviction 
fee 

Govt C § 70373 $30 (per count) 

Citation processing 
fee 

Pen C §1463.07/ 
Govt C § 29550(f) 

$10 (defendant cited & 
released in field or at jail) 

Administrative 
screening fee 

Pen C §1463.07 $25 (defendant booked & 
released on OR by court) 

Installment & 
accounts receivable 
fee 

Pen C §1205(e) $30 

Warrant assessment 
for failure to appear 

Pen C §853.7/Veh C 
§40508.5 

$15 (per warrant) 

Probation costs Pen C §1203.1b Set by probation 
(see §75.56) 
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ADDITIONAL MISDEMEANOR FINES & FEES 

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE OFFENSES 

DV fund payment PC 1203.097(a)(5) $500 
DUI OFFENSES 

DUI base fine Veh C §23536(a) $390 – $1000 
Alcohol abuse 
education & 
prevention 

Veh C §23645 $50 max. 

Alcohol & drug 
program 

Veh C §23649 $100 max 

THEFT & VANDALISM OFFENSES 

Crime prevention 
fund 

Pen C §1202.5 $10 

SEX OFFENSES 
Sexual habitual 
offender 

Pen C §290.3 $300 (1st offense) 
$500 (2nd or more) 

DRUG CONVICTIONS 

Crime lab analysis 
fee 

Health & S C § 
11372.5 

$50 (per count) 

Drug program fee Health & S C § 
11372.7 

$150 (per count) 

PENALTY ASSESSMENTS 

State surcharge  Pen C §1465.7 20% of fine  
State penalty assessment Pen C §1464(a)(1) $10 (per $10 or part of $10) 
County penalty  Govt C §76000 $7 (per $10 or part of $10) 
Court construction  Govt C §70372(a) $5 (per $10 or part of $10) 
Emergency medical  Govt C §76000.5 $2 (per $10 or part of $10) 
DNA Govt C §76104.6 $1 (per $10 or part of $10) 
DNA Govt C §76104.7 $4 (per $10 or part of $10) 

 
Unless provided otherwise by statute, the maximum fine for a 

conviction of a misdemeanor is $1000. Pen C §§19, 672. A judgment that 
the defendant must pay a fine, with or without other punishment, may also 
direct that payment be made within a limited time or in installments on 
specified dates. Unless the defendant is so directed, the fine is payable 
immediately. Pen C §1205(a). 

 JUDICIAL TIP: When the court imposes a fine, it should state the 
due date(s) for payment of the fine. 
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A judgment may also direct that the defendant be imprisoned until the 
fine is satisfied. Pen C §1205(a). But see  discussion of imprisonment in 
satisfaction of a fine (including In re Humphrey (review granted May 23, 
2018, S247278; opinion at 19 CA5th 1006, 228 CR3d 513, to remain 
published and citable until further order)) at §75.23. 

Fees added to total fine. The criminal laboratory analysis fee of $50 
(Health & S C §11372.5) and drug program fee of $150 (Health & S C 
§11372.7) for specified controlled substance offenses are defined as 
increases to the total fine and are subject to all the required penalty 
assessments. People v Sierra (1995) 37 CA4th 1690, 1694–1696, 44 CR2d 
575; People v Martinez (1998) 65 CA4th 1511, 1520–1522, 77 CR2d 492. 
This was affirmed in People v Ruiz (2018) 4 C5th 1100, 232 CR3d 714 
(overruling cases finding the fees were not fines subject to penalty 
assessments, including People v Martinez (2017) 15 CA5th 659, 223 CR3d 
417; People v Watts (2016) 2 CA5th 223, 206 CR3d 202; and People v 
Webb (2017) 13 CA5th 486, 220 CR3d 679). 

State penalty assessment. A $10 state penalty must be levied for every 
$10, or part of $10, of the fine imposed. Pen C §1464(a)(1). When the 
defendant has committed multiple offenses, the state penalty assessment 
must be based on the total fine for all the offenses. Pen C §1464(b). If a fine 
is suspended in whole or in part, the penalty must be reduced in proportion 
to the suspension. Pen C §1464(b). When a defendant is imprisoned to 
satisfy the fine, the court may waive all or any part of the state penalty if 
payment would work a hardship on the defendant or his or her immediate 
family. Pen C §1464(d).  

State surcharge. A state surcharge of 20 percent must be levied on the 
base fine. Pen C §1465.7. 

Additional penalty assessments. In addition to the state penalty 
assessment imposed under Pen C §1464, the following penalty assessments 
must be imposed: 

• County penalty of $7 for every $10, or part of $10, of the fine 
imposed. Govt C §76000 (this fee varies per county.) 

• State court construction penalty of $5 for every $10, or part of $10, 
of the fine imposed. Govt C §70372. 

• Penalty for support of emergency medical services of $2 for every 
$10, or part of $10, of the fine imposed. Govt C §76000.5. 

• DNA Identification Fund penalties of $1 (Govt C §76104.6) and $4 
(Govt C §76104.7) for every $10, or part of $10, of the fine imposed. 

Additional assessments. The following assessments must be imposed 
on conviction for each misdemeanor violation even if a fine is not imposed 
or stayed: 

• Court operations assessment of $40. Pen C §1465.8. 
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• Court facilities assessment of $30. Govt C §70373. 
Note: In People v Robinson (2012) 209 CA4th 401, 406, 146 CR3d 
837, the court held that these $30 and $40 fees are not fines and must 
be imposed as mandatory fees.  In People v Pacheco (2010) 187 
CA4th 1392, 1402, 115 CR3d 220, disapproved on other grounds by 
60 C4th at 858 n5, the court held that, because these fees are not 
punitive fines, the requirement that they be paid may not be imposed 
as a condition of probation. 
 

Additional fine for commission of designated sex offense. A defendant 
convicted of any sex offense specified in Pen C §290(c) is subject to a 
mandatory $300 fine for a first conviction and a mandatory $500 fine for a 
second or subsequent conviction. This fine is in addition to any 
imprisonment or fine, or both, imposed for the commission of the 
underlying offense. Pen C §290.3(a). 

  JUDICIAL TIP: The court should recite a full breakdown of the 
fines, fees, and assessments, and must include the breakdown in 
the abstract of judgment. People v Hartley (2016) 248 CA4th 620, 
636–637, 203 CR3d 770; People v High (2004) 119 CA4th 1192, 
1200, 15 CR3d 148. Many courts get waivers of this requirement. 
It is helpful to have the full breakdown with common fines and fees 
in written form that is provided to the defendant either at the time 
of the plea or prior to sentencing.  

For example, in Los Angeles County, it is fairly standard practice 
for the misdemeanor courts to impose fines and fees when 
pronouncing judgment with a reference merely to the base fine, 
plus associated penalties and assessments, then leaving it to the 
clerk to specify amounts in the minutes and judgment. That has 
been held an “acceptable practice” by the court of appeal.  People 
v Sharret (2011) 191 CA4th 859, 864, 120 CR3d 195; People v Voit 
(2011) 200 CA4th 1353, 1373, 133 CR3d 431 (“We conclude that 
the trial court adequately pronounced judgment by imposing a 
specific fine and generally referring to the applicable penalty 
assessments”); cf. People v High, supra, 119 CA4th at 1200 (noting 
that “[a]ll fines and fees must be set forth in the abstract of 
judgment”). 

  

c. [§75.23] Imprisonment to Satisfy Fine 
A judgment requiring the defendant to pay a fine immediately or within 

a limited time or in installments on specified dates may also direct that, if 
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the defendant fails to pay as required, the defendant may be imprisoned until 
the defaulted installment is satisfied or until the fine is satisfied in full. Pen 
C §1205(a). The judgment may further direct that imprisonment for failure 
to pay a fine will begin at, or continue after, the expiration of any 
imprisonment imposed as a part of the punishment or of any other 
imprisonment to which the defendant may previously have been sentenced. 
Pen C §1205(a). 

The judgment must specify the extent of imprisonment for 
nonpayment, which cannot exceed the maximum term for which the defen-
dant could be sentenced to jail for the offense. Pen C §1205(a); People v 
Lein (1928) 204 C 84, 87, 266 P 536. See Pen C §19.2 (1-year limit on 
imprisonment in county jail applicable to commitment for default in 
payment of fine). A defendant must receive credit on the fine for each day 
he or she is held in custody for nonpayment at the rate specified in the 
judgment. Pen C §1205(a). The minimum conversion rate is $125 per day. 
Pen C §§1205(a), 2900.5(a).  

Restitution fines (see §75.31) and restitution orders (see §§75.24–
75.30) may not be converted to jail time under the provisions of Pen C 
§1205. Pen C §1205(f). 

When the court sentences a person who was under 21 years of age at 
the time of the arrest to the payment of a fine and the fine is not paid, the 
court may remit the fine, in whole or in part, or commit the defendant to a 
place of confinement approved by the California Department of Corrections 
and Rehabilitation Division of Juvenile Facilities to serve a term until the 
fine is satisfied. Welf & I C §1735. 

The court may not imprison a defendant for nonpayment when the 
failure results from the defendant’s indigency rather than a refusal to pay. 
In re Antazo (1970) 3 C3d 100, 115, 89 CR 255. An indigent defendant must 
be provided alternatives to imprisonment similar to those available to a 
nonindigent offender. 3 C3d at 116. The court may direct the indigent 
defendant to pay the fine in installments under Pen C §1205(a) or perform 
specified work to satisfy the fine. See Williams v Illinois (1970) 399 US 
235, 244 n21, 90 S Ct 2018, 26 L Ed 2d 586. If the defendant refuses to 
utilize these alternatives or fails to meet the conditions of the offered alter-
native, the defendant’s indigency ceases to be dispositive, and the defendant 
may be imprisoned. In re Antazo, supra, 3 C3d at 116. 

In determining whether a defendant is financially unable to pay a fine, 
the court may consider such factors as the defendant’s income, bank 
accounts, and ownership of a home, car, or other tangible or intangible prop-
erty; the number of dependents; the cost of sustenance for the defendant and 
his or her dependents; and the amount of the fine. People v Lewis (1971) 19 
CA3d 1019, 1023, 97 CR 419. The court is not required to allow the 
defendant to prefer his or her creditors to the obligation to the state for 
payment of the fine, nor is it required to allow the defendant to maintain the 
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standard of living to which the defendant has become accustomed. 19 CA3d 
at 1025. 
  JUDICIAL TIP: Given the holding in In re Humphrey (review 

granted May 23, 2018, S247278; opinion at 19 CA5th 1006, 228 
CR3d 513, to remain published and citable until further order), 
there should be caution in this area. The Humphrey opinion found 
persuasive the federal cases of Williams v Illinois, supra, 399 US 
235 and Tate v Short (1971) 401 US 395, 91 S Ct 668, 28 L Ed 2d 
130, which state that an indigent defendant cannot be made to serve 
added custody time when that person cannot afford to pay the fine. 
California cases, such as In re Antazo, supra, 3 C3d 100, follow the 
same principle. Imprisoning a defendant without ability to pay a 
fine is questionable. However, the California Supreme Court 
granted review of In re Humphrey, and although it remains good 
law at this time it should be watched. 

d. [§75.24] Victim Restitution 
The court must order payment of restitution to any victim who has 

suffered economic loss as a result of the defendant’s criminal conduct. Pen 
C §1202.4(a)(3)(B), (f); see Cal Const art I, §28(b)(13)(A).  

A sentence without a restitution award to the victim is invalid; 
however, the court may properly add a restitution order later. The court 
should also announce at the sentencing that the court is reserving the ability 
to order victim restitution during the probationary term and reserve the 
defendant’s right to a hearing on any amount imposed. See Pen C §1202.46; 
People v Rowland (1997) 51 CA4th 1745, 1750–1752, 60 CR2d 351. 

(1) [§75.25] Losses Subject to Restitution 
The restitution ordered must sufficiently reimburse the victim for all 

economic losses incurred, including the following: 
• The replacement or repair costs of any stolen or damaged property. 

Pen C §1202.4(f)(3)(A). 
• Medical expenses, including expenses for mental health counseling. 

Pen C §1202.4(f)(3)(B)–(C). 
• Future medical expenses. People v Phelps (1996) 41 CA4th 946, 

950, 48 CR2d 855 (restitution order for future medical expenses in 
amount stipulated by defendant). 

• Wages or profits lost because of injury suffered by the victim and, 
if the victim is a minor, the wages or profits lost by the minor’s 
parents or guardians while caring for the victim. Pen C 
§1202.4(f)(3)(D). 
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• Lost wages or profits of the victim or the victim’s guardians or 
parents because of time spent as a witness or in assisting the police 
or prosecution. Pen C §1202.4(f)(3)(E). 

• Future lost wages. People v Fulton (2003) 109 CA4th 876, 880 n2, 
887, 135 CR2d 466 (lost wages associated with future postsurgery 
recovery). 

• Sick leave if the victim is unable to go to work because of injuries 
inflicted by the defendant. In re K.F. (2009) 173 CA4th 655, 665–
666, 92 CR3d 784. 

• Interest, at the rate of 10 percent per year, that accrues from the date 
of sentencing or loss, as determined by the court. Pen C 
§1202.4(f)(3)(G). 

• Actual and reasonable attorneys’ fees and other costs of collection 
accrued by a private entity on behalf of the victim. Pen C 
§1202.4(f)(3)(H). 

• Expenses incurred by an adult victim when relocating away from 
the defendant if relocation is necessary for the victim’s personal 
safety or emotional well-being. Pen C §1202.4(f)(3)(I). 

• Expenses to retrofit a residence or vehicle if the victim is per-
manently disabled as a direct result of the crime. Pen C 
§1202.4(f)(3)(K). 

• Expenses to monitor an identity theft victim’s credit report and to 
repair the victim’s credit for a period of time reasonably necessary 
to make the victim whole. Pen C §1202.4(f)(3)(L). 
• For a more detailed discussion of restitution, see California 
Judges Benchguide 83: Restitution (Cal CJER). 

(2) [§75.26] Persons Entitled to Restitution 
The California Constitution defines a victim, for purposes of 

restitution, as (Cal Const art I, §28(e)): 
 
• A person who suffers direct or threatened physical, psychological, 

or financial harm as a result of the commission or attempted com-
mission of a crime or delinquent act. 

• The person’s spouse, parents, children, siblings, or guardian, and a 
lawful representative of a crime victim if the victim is deceased, a 
minor, or physically or psychologically incapacitated. 

The term “victim” does not include a person in custody for an offense, 
the accused, or a person whom the court finds would not act in the best 
interests of a minor victim. Cal Const art I, §28(e). 
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Restitution under Pen C §1202.4 is generally limited to direct victims, 
i.e., to persons and to public or private entities against whom the crime was 
committed. People v Torres (1997) 59 CA4th 1, 25, 68 CR2d 644; Pen C 
§1202.4(k)(2) (“victim” may be corporation, business trust, estate, 
partnership, association, joint venture, or governmental agency). Other 
persons entitled to restitution include the immediate surviving family of the 
victim (Pen C §1202.4(k)(1)), parents and guardians of a minor victim (see 
§75.25), and other individuals who have sustained economic loss as 
described in Pen C §1202.4(k)(3). 

For a more detailed discussion, see California Judges Benchguide 83: 
Restitution (Cal CJER). 

(3) [§75.27] Right to Hearing 
The defendant has the right to a court hearing to dispute the amount of 

restitution or the manner in which it is to be made. Pen C §§1202.4(f)(1), 
1203(d), 1203.1k; People v Carbajal (1995) 10 C4th 1114, 1125, 43 CR2d 
681. Advisement of this right is a precondition to enforcement of the 
restitution order by a victim. Pen C §1214(b). 

A victim has a right to appear at sentencing personally or by private 
counsel to express his or her views regarding restitution. Cal Const art I, 
§28(b)(8), (c)(1); Pen C §1191.1. This right also extends to: 

• The victim’s spouse, parents, children, or guardian (Cal Const art I, 
§28(e); Pen C §1191.1); 

• The lawful representative of the victim who is deceased, a minor, or 
physically or psychologically incapacitated (Cal Const art I, §28(e)); 
and 

• The next of kin of a deceased victim (Pen C §1191.1). 
The hearing does not require the formalities of a trial. People v Foster 

(1993) 14 CA4th 939, 946–947, 18 CR2d 1. The defendant’s due process 
rights are satisfied when the probation report gives notice of the restitution 
claimed, and the defendant has an opportunity to contest the figures in the 
report. People v Foster, supra. The defendant has no right to a jury trial on 
the restitution issues. People v Chappelone (2010) 183 CA4th 1159, 1183–
1184, 107 CR3d 895. The defendant does not have a right to confront and 
cross-examine witnesses, including the probation officer who prepared the 
report. People v Cain (2000) 82 CA4th 81, 86–88, 97 CR2d 836. The court 
may consider the recommendations in the report despite their hearsay 
character (82 CA4th at 87), as long as the court independently determines 
the amount of restitution (People v Hartley (1984) 163 CA3d 126, 130, 209 
CR 131).  
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(4) [§75.28] Order 
The court’s restitution order must be specific and detailed, identifying 

each victim and each loss to the extent possible. Pen C §1202.4(f)(3). The 
court must clearly state the method used to calculate the restitution 
obligation and how that method justifies the amount of restitution ordered. 
While a trial court has broad discretion to choose a method for calculating 
the amount of restitution, it must employ a method that is rationally 
designed to determine the victim’s economic loss. People v Giordano 
(2007) 42 C4th 644, 664, 68 CR3d 51; People v Jones (2010) 187 CA4th 
418, 423–424, 114 CR3d 8 (trial court did not specify which losses were 
included in the restitution amount when ordering restitution for less than all 
losses claimed by victim). The court’s order may be based on the amount of 
loss claimed by the victim or on any other showing to the court. Pen C 
§1202.4(f). 

If the court cannot ascertain the amount of restitution at the time of 
sentencing, the court may order that it will determine the amount later. Pen 
C §1202.4(f). The court retains jurisdiction over the defendant for purposes 
of imposing or modifying restitution until the losses are determined. Pen C 
§1202.46. 

If the victim has received compensation from the state Restitution 
Fund for losses, the court must order the defendant to make payment to the 
fund for the amount paid to the victim. Pen C §1202.4(f)(2). 

(5) [§75.29] No Waiver of Full Restitution 
The court must order full restitution to a victim. Cal Const art I, 

§28(b)(13); Pen C §1202.4(f). Under no circumstances may the court waive 
a portion or all of victim restitution. 

 

(6) [§75.30] Order for Income Deduction 
If restitution is ordered, the court must enter a separate order for 

income deduction on determination of the defendant’s ability to pay. Pen C 
§1202.42(a). The court must stay this order until the county agency 
responsible for collection determines that the defendant has failed to pay 
without good cause. Pen C §1202.42(b)(1). 

For a more detailed discussion of victim restitution, see California 
Judges Benchguide 83: Restitution (Cal CJER). 

e. [§75.31] Restitution Fine 
In addition to paying restitution to any crime victim(s), a defendant 

must pay a restitution fine of not less than $150 and not more than $1000. 
Pen C §1202.4(a)(3), (b). The court must consider the following factors in 
setting the amount of the fine in excess of $150 (Pen C §1202.4(d)): 
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• The defendant’s inability to pay, including future earning capacity; 
• The seriousness and gravity of the offense and the circumstances of 

its commission; 
• Any economic gain derived by the defendant as a result of the crime; 
• The extent to which any other person suffered losses as a result of 

the crime, including pecuniary losses to the victim or his or her 
dependents, and intangible losses, such as psychological harm; 

• The number of victims involved in the crime; and 
• Any other relevant factors. 
Ability to pay the restitution fine is presumed, and the defendant bears 

the burden to prove lack of ability. Pen C §1202.4(d); People v Romero 
(1996) 43 CA4th 440, 448–449, 51 CR2d 26. The court is not required to 
make express findings about the factors bearing on the amount imposed. 
Pen C §1202.4(d). In addition, the defendant is not entitled to a separate 
hearing to contest the fine. Pen C §1202.4(d). 

The court may waive imposition of a restitution fine if there are 
compelling and extraordinary reasons for doing so, and the court states 
those reasons on the record. Pen C §1202.4(b)–(c); People v Tillman (2000) 
22 C4th 300, 302, 92 CR2d 741. A defendant’s inability to pay may not be 
considered a compelling and extraordinary reason to waive the fine. Pen C 
§1202.4(c). The court may consider the defendant’s inability to pay only 
when increasing the amount of the restitution fine beyond the statutory 
minimum. Pen C §1202.4(c). When imposition of the fine is waived, the 
court must order community service as a condition of probation absent 
compelling and extraordinary reasons not to require the service. Pen C 
§1202.4(n). The court must impose restitution when probation is revoked. 
Pen C §1202.4(n). 

Restitution fines are exempt from the penalty assessments of Pen C 
§1464 and Govt C §§76000, 76000.5, 76104.6, and 76104.7, and from the 
state surcharge of Pen C §1465.7. Pen C §1202.4(e). Counties may impose 
a fee to cover the administrative costs of collecting the restitution fine in an 
amount not exceeding 10 percent of the fine imposed, to be added to the 
fine and included in the court order. Pen C §1202.4(l). 

For a more detailed discussion of restitution fines, see California 
Judges Benchguide 83: Restitution (Cal CJER). 

f. [§75.32] Probation Revocation Restitution Fine 
When a defendant receives a conditional sentence or a sentence that 

includes a period of probation, the court must impose an additional 
probation revocation restitution fine in the same amount as that imposed 
under Pen C §1202.4(b) (see §75.31). Pen C §1202.44. This additional fine 
is stayed pending successful completion of probation and does not become 
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effective unless and until the defendant’s conditional sentence or probation 
is revoked. Pen C §1202.44. The court must order the probation revocation 
restitution fine unless there are compelling and extraordinary reasons for 
not doing so. Pen C §1202.44. 

g. [§75.33] Mandatory AIDS Testing 
The court must order any person convicted of a misdemeanor violation 

of Pen C §261.5 (unlawful sexual intercourse), §266c (inducing sexual act 
through false representation creating fear), §286(b)(1) (sodomy with person 
under age 18), §286(e) (sodomy while incarcerated), §286(h) (sodomy with 
mentally disordered person while confined in state hospital), §288a(b)(1) 
(oral copulation with person under age 18), §288a(e) (oral copulation while 
incarcerated), or §288a(h) (oral copulation with mentally disordered person 
while confined in state hospital)—whether or not a fine or sentence is 
imposed—to submit to a blood or saliva test for evidence of antibodies to 
the probable causative agent of acquired immunodeficiency syndrome 
(AIDS). Pen C §1202.1. In addition, a defendant convicted of a mis-
demeanor violation of Pen C §288(c)(1) (lewd and lascivious act on a child 
aged 14 or 15 by person at least 10 years older) must submit to a blood test 
if the court finds probable cause to believe that bodily fluids capable of 
transmitting HIV have been transferred from the defendant to the victim. 
Pen C §1202.1. A defendant tested under Pen C §1202.1 must be notified 
of the results of the blood test. Pen C §1202.1(a). 

Results of the test may later be used to enhance a sentence under Pen 
C §12022.85 (commission of sexual offense with knowledge that defendant 
carries AIDS virus). Pen C §1202.1(c). 

h. [§75.34] Criminal Registration 
A defendant convicted of any of the gang-related offenses enumerated 

in Pen C §186.30, sex offenses enumerated in Pen C §290, narcotics 
offenses enumerated in Health & S C §11590, or possession or manufacture 
of combustible material or incendiary device with arson intent (Pen C § 453) 
must register with the chief of police or sheriff in the city or county in which 
he or she resides. Pen C §§186.30, 290(b), 457.1(b); Health & S C 
§11590(a). 

i. [§75.35] Commitment to Division of Juvenile Facilities 
The court may commit a defendant who was under 21 years of age at 

the time of arrest to the California Department of Corrections and 
Rehabilitation Division of Juvenile Facilities if the defendant meets the 
eligibility requirements outlined in Welf & I C §§1731.5 and 1732.7. 
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For a comprehensive discussion of commitment to the Division of 
Juvenile Facilities, see 3 Witkin & Epstein, California Criminal Law, 
Punishment §§86–101 (4th ed 2012). 

5. [§75.36] Multiple Punishment (Pen C §654) 
When the defendant is convicted of two or more offenses, the court 

must determine whether Pen C §654 precludes punishment for one or more 
of the counts. Under Pen C §654(a), an act or omission that is punishable in 
different ways by different provisions of the Penal Code must be punished 
under the provision that provides for the longest potential term of 
imprisonment, but in no event can it be punished under more than one. 
Although Pen C §654 is self-limiting as to violations of the Penal Code, it 
has been interpreted to apply to any criminal statute. In re Hayes (1969) 70 
C2d 604, 605, 75 CR 790. 

In determining whether Pen C §654 applies to a case involving 
multiple convictions, the court may conduct a postplea evidentiary hearing 
regarding factual issues concerning multiple punishment and proper 
sentencing. People v Ross (1988) 201 CA3d 1232, 1240, 247 CR 827 (court 
not limited to evidence presented to trier of fact before entry of verdict or 
guilty plea in resolving Pen C §654 issues). The court may also review the 
probation report in determining the applicability of Pen C §654. People v 
Rosenberg (1963) 212 CA2d 773, 776, 28 CR 214. 

If the court concludes that Pen C §654 prohibits sentencing on one or 
more of the offenses of which the defendant has been convicted, the proper 
procedure is to sentence the defendant on each count and stay execution of 
sentence of the lesser counts. The stay of execution becomes permanent on 
completion of the unstayed term. People v Miller (1977) 18 C3d 873, 886, 
135 CR 654. In addition, the court must stay the use of the stayed 
convictions for penal and administrative purposes. People v Conner (1986) 
176 CA3d 716, 719, 222 CR 311; People v Duarte (1984) 161 CA3d 438, 
448, 207 CR 615. But see People v Ward (1986) 188 CA3d 459, 474, 233 
CR 477 (Duarte order unnecessary absent potential administrative 
sanctions). The court may not impose concurrent sentences in an attempt to 
satisfy the double punishment prohibition. People v Miller, supra, 18 C3d 
at 887. 

For a comprehensive discussion of the double punishment prohibition 
of Pen C §654, see 3 Witkin & Epstein, California Criminal Law, Punish-
ment §§248–302 (4th ed 2012). 

6. [§75.37] Concurrent or Consecutive Sentences 
When the defendant is convicted of multiple offenses, whether in the 

same or different proceedings, the court, on sentencing the defendant to the 
second or subsequent judgment, must determine whether the terms of 
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imprisonment will run concurrently or consecutively. Pen C §669. Penal 
Code §669 is applicable only when judgment has been imposed and 
executed in both the prior and present proceedings. People v Gray (1986) 
176 CA3d 520, 523, 222 CR 29. If the court does not indicate whether the 
sentences on separate counts are to be served concurrently or consecutively, 
they are considered concurrent. People v Downey (2000) 82 CA4th 899, 
912–913, 98 CR2d 627. 

If the court fails to determine how successive judgments will run in 
relation to each other at the time of sentencing, through either inadvertence 
or lack of awareness of a previous judgment, it may determine that the 
sentences are to run consecutively if (a) the inadvertence or prior judgment 
is brought to the court’s attention within 60 days from the start of the 
defendant’s imprisonment on the second or subsequent judgment, and (b) 
the court makes its determination within 60 days of this notice. Pen C §669. 
When the court fails to make its determination within this 60-day period, 
the second or subsequent judgment will run concurrently with the previous 
judgment. Pen C §669. The court may make this deferred sentencing 
decision outside the defendant’s presence. Pen C §669. However, a court 
may not deliberately defer its determination of whether a defendant’s 
sentence will run concurrently or consecutively. In re Calhoun (1976) 17 
C3d 75, 82, 130 CR 139. 

In determining whether sentences are to run consecutively or concur-
rently, the court may consider the nature and circumstances of the offense, 
the defendant’s appreciation of and attitude toward the offense, the 
defendant’s character, and the defendant’s amenability to rehabilitation. 
People v Levingston (1982) 136 CA3d 724, 729, 186 CR 417; People v 
Morales (1967) 252 CA2d 537, 547, 60 CR 671. A court’s conclusion that 
a defendant committed perjury may be considered as it bears on the 
defendant’s character and prospects for rehabilitation. People v Redmond 
(1981) 29 C3d 904, 913, 176 CR 780, disapproved on other grounds in 63 
C4th at 118–119; In re Perez (1978) 84 CA3d 168, 171, 148 CR 302. The 
court may not consider the defendant’s refusal to accept a plea bargain or 
the defendant’s exercise of the right to a jury trial. In re Lewallen (1979) 23 
C3d 274, 278, 152 CR 528. A defendant must be afforded notice and an 
opportunity to respond to any evidence considered by the court in 
determining whether to impose a consecutive or concurrent sentence. In re 
Calhoun, supra, 17 C3d at 83. 

The court can impose consecutive sentences without limit. Pen C §19.2 
(jail term on imposition of consecutive sentences may exceed 1 year). When 
the defendant is convicted of multiple misdemeanor violations of “wobbler” 
offenses, the court can impose consecutive sentences even though the term 
of imprisonment exceeds the statutory maximum term that could have been 
imposed had the violations been charged as felonies. People v Hibbard 
(1991) 231 CA3d 145, 149, 282 CR 351 (imposition of 10-year term 
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composed of consecutive sentences for 12 alcohol- and drug-related traffic 
misdemeanors). But see People v Powell (1985) 166 CA3d Supp 12, 22, 
212 CR 454 (imposition of consecutive sentences for multiple “wobbler” 
offenses may not exceed maximum felony sentence permissible for these 
offenses). 

7. Credit for Time Served 
a. [§75.38] Credit for Presentence Custody 

A defendant must receive credit against his or her jail term or credit 
against any fine imposed—including, but not limited to base fines—on a 
proportional basis, at no less than $125 per day for actual time spent in 
presentence confinement. Pen C §2900.5(a). 

Credit is available for time spent in jail, camp, work furlough facility, 
halfway house, rehabilitation facility, hospital, prison, juvenile detention 
facility, or similar residential institution. The defendant may also receive 
credit for days served as a condition of probation under court order, days 
credited to the period of confinement under Pen C §4019 (see §75.41), and 
days served in home detention under Pen C §1203.018. Pen C §2900.5(a). 

If the court has imposed both a jail term and a fine, credit for days 
spent in presentence custody must first be applied to the jail term. Any 
remaining days must be applied to the base fine, and the penalties and 
assessments on that base fine will be reduced on a proportional basis. Pen 
C §2900.5(a). When the defendant is convicted of a crime that requires a 
mandatory minimum period of jail time, any time spent in presentence 
custody in facilities other than the county jail must be credited to the 
mandatory jail time. Pen C §2900.5(f). 

Custody credits may be given only when the custody to be credited is 
attributable to proceedings related to the same conduct for which the 
defendant has been convicted. Pen C §2900.5(b). The Supreme Court held 
in In re Joyner (1989) 48 C3d 487, 256 CR 785 that a period of time 
previously credited against a sentence for unrelated offenses cannot be 
deemed attributable to proceedings resulting in a later-imposed sentence 
unless the defendant demonstrates that he or she would have been at liberty 
during the period were it not for a restraint relating to the proceedings 
resulting in the later sentence. In other words, dual credits against separately 
imposed concurrent sentences for unrelated offenses are to be granted only 
on a showing of strict causation. 48 C3d at 489. 

A defendant is not entitled to credit for a period of presentence custody 
if, during that period, the defendant has already begun serving time for 
another offense, including time served as a condition of probation. In re 
Rojas (1979) 23 C3d 152, 156, 151 CR 649; People v Ayon (1987) 196 
CA3d 1114, 1117, 242 CR 300. See In re Nickles (1991) 231 CA3d 415, 
282 CR 411 and People v Odom (1989) 211 CA3d 907, 259 CR 827 for 
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application of the Joyner strict causation test when a defendant is subject to 
a parole or probation hold or revocation. 

If, after sentencing, the court is informed by the Department of 
Corrections and Rehabilitation that the defendant is not entitled to 
presentence credit because he or she was serving a prior prison sentence 
when sentenced by the court, the court may amend the sentence to strike the 
provision for presentence credit that was part of the defendant’s plea 
bargain. The court may make this amendment only after giving the 
defendant notice and an opportunity to be heard. In re Williams (2000) 83 
CA4th 936, 942, 100 CR2d 144. 

Credit must be given only once for a single period of custody 
attributable to multiple offenses for which a consecutive sentence is 
imposed. Pen C §2900.5(b). 

(1) [§75.39] Court Determination of Actual Presentence 
Credits 

It is the duty of the sentencing court to determine the dates of any 
admission to and release from custody before sentencing and the total 
number of days to be credited. Pen C §2900.5(d). The court must award 
credits against the sentence for each day in custody, up to and including the 
day of sentencing. People v Smith (1989) 211 CA3d 523, 527, 259 CR 515. 
Any partial day of custody must be treated as one full day for credit 
purposes. In re Jackson (1986) 182 CA3d 439, 442, 227 CR 303. When the 
probation report specifies all the relevant custody dates and the total credit 
calculation, and the parties do not dispute the dates and calculation, the 
court is not required to make express findings of the custody dates or make 
an independent calculation of the credits as long as the calculation is 
accurate. People v Blunt (1986) 186 CA3d 1594, 1601, 231 CR 588. The 
total number of days to be credited must be included in the abstract of 
judgment. Pen C §2900.5(d). 

(2) [§75.40] Waiver of Credits 
A defendant may knowingly and intelligently waive his or her Pen C 

§2900.5 presentence custody credits. People v Johnson (2002) 28 C4th 
1050, 1054–1055, 123 CR2d 700; People v Correll (1991) 229 CA3d 656, 
659, 280 CR 266. 

A defendant may waive custody credits as a condition of probation. 
People v Correll, supra. Correll held that the waiver of custody credits is 
reasonably related to the court’s ability to rehabilitate the defendant and to 
deter future criminality because it expands the trial court’s options for 
dealing with a future violation of probation. 229 CA3d at 660. 

Future custody credit for time to be spent in a residential drug 
treatment program may also be waived, even though the amount of credit is 
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not known at the time of the waiver. People v Ambrose (1992) 7 CA4th 
1917, 1920, 9 CR2d 812. The courts of appeal are split as to whether trial 
courts may require such waivers as a standard practice when imposing 
probation. See People v Torres (1997) 52 CA4th 771, 60 CR2d 803 (court 
can require waiver because it encourages defendant to complete treatment); 
People v Juarez (2004) 114 CA4th 1095, 1103–1106, 8 CR3d 238 (waiver 
cannot be required); People v Penoli (1996) 46 CA4th 298, 302, 53 CR2d 
825 (waiver cannot be required; court must exercise sentencing discretion 
in each case). 

b. Conduct Credits 
(1) [§75.41] Entitlement to Credits 

In addition to receiving credit for each day actually spent in 
presentence custody, the defendant may receive good conduct credits during 
presentence confinement. Pen C §4019. When a defendant receives a 
sentence of imprisonment and/or fine or a jail term as a condition of 
probation of 4 days or more, the court must deduct from the sentence the 
time spent in custody during which the defendant satisfactorily performed 
labor assigned to him or her and complied with the rules and regulations of 
the facility. Pen C §§2900.5(a), 4019. Conduct credits are awarded for time 
spent in a city or county jail, an industrial farm, or a road camp. Pen C 
§4019. Conduct credits are not awarded for time spent in nonpenal 
institutions. People v Waterman (1986) 42 C3d 565, 569, 229 CR 796 
(confinement in state hospital under Pen C §1370); People v Sage (1980) 
26 C3d 498, 502, 165 CR 280; People v Downey (2000) 82 CA4th 899, 920, 
98 CR2d 627 (defendant not entitled to conduct credits for time spent in 
residential drug rehabilitation program); People v Nubla (1999) 74 CA4th 
719, 731, 88 CR2d 265 (defendant not entitled to conduct credits for time 
served at California Rehabilitation Center, but is entitled to conduct credits 
for time spent at CRC or county jail after defendant is found unfit for 
continued CRC commitment and before execution of sentence); People v 
Moore (1991) 226 CA3d 783, 787, 277 CR 82 (alcohol recovery center). 
But see People v Mobley (1983) 139 CA3d 320, 323, 188 CR 583 (equal 
protection required award of conduct credit for time spent in “Discovery 
House” drug rehabilitation program as condition of own-recognizance 
release). A defendant who participates in a private or county-operated work 
furlough program is entitled to conduct credits. Pen C §1208(f); In re Starr 
(1986) 187 CA3d 1550, 1554, 232 CR 487. However, conduct credits are 
not available for time served in a Pen C §4024.2 work release program. 
People v Wills (1994) 22 CA4th 1810, 27 CR2d 925 (work project 
participant not in custody). 
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(2) [§75.42] Calculating Conduct Credits 
For each 4-day period during which a defendant is committed, the 

defendant earns 1 day of work-time credit if the defendant satisfactorily 
performs labor assigned and 1 day of good-time credit if the defendant 
satisfactorily complies with the rules and regulations of the facility. Pen C 
§4019(b)–(c). If all credit days are earned under Pen C §4019, a term of 4 
days is deemed to have been served for every 2 days spent in actual custody. 
Pen C §4019(f). 

There are two methods of calculating conduct credits. Under either 
method, conduct credits are always an even number: 

• “Statutory” formula: Divide the number of actual presentence 
custody days by 2 (discarding any remainder, or rounding down to 
a whole number) and then multiply this number by 2. In re Marquez 
(2003) 30 C4th 14, 25–26, 131 CR2d 911; People v Smith (1989) 
211 CA3d 523, 527, 259 CR 515. 

• “Shortcut” formula: If actual presentence custody days are an even 
number, then the conduct credits are the same. If actual presentence 
custody days are an odd number, subtract one day. 

To arrive at the total amount of credit to which a defendant is entitled, 
add the custody (actual time) credit to the conduct credits. For example, if 
a defendant is sentenced to 10 days in county jail, and has presentence actual 
time credit of 3 days, the defendant will receive an additional 2 days of 
conduct credit, for a total credit of 5 days against the 10-day sentence. 

 (3) [§75.43] Denying Conduct Credits 
The court may deprive a defendant of all or part of accumulated good-

time credits if the defendant misbehaves at any time during the confinement 
period. Pen C §4019(c); In re Walrath (1980) 106 CA3d 426, 431, 164 CR 
923. The court may deny a defendant work-time credits only when the 
opportunity to work has been properly withheld, e.g., because the defendant 
has refused to perform labor or violated the rules and regulations of the 
facility. Pen C §4019(b), (d); People v Johnson (1981) 120 CA3d 808, 815, 
175 CR 59. Before the court may withhold conduct credits, the defendant 
must be provided prior notice and an opportunity to rebut the findings of 
jail violations and present any mitigating factors. People v Duesler (1988) 
203 CA3d 273, 277, 249 CR 775. The prosecution has the burden to show 
that a defendant is not entitled to conduct credits. 203 CA3d at 276. 

For a comprehensive discussion of custody and conduct credits, see 3 
Witkin & Epstein, California Criminal Law, Punishment §§464–483 (4th 
ed 2012). 
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8. Advisements to Defendant 
a. [§75.44] Right to Appeal 

After imposing sentence or making an order deemed to be a final 
judgment on conviction after trial, including an order granting probation, 
the court must orally or in writing advise a defendant not represented by 
counsel of the right to appeal to the appellate division of the superior court, 
the time for filing a notice of appeal, and the right to appointed counsel on 
appeal. Cal Rules of Ct 4.306; Pen C §1466. This notice is not required 
following a guilty plea. People v Serrano (1973) 33 CA3d 331, 337, 109 
CR 30 (court interpreted similar rule requiring notice in superior court 
containing language identical to that found in Cal Rules of Ct 4.306). 

The defendant must file a written notice of appeal with the court clerk 
within 30 days after rendition of judgment or the making of the order. Cal 
Rules of Ct 8.853(a). The appellate division must appoint counsel for a 
defendant on request if the defendant is subject to incarceration or a fine of 
more than $500 or is likely to suffer significant adverse collateral 
consequences as a result of the conviction, and the defendant was 
represented by appointed counsel in the trial court or establishes his or her 
indigency. Cal Rules of Ct 8.851(a)(1). The appointment of counsel is 
discretionary for any other indigent defendants. Cal Rules of Ct 8.851(a)(2). 

The rules regulating appeals in misdemeanor cases are contained in 
Cal Rules of Ct 8.850–8.890 and Pen C §§1466–1469. 

b. [§75.45] Duty to Register 
Narcotics offenders. The court must advise a defendant of any 

registration requirements under Health & S C §11590 when the defendant 
is released on probation or discharged on payment of a fine. Health & S C 
§11593. Specifically, the court must tell the defendant to register with the 
chief of police or sheriff in the city or county in which he or she resides, and 
ask the defendant to read and sign any form that may be required by the 
Department of Justice stating that the duty to register has been explained. 
Health & S C §11593. The court or the probation officer must obtain the 
address at which the defendant expects to reside on release or discharge and 
report it within three days to the Department of Justice. Health & S C 
§11593. Defendants convicted of misdemeanor violations of Health & S C 
§11357, §11360, or §11377 are not subject to the registration requirements. 
Health & S C §11590(c). 

Sex offenders. The court must make the same advisements to a 
defendant subject to the registration requirements under Pen C §290 when 
the defendant is granted conditional release without supervised probation or 
discharged on payment of a fine. Pen C §290.017(d). If the defendant is 
released on probation, the probation department must inform the defendant 
of his or her duty to register. Pen C §290.017(c). 
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Gang-related crime offenders. The court must advise a defendant 
convicted of gang-related offenses of his or her duty to register with the 
local chief of police or sheriff under Pen C §186.30. Pen C §186.31. The 
specific registration requirements for gang-related crime offenders are 
outlined in Pen C §186.32. 

Arson offenders. The probation department, and not the court, must 
inform a defendant of any registration requirements under Pen C §457.1 
when the defendant is released on probation or discharged on payment of a 
fine. Pen C §457.1(b), (e).  

If the defendant is sentenced to a term in county jail, it is the 
responsibility of the jail authorities, before release or discharge from 
custody, to advise the defendant of his or her duty to register. Pen C 
§§290.017(a), 457.1(c); Health & S C §11592. 

c. [§75.46] Firearms Relinquishment 
Upon conviction, or at the time the plea is accepted to a qualifying 

offense, the court must determine if the defendant was convicted of certain 
misdemeanors that trigger the requirement to relinquish firearms. Pen C 
§29810(a)(1).  

Misdemeanor convictions that trigger Pen C §29810 include, but are 
not limited to, assault (Pen C §§240, 241), battery (Pen C §§242, 243), 
sexual battery (Pen C §243.4), violation of a restraining order (Pen C 
§273.5), petty theft while possessing a firearm (Pen C §490.2), and stalking 
(Pen C §9646.9). See Pen C §29805; Pen C §29810(a)(1).  

If the defendant was convicted of a qualifying offense, the court must 
first advise the defendant that he or she is prohibited from owning, 
purchasing, receiving, possessing, or having in his or her custody or under 
control, any firearms, ammunition, and ammunition feeding devices, 
including but not limited to magazines. Pen C §29810(a)(2). The court also 
must order the defendant to relinquish any such firearms and ammunition. 
Pen C §29810(a)(2). The consequences of the firearms prohibition and 
relinquishment also should be part of taking of a plea. 

The court will then provide the defendant with a Prohibited Persons 
Relinquishment Form to complete regarding disposal of any firearms and 
task the Probation Department to investigate the defendant’s compliance. 
Pen C §29810(a)(2), (a)(3), (c). 

Finally, the court must make findings in accordance with Pen C 
§29810(c)(3), including whether the probation officer’s report indicates that 
the defendant has relinquished all firearms as required, and whether the 
court has received a completed Prohibited Persons Relinquishment Form, 
along with any receipts for surrendered firearms. These findings must be 
included in the abstract of judgment. Pen C §29810(c)(3). The court’s 
findings must be made at or before the time of sentencing, but, if necessary 
to avoid delay in sentencing, the court may make such findings within 14 
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days after sentencing. Pen C § 29810(c)(3). For good cause, the court may 
also extend the period for making such findings beyond 14 days. Pen C 
§29810(f). 
 JUDICIAL TIPS: This requirement has been proving procedurally 

difficult because many counties don’t have probation supervision 
of misdemeanor offenders and have a practice of sentencing at the 
time of the plea. A followup court date will need to be set to include 
findings absent other protocols. 

In some high-volume courtrooms, the judges as a matter of course 
proceed to sentencing once the defendant has completed the 
Prohibited Persons Relinquishment Form, refer the matter to the 
Probation Department to verify defendant’s compliance, and 
schedule a Pen C §29810 hearing for 14 days thereafter, informing 
the defendant that counsel may appear on the defendant’s behalf 
for the hearing per Pen C §977(a). 

 
If the court finds probable cause that the defendant has failed to 

relinquish firearms as required, Pen C §29180(c)(4) provides that the court 
“shall order the search for and removal” of such firearms. How courts 
comply with this statutory requirement varies from county to county, and 
the judge should verify the practice in his or her particular jurisdiction. 

d. [§75.47] Right to Rehabilitation 
The court must inform the defendant, either orally or in writing, of his 

or her right to apply for relief from all penalties and disabilities resulting 
from a misdemeanor conviction after the passage of 1 year from the date of 
pronouncement of judgment. Pen C §1203.4a(a), (c)(1). This right to relief 
is available provided the defendant successfully performs his or her 
sentence and leads a law-abiding life during that period. Pen C §1203.4a(a). 
Relief is afforded by permitting the withdrawal of a plea of guilty or no 
contest or by setting aside a verdict of guilty and dismissing the accusatory 
pleading. Pen C §1203.4a(a). The court, in its discretion and in the interests 
of justice, may grant the relief available under Pen C §1203.4a(a) to a 
defendant who does not satisfy all the requirements of Pen C §1203.4a(a) 
if, after the passage of 1 year from the date of pronouncement from 
judgment, the defendant has fully complied with and performed his or her 
sentence and currently is not serving a sentence for another offense or 
charged with any crime. Pen C §1203.4a(b). 

A defendant who is granted probation may apply for relief from all 
penalties and disabilities resulting from the conviction on the successful 
completion of probation. Pen C §1203.4. Notice of this right to relief must 
be contained in the defendant’s probation papers. Pen C §1203.4(a)(1). 
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D. Alternatives to Jail 
1. [§75.48] Work Furlough; Weekend Sentence 
Work furlough may be available to defendants who are sentenced to 

county jail, imprisoned in jail for nonpayment of a fine, or ordered to serve 
time in jail as a condition of probation. Pen C §1208(b). Under this arrange-
ment, the defendant is allowed to continue his or her regular employment 
or participate in job training or educational programs. When the defendant 
is not working or participating in the training or educational programs, he 
or she is confined in a facility designated for work furlough confinement. 
Pen C §1208(d). Participation in a work furlough program is subject to the 
approval of the work furlough administrator. Pen C §1208(b); People v 
Superior Court (Peterson) (1992) 12 CA4th 16, 23, 14 CR2d 685 (court 
does not have jurisdiction to place defendant directly in work furlough). The 
court may preclude a defendant’s participation by ordering, at the time of 
sentencing, that the defendant not be granted work furlough. Pen C 
§1208(b). 

Under Pen C §1209, the court may allow the defendant to serve his or 
her jail time on weekends. If jail weekends are given, the court should 
indicate the day and hour that the defendant is to report to jail and the day 
and hour of release. 

2. [§75.49] Sheriff’s Work Alternative Program 
The defendant may be eligible for participation in the Sheriff’s Work 

Alternative Program (SWAP) in which the defendant performs manual 
labor instead of being confined in the county jail. Pen C §4024.2. The 
SWAP program allows the defendant to deduct one day from his or her jail 
term for each day of labor. Pen C §4024.2(a). In addition, the defendant may 
be allowed to receive work-release credit for participation in education pro-
grams, vocational training, or substance abuse programs, with 8 work-
related hours to equal 1 day of custody credit. Pen C §4024.2(b)(2). 

Mandatory work release programs may be authorized in counties in 
which the average daily inmate population is 90 percent or more of 
mandated capacity. Pen C §4024.3. The criteria and procedures of the 
mandatory programs are identical to those of the voluntary programs under 
Pen C §4024.2. 

3. [§75.50] Home Detention 
Defendants committed to jail or granted probation, or defendants 

participating in a work furlough program, may voluntarily participate or 
involuntarily be placed in a home detention program during their sentence 
instead of being confined in the  county jail. Pen C §1203.016. A defendant 
must be approved for the program by the correctional administrator in 
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charge of the program. Pen C §1203.016(d). The court may restrict or deny 
a defendant’s participation in the program. Pen C §1203.016(e). 

If the correctional administrator determines that conditions in the jail 
facility warrant early release of misdemeanor defendants due to the lack of 
jail space, the county board of supervisors may authorize the correctional 
administrator to require defendants to participate in an involuntary home 
detention program during their sentence. Pen C §1203.017. A defendant 
must be approved for the program by the correctional administrator in 
charge of the program. Pen C §1203.017(d). The court may restrict or deny 
a defendant’s participation in the program. Pen C §1203.017(e). 

E. [§75.51] Probation 
Probation is the suspension of the imposition or the execution of 

sentence and the order of conditional and revocable release into the 
community under the supervision of the court or a probation officer. Pen C 
§1203(a). Probation is not a right of the defendant but an act of clemency 
by the court, the granting or denial of which is within the court’s discretion. 
People v Axtell (1981) 118 CA3d 246, 256, 173 CR 360. 

The primary considerations in granting probation are the safety of the 
public; the nature of the offense; the loss to the victim; the needs of the 
defendant; and the interests of justice, including punishment, reintegration 
of the defendant into the community, and enforcement of conditions of 
probation. Pen C §1202.7; see 118 CA3d at 255 (decision to grant or deny 
probation must be based on whether confinement is necessary to protect 
public, whether defendant can best be rehabilitated through imprisonment 
or normal community conduct, and whether probation would unduly 
undermine seriousness of offense). 

Any probation report ordered by the court must be made available to 
the court, the district attorney, and defense counsel at least 2 days before the 
time fixed for consideration of the report and pronouncement of judgment. 
On the defendant’s request, the report must be provided 5 days beforehand. 
Pen C §1203d; see People v Bohannon (2000) 82 CA4th 798, 808–809, 98 
CR2d 488, disapproved on other grounds in 41 C4th at 1135 n13 (failure to 
provide report within this 5-day period denies defendant due process and 
requires remand for resentencing). The time within which the report must 
be made available may be waived by a written stipulation of the district 
attorney and defense counsel or by an oral stipulation in open court. Pen C 
§1203(b)(2)(E). If the defendant is not represented by counsel, the court 
must order the probation officer to discuss the contents of the report with 
the defendant. Pen C §1203d. At the sentencing hearing, the court must state 
for the record that it has read and considered the probation report. Pen C 
§1203(b)(3). Failure to make this on-the-record statement may result in the 
reversal of the sentence. People v Gorley (1988) 203 CA3d 498, 506, 250 
CR 15. 
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 JUDICIAL TIP: A decision by the sentencing judge to refer a case 
to a probation officer for an investigation and report will be greatly 
influenced by the policies and practice of the court and the 
probation department. In some counties, most misdemeanor cases 
are referred to the probation department. In others, only specific 
types of misdemeanor cases are referred. It is therefore important 
for the new judge to become familiar with the policies in his or her 
county. 

1. [§75.52] Types of Probation 
The court may grant one of two types of probation in misdemeanor 

cases: 
(1) Formal probation. Formal probation is the suspension of the impo-

sition or execution of sentence and the order of conditional and revocable 
release into the community under the supervision of a probation officer. Pen 
C §§1203(a), 1203.1(a). 

(2) Conditional sentence. A conditional sentence, also referred to as 
informal, court, or summary probation, is the suspension of the imposition 
or execution of sentence and the order of conditional and revocable release 
into the community subject to the conditions of the court without the 
supervision of a probation officer. Pen C §§1203(a), (d), 1203b. A condi-
tional sentence may be pronounced without referring the case to the proba-
tion officer. Pen C §1203b. If the case is not referred to the probation officer, 
the court may consider any information concerning the defendant that could 
have been included in a probation report. Pen C §1203(d). 

A conditional sentence places greater responsibilities on the court than 
formal probation, requiring the court to perform two functions normally 
carried out by the probation officer. First, the court must furnish the 
defendant with any written statement of the terms and conditions of the 
probation. See Pen C §1203.12. Second, it must order the defendant to 
report to the court, so that the defendant’s conduct may be supervised. Pen 
C §1203.1; People v Municipal Court (Lozano) (1956) 145 CA2d 767, 773, 
303 P2d 375.  
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 JUDICIAL TIPS:  

Formal probation is often appropriate in cases in which the 
defendant is required to pay a substantial sum in restitution to a 
victim or to complete an extended rehabilitation program and the 
court does not have the time or resources to monitor the defendant’s 
progress. A grant of formal probation should always be preceded 
by the preparation of a probation report. 

There appears to be no statutory requirement that the court provide 
written conditions for a defendant placed on informal, summary 
probation. For example, in Los Angeles County, many bench 
officers orally pronounce the conditions of summary probation in 
court and ask for the defendant’s oral acknowledgment and 
agreement on the record. No additional paperwork is generated. 

2. [§75.53] Length of Probation 
The period of probation in misdemeanor cases may not exceed 3 years 

unless the maximum sentence provided by law exceeds 3 years, in which 
case probation may be enforced for a period not to exceed the maximum 
county jail sentence that could be imposed. Pen C §1203a. The probationary 
period may exceed 3 years if, for instance, the court imposes consecutive 
suspended sentences based on multiple charges, and the maximum sentence 
for all the charges exceeds three years. See Fayad v Superior Court (1957) 
153 CA2d 79, 82, 313 P2d 669 (defendant placed on probation for 3 years 
and 6 months after receiving seven consecutive 6-month sentences). 
Statutory exceptions to the 3-year rule are as follows: 

• Pen C §272(a)(1) (contributing to delinquency of a minor—5 years), 
• Pen C §273a (abusing or endangering health of a child—minimum 

4 years), 
• Pen C §273d(c)(1) (inflicting cruel or inhuman corporal punishment 

on a child—minimum 3 years), 
• Veh C §§23152, 23153 (DUI offenses—minimum 3 years and 

maximum 5 years under Veh C §23600(b)), and 
• Health & S C §11550(a) (under the influence of controlled 

substance—5 years). 
If the court fails to specify a term of probation, it is deemed to be for 

the maximum jail sentence that could be imposed. People v Blakeman 
(1959) 170 CA2d 596, 599, 339 P2d 202 (simple order of “sentence sus-
pended” resulted in 6-month probation period for one count of battery). 
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3. [§75.54] Imposition or Execution of Sentence Suspended 
In granting probation, the court may either suspend the imposition of 

sentence or suspend the execution of sentence. Pen C §§1203(a), 1203.1(a). 
The decision to suspend imposition of sentence or impose sentence and 
suspend its execution will be influenced by how much discretion the court 
wishes to retain in sentencing the defendant should he or she violate 
probation. If the court wishes to retain the full range of sentencing options 
in the event of a future probation violation, it should suspend the imposition 
of sentence. By doing so, the court, on revoking probation, may sentence 
the defendant for any length of time up to the maximum possible sentence 
for the offense committed, less conduct and custody credits. Pen C 
§§1203.2(c), 2900.5(a). If, at the time probation was granted, sentence was 
imposed and its execution suspended, the court revoking probation must 
order the previously imposed sentence into effect. Pen C §1203.2(c). The 
court does not have jurisdiction to reduce the previously imposed sentence 
once it revokes probation. People v Howard (1997) 16 C4th 1081, 1087–
1088, 68 CR2d 870; People v Nubla (1999) 74 CA4th 719, 726–728, 88 
CR2d 265. 

 JUDICIAL TIP: When the court imposes sentence and suspends its 
execution, it should inform the defendant that if he or she violates 
the terms and conditions of probation and formal revocation of 
probation results, the court will have no discretion to incarcerate 
the defendant for any term less than the term just imposed. This 
statement will underscore the importance of the defendant’s 
compliance with the terms of probation and the irreversible 
consequences of noncompliance. 

For a comprehensive discussion of sentencing on revocation of proba-
tion, see California Judges Benchguide 84: Probation Revocation (Cal 
CJER). 

4. [§75.55] Conditions of Probation 
The court has broad discretion to impose reasonable conditions on a 

grant of probation that are necessary to secure justice, make amends to 
society and any individuals injured by the defendant’s criminal actions, and 
foster the defendant’s rehabilitation. Pen C §1203.1(j); In re Bushman 
(1970) 1 C3d 767, 776, 83 CR 375, disapproved on other grounds in 15 C3d 
at 486 n1. Some conditions, such as restitution to the victim, time in jail, or 
participation in counseling programs, are specifically authorized by statute. 
Other conditions are mandatory if the defendant has committed a specific 
crime. See §75.56. In addition to imposing any statutory conditions of 
probation, the court may fashion specific conditions reasonably related to 
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the offense committed and aimed at deterring future criminal conduct. See 
§75.57. 

a. [§75.56] Statutory Conditions 
Statutory conditions the court may impose on a grant of probation 

include: 
Jail time and fine. The court may imprison the defendant in county jail 

for not more than the maximum jail term that could be imposed and/or fine 
the defendant no more than the maximum fine provided by law in the case. 
Pen C §1203.1(a). Many code provisions require the defendant to serve a 
minimum jail term or pay a minimum amount of fine. See California Judges 
Benchguide 74: Sentencing Guidelines for Common Misdemeanors and 
Infractions (Cal CJER). 

Victim restitution order and restitution fine. The court must order 
payment of restitution to any victims for economic losses and impose a 
restitution fine of not less than $150 and not more than $1000. Pen C 
§1202.4(a)(3), (b), (m). See §§75.24–75.31. 

Probation revocation restitution fine. The court must impose an 
additional probation revocation restitution fine in the same amount as that 
imposed under Pen C §1202.4(b). Pen C §1202.44. This additional fine is 
suspended and does not become effective unless and until the defendant’s 
conditional sentence or probation is revoked. Pen C §1202.44. See §75.32.  

Controlled substance testing and use prohibition. When the court has 
reason to believe that the defendant is or has been a user of controlled 
substances, it may require the defendant to submit to periodic tests to 
determine whether the defendant is addicted to a controlled substance. 
Health & S C §11551(a). A marijuana user may not be subject to this 
condition. Health & S C §11553. When a defendant is convicted of posses-
sion, use, sale, or other furnishing of a controlled substance, the court, on 
recommendation of the probation officer, must require the defendant not to 
use or be under the influence of any controlled substance and to submit to 
drug testing at the request of the probation officer. Pen C §1203.1ab. 

Controlled substance education or treatment. The court must order a 
defendant convicted of possession of a controlled substance to undertake 
education or treatment if such a service is locally available and the defen-
dant is likely to benefit from the service. Health & S C §11373(a). 

For a discussion of mandatory drug treatment for persons convicted of 
nonviolent drug possession offenses, see §75.58. 

Alcohol use prohibition. The court must require a defendant convicted 
of a sex offense enumerated in Pen C §290 to refrain from the use of alcohol 
if the court finds that the defendant was intoxicated or addicted to alcohol 
at the time the offense was committed. Pen C §1203.02. 

Completion of batterer’s treatment program. Defendants convicted of 
domestic abuse offenses must successfully complete a batterer’s treatment 
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program or, if none is available, another appropriate counseling program. 
Pen C §1203.097(a). For a comprehensive discussion of mandatory and 
discretionary probation conditions in domestic violence cases, see 
California Judges Benchbook: Domestic Violence Cases in Criminal Court, 
§§7.24–7.25 (Cal CJER 2018). 

Work camp. If road camps, farms, or other public work venues are 
available, the court may require the defendant to work at such places instead 
of serving time in jail. Pen C §1203.1(c). 

Reimbursement of costs of emergency response. The defendant may be 
required to pay restitution to a public agency for the costs of an emergency 
response. Pen C §1203.1(e). At the sentencing hearing, the defendant has 
the right to confront witnesses and present evidence to refute the amount 
claimed to be due to the public agency. Pen C §1203.1l. 

Employment and account of earnings. The court may require the 
defendant to work and earn money for the support of his or her dependents 
or for payment of any fine or restitution, to keep an account of his or her 
earnings, to report the earnings to the probation officer, and to apply them 
as directed by the court. Pen C §1203.1(d). 

Counseling or education programs for persons convicted of child 
abuse or neglect. The court may require a defendant convicted of child 
abuse or neglect to participate in counseling and/or education programs, 
including, but not limited to, parent education or parenting programs 
operated by community colleges, school districts, other public agencies, or 
private agencies. Pen C §1203.1(i)(1). 

Stay-away order. The court may order a defendant convicted of a sex 
offense requiring criminal registration under Pen C §290 to stay away from 
the victim and the victim’s residence or place of employment and to have 
no contact with the victim in person, by telephone or electronic means, or 
by mail. The order may be made at the request of the victim or in the court’s 
discretion. Pen C §1203.1(i)(2). 

Criminal protective order in domestic violence cases or sexual offense 
cases. The court must consider issuing an order restraining the defendant 
from any contact with the victim in cases in which the defendant has been 
convicted of a crime of domestic violence, a misdemeanor violation of Pen 
C §261.5 (unlawful sexual intercourse), a misdemeanor violation of Pen C 
§186.22 (participation in criminal street gang), or any crime that requires 
the defendant to register as a sex offender under Pen C §290. Pen C 
§136.2(i). The order may be valid for up to 10 years, as determined by the 
court. Pen C §136.2(i)(1). The duration of the order must be based on the 
seriousness of the facts before the court, the probability of future violations, 
and the safety of the victim and his or her immediate family. Pen C 
§136.2(i)(1). This protective order may be issued by the court regardless of 
whether the defendant is sentenced to the state prison or a county jail, or 
whether imposition of sentence is suspended and the defendant is placed on 
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probation. Pen C §136.2(i)(1). The court must also consider issuing a 
restraining order protecting a percipient witness if the defendant was 
convicted of the above crimes or violations, and it can be established by 
clear and convincing evidence that defendant harassed the witness. Pen C 
§136.2(i)(2). Additionally, the court must impose, as a condition of 
probation for a crime in which the victim is a person defined in Fam C 
§6211, a criminal protective order protecting the victim from further acts of 
violence, threats, stalking, sexual abuse, and harassment, and, if 
appropriate, containing residence exclusion or stay-away conditions. Pen C 
§1203.097(a). See California Judges Benchbook: Domestic Violence Cases 
in Criminal Court, §§4.14, 7.24 (Cal CJER 2017). 

Community service. The court may require a defendant convicted of a 
nonviolent or nonserious offense who is ordered to participate in 
community service to perform the service by removing graffiti or by doing 
house repairs or yard services for senior citizens or senior centers. Pen C 
§1203.1(g)–(h). 

Criminal registration. The criminal registration requirements outlined 
in §75.34 are applicable to defendants released on probation. For a 
discussion of notice of criminal registration that defendants must be given 
on release from probation, see §75.45. 

Payment of probation costs. Where the defendant was subject to any 
preplea or presentence investigation and report, and in any case where 
probation is granted or a conditional sentence or mandatory supervision is 
given, the probation officer must determine the ability of the defendant to 
pay all or a portion of the reasonable cost of any supervision and of 
conducting any preplea investigation and preparing any preplea report. Pen 
C §1203.1b(a). The probation officer must take into account the amount of 
any fines, assessment, and restitution the defendant was ordered to pay. Pen 
C §1203.1b(a). Unless the defendant knowingly and intelligently waives the 
right to a determination of ability to pay, a court hearing must be scheduled 
to determine ability to pay and the amount of any payment. Pen C 
§1203.1b(b).  

b. [§75.57] Nonstatutory Conditions 
The court is not limited to imposing statutory conditions of probation. 

It may fashion any condition that serves one of the purposes of probation 
listed in Pen C §1203.1(j) (i.e., to secure justice, make amends to society or 
victims of defendant’s crime, or to foster rehabilitation of the defendant). 
People v Carbajal (1995) 10 C4th 1114, 1120–1121, 43 CR2d 681. A 
condition of probation will be upheld unless it (1) has no relationship to the 
crime for which the defendant was convicted, (2) relates to conduct that is 
not criminal, and (3) requires or forbids conduct that is not reasonably 
related to future criminality. People v Lent (1975) 15 C3d 481, 486, 124 CR 
905; People v Dominguez (1967) 256 CA2d 623, 627, 64 CR 290. A 
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probation condition that regulates conduct that is not criminal is valid if that 
conduct is reasonably related to the crime for which the defendant was 
convicted or to future criminality. People v Lent, supra, 15 C3d at 486; 
People v Carbajal, supra, 10 C4th at 1121. 

Conditions of probation must be stated in the probation order with 
sufficient precision to give notice to the defendant of what is required of 
him or her and to allow the court to determine whether any condition has 
been violated. People v Hernandez (1991) 226 CA3d 1374, 1380, 277 CR 
444, disapproved on other grounds in 5 C4th at 237. In addition, to prevent 
a successful challenge to any condition on appeal, the court should state 
clearly on the record the relationship between the crime and the conditions 
sought to be imposed. People v Clark (1982) 130 CA3d 371, 386, 181 CR 
682. 

Examples of probation conditions that have passed the Lent-
Dominguez test include the following: 

• A restraint from engaging in an otherwise lawful business. People v 
Burden (1980) 105 CA3d 917, 920, 166 CR 542. 

• Submission to warrantless searches. People v Bravo (1987) 43 C3d 
600, 607, 238 CR 282; People v Balestra (1999) 76 CA4th 57, 65–
68, 90 CR2d 77. 

• Warrantless  searches of defendant’s electronic devices. People v 
Acosta (2018) 20 CA5th 225, 232–233, 228 CR3d 822. 

• Submission to alcohol and drug testing at the probation officer’s 
discretion. People v Balestra, supra, 76 CA4th at 68. 

• Home detention. People v Reinertson (1986) 178 CA3d 320, 325, 
223 CR 670. 

• A prohibition from going near probationer’s own property. People 
v Watkins (1987) 193 CA3d 1686, 1689, 239 CR 255. 

• A prohibition against associating with persons known to have 
criminal records. People v Robinson (1988) 199 CA3d 816, 818, 245 
CR 50. 

• A prohibition against associating with known gang members and 
displaying symbols known to be gang-related. People v Leon (2010) 
181 CA4th 943, 949–950, 104 CR3d 410; People v Lopez (1998) 66 
CA4th 615, 623–629, 78 CR2d 66. 

• A prohibition from going near school campuses during school 
hours provided the condition is sufficiently precise. People v 
Barajas (2011) 198 CA4th 748, 760–762, 131 CR3d 412 
(probation condition modified to read “You’re not to knowingly be 
on or within 50 feet of any school campus during school hours 
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unless you’re enrolled in it or with prior permission of the school 
administrator or probation officer”). 

• A waiver of custody credits under Pen C §2900.5. People v 
Johnson (2002) 28 C4th 1050, 1054–1058, 123 CR2d 700. 

• Submission to periodic polygraph examinations. Brown v Superior 
Court (2002) 101 CA4th 313, 319–321, 124 CR2d 43 (court must 
impose restrictions on examiner’s questions); People v Miller 
(1989) 208 CA3d 1311, 1314, 256 CR 587. 

• A restriction on access to the Internet when use of the Internet is 
related to the crime. People v Harrisson (2005) 134 CA4th 637, 
641–647, 36 CR3d 264 (defendant convicted of possessing child 
pornography). Stay-away from location defendant vandalized. 
People v Acosta, supra, 20 CA5th at 235. 

• Stay-away from victim or victim’s residence. People v Petty (2013) 
213 CA4th 1410, 1422, 154 CR3d 75.  

• A probation officer’s approval of the defendant’s residence. People 
v Arevalo (2018) 19 CA5th 652, 657, 228 CR3d 192; cf. People v 
Soto (2016) 245 CA4th 1219, 1226–1228, 200 CR3d 247; People 
v Bauer (1989) 211 CA3d 937, 944, 260 CR 62 (such condition 
may be found invalid if not reasonably related to deterring 
defendant’s future criminality.) 

 
Probation conditions that have been held invalid include the following: 
• A prohibition against pregnancy. People v Zaring (1992) 8 CA4th 

362, 373, 10 CR2d 263. 
• Wearing of a T-shirt publicly proclaiming defendant as a thief. 

People v Hackler (1993) 13 CA4th 1049, 1059–1060, 16 CR2d 681. 
• A waiver of the knock and notice requirements of Pen C §§844 and 

1531. People v Freund (1975) 48 CA3d 49, 58, 119 CR 762. 
• A curfew. People v Nassetta (2017) 3 CA5th 699, 703–704. 
 
For a comprehensive discussion of conditions of probation, including 

illustrations of both valid and invalid conditions, see 3 Witkin & Epstein, 
California Criminal Law, Punishment §§652–679 (4th ed 2012). 

5. [§75.58] Mandatory Probation Under Proposition 36 
Proposition 36 requires sentencing of specified defendants convicted 

of “nonviolent drug possession offenses” to probation with a mandatory 
drug treatment component. Pen C §1210.1; see Pen C §1210(a) (nonviolent 
drug possession offenses defined). Courts must impose, as a condition of 
probation, completion of a drug treatment program not to exceed 12 months, 
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unless the court makes a finding supported by the record that the 
continuation of treatment beyond 12 months is necessary to be successful. 
In that case the court may order up to two 6-month extensions. The 
provision of treatment cannot exceed 24 months. Pen C §§1210(b), 
1210.1(d)(3). The court may also require that the defendant participate in 
vocational training, family counseling, literacy training, and/or community 
service. Pen C §1210.1(a). But the court may not incarcerate the defendant 
as a condition of probation. Pen C §1210.1(a). 

See Pen C §1210.1(b) for conditions that render defendants ineligible 
for mandatory probation under Pen C §1210.1. 

For a comprehensive discussion of Proposition 36, see 2 Witkin & 
Epstein, California Criminal Law, Crimes Against Public Peace and 
Welfare §§164–175 (4th ed 2012). 

6. [§75.59] Rejection of Probation 
A defendant has the right to refuse a grant of probation and to receive 

his or her sentence. In re Bushman (1970) 1 C3d 767, 776, 83 CR 375, dis-
approved on other grounds in 15 C3d at 486 n1. Generally, a defendant will 
refuse probation if he or she considers any proposed conditions of probation 
to be more harsh or objectionable than the sentence the court would 
otherwise impose. In re Bushman, supra, 1 C3d at 776. However, if the 
defendant does not object to the imposition of a probation condition at the 
sentencing hearing, he or she waives the right to challenge the condition on 
appeal. People v Welch (1993) 5 C4th 228, 236–237, 19 CR2d 520. The 
courts of appeal are split on whether the Welch waiver rule applies even 
when defendant alleges that a probation condition is unconstitutional. See 
People v Gardineer (2000) 79 CA4th 148, 151–152, 93 CR2d 863 (yes); In 
re Justin S. (2001) 93 CA4th 811, 814–815, 113 CR2d 466 (no: failure of 
minor to object in juvenile court did not foreclose minor from raising claims 
on appeal). 

 JUDICIAL TIP: The court should always ask the defendant if he 
or she understands the proposed terms and conditions of probation 
and accepts probation on those terms and conditions. 

IV. [§75.60] SCRIPT: PRONOUNCEMENT OF JUDGMENT AND 
SENTENCE 

(1) Call the case and ask for appearances: 
People v _________. Is your true name _________? 

Counsel, may I have your appearances? 

(2) Address the appointment of counsel. Add as appropriate: 
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[Mr./Ms.] [name of defendant], do you have an attorney whom you 
have hired to represent you in this matter? Do you want to be represented 
by an attorney in this case? Would you like to speak to a public defender? 

[If defendant indicates that he or she wishes to be represented by an 
attorney, add] 

I will continue this case for ____ days to allow you time to speak to 
[your own attorney/the public defender]. Pronouncement of judgment and 
sentence is scheduled for [date], at ____ [a.m./p.m.] You should be ready 
to proceed with [your own attorney/the public defender] at that time. 

Note: The court does not have to inform the defendant of the right to counsel 
if the defendant has waived the right earlier in the proceedings, unless the 
defendant appeared with counsel at an earlier hearing. For discussion, see 
§75.12. 

(3) Arraign the defendant (Pen C §§1200, 1201): 
[Mr./Ms.] [name of defense attorney], do you waive formal arraignment 

for judgment and sentence? 

[If defendant does not waive arraignment] 

[Mr./Ms.] [name of defendant], in this case, Case Number ___, you 
were charged with violating section(s) ____ of the ________ Code. On 
[date], you entered a plea of [not guilty/guilty/no contest] to the charge(s). 

[If the defendant pleaded not guilty] 

On [date], a [jury/court] returned a verdict finding you guilty of a 
violation of section(s) ____ of the ________ Code. 

[Continue] 
Is there any legal cause why judgment should not now be 

pronounced? 

 (4) Acknowledge consideration of probation report and/or other 
information: 

This matter was referred to the probation department for preparation 
of a presentence report. Let the record show that I have received, read, 
and considered the report filed on [date], and consisting of ___ pages. I 
have also received, read, and considered [list all items considered, 
including alternative sentencing report filed by defense counsel and letters 
from victims]. 
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[Mr./Ms.] [name of defense attorney], have you received a copy of the 
report? Have you had an opportunity to read the report? 

[Or] 
A presentence report was not ordered in this case. However, I have 

received, read, and considered [state the information considered as 
required under Pen C §1203(d)]. 

(5) Request and receive comments and/or evidence from the parties: 

[Mr./Ms.] [name of defense attorney], do you have any comments, 
recommendations, or additional evidence relating to the matter of probation 
and sentence that you would like to present? 

[Defense counsel responds] 

[Mr./Ms.] [name of district attorney], do you have any comments, 
recommendations, or additional evidence to present as to the matter of 
probation and sentence? 

[District attorney responds] 

[Mr./Ms.] [name of defendant], is there anything that you would like to 
say to the court on your behalf before you are sentenced? 

(6) Pronounce judgment and sentence. No-probation sentence: 
[Sentence to county jail] 

Probation is formally denied. It is the judgment of this court that the 
defendant be imprisoned in the county jail of ________ County for a term 
of ___ [days/months]. [The defendant is to surrender to the custody of the 
sheriff on [date]/The defendant is remanded to the custody of the sheriff.] 

[Subtract custody and conduct credits] 

Under the provisions of Penal Code section 2900.5, the defendant is 
entitled to a credit against this jail term of ___ days, which is attributable to 
the defendant’s presentence detention from [date] to [date]. In addition, the 
defendant is entitled to good-time and work-time credits amounting to ___ 
days in accordance with Penal Code section 4019. 

[Imposition of fine and penalty assessments] 

Probation is formally denied. It is the judgment of this court that the 
defendant pay a fine of $____ and penalty assessments of $____. The fine 
is to be paid [immediately/by [date]/in installments of $____ on the following 
dates [specify]]. 
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[Imposition of fine with imprisonment for default of payment] 

Probation is formally denied. It is the judgment of this court that the 
defendant pay a fine of $____ and penalty assessments of $____. The fine 
is to be paid [immediately/by [date]/in installments of $____ on the following 
dates [specify]]. It is further the order of this court that if the defendant 
defaults on payment, the defendant be imprisoned in the county jail of 
________ County until the fine is satisfied, for a term of one day’s 
imprisonment for each $____ of the fine remaining unpaid. 

[Imposition of restitution fine ($150–$1000) (Pen C §1202.4(b))] 

The court imposes a restitution fine of $____ to be deposited in the 
state Restitution Fund. The fine is to be paid [immediately/by [date]/in 
installments of $____ on the following dates [specify]]. 

[If applicable] 

In setting the amount in excess of the minimum fine, the court has 
considered [specify factors]. 

[Apply custody credit toward fines. Add as appropriate] 

Under Penal Code section 2900.5, the defendant’s fines are reduced 
by $____ for the period of the defendant’s presentence detention from 
[date] to [date]. The fines were credited at $____ per day. 

[Order of restitution (Pen C §1202.4(f))] 

It is further the judgment of this court that the defendant pay restitution 
in the sum of $____ to [name of victim] [by [date]/in installments of $____ 
on the following dates [specify]]. 

 [Multiple count cases; decision to run multiple sentences concurrently or 
consecutively] 

It is the judgment of this court that the sentence of ____ [days/months] 
for Count ____ shall run [concurrently/consecutively] with the sentence of 
[days/months] for Count ____. 

(7) Pronounce judgment and sentence. Probation granted: 
[Imposition of sentence suspended] 

Imposition of sentence is suspended for a period of ____ 
[months/years], during which time the defendant is placed on [formal 
probation in the care, custody, and control of the probation officer of 
________ County/court probation]. 
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[Or] 

[Execution of sentence suspended] 

It is the judgment of this court that the defendant be imprisoned in the 
county jail for a term of ____ [days/months] and/or pay a fine of $____ plus 
penalty assessments of $____. The execution of this sentence is 
suspended for a period of ____ [months/years], during which time the 
defendant is placed on [formal probation in the care, custody, and control 
of the probation officer of _______ County/court probation]. 

[Mr./Ms.] [name of defendant], if you should return to this court by 
violating your probation and your probation is formally revoked, the court 
will have no choice but to send you to county jail for the full length of the 
term just stated. Do you understand that? 

[Continue] 

[State conditions of probation] 

The terms and conditions of probation are as follows: 

[Examples] 

• The defendant is ordered to obey all laws. 
• The defendant is ordered to serve ___ days in county jail beginning 

[date], at ___ [a.m./p.m.] 

• Under the provisions of Penal Code section 2900.5, the defendant 
is entitled to a credit against this jail term of ___ days, which is 
attributable to the defendant’s presentence detention from [date] to 
[date]. In addition, the defendant is entitled to good-time and work-
time credits amounting to ___ days in accordance with Penal Code 
section 4019. 

• The defendant is ordered to pay a fine of $____ in installments of 
$____ to be paid on the following dates [specify]. 

• The defendant is ordered to pay a restitution fine of $____ to be 
deposited in the state Restitution Fund. 

• The court imposes an additional probation revocation restitution 
fine in the same amount, but this fine is suspended unless the 
defendant’s probation is revoked. 

• Under Penal Code section 2900.5, the defendant’s fines are 
reduced by $____ for the period of the defendant’s presentence 
detention from [date] to [date]. The fines were credited at $____ per 
day. 
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• The defendant is ordered to pay restitution to [name of victim] in the 
amount of $____, to be paid in monthly installments of $____. 

• The defendant is ordered to perform ____ hours of community 
service and to present proof of completion in this court on [date], at 
____ [a.m./p.m.] 

• The defendant is ordered to submit to urinalysis or other testing to 
detect the use of dangerous drugs, as directed by the probation 
officer. 

[Continue] 

[Determine whether the defendant accepts probation] 

[Mr./Ms.] [name of defendant], do you fully understand the terms and 
conditions of probation that I have just ordered? Do you accept probation 
on those terms and conditions, and will you abide by all the conditions of 
probation? 

[If the defendant accepts probation, proceed to Step 8] 

[If the defendant refuses probation] 

The defendant has refused to accept probation on the terms and 
conditions ordered by this court. Therefore it is the judgment of this court 
[follow procedure under Step 6]. 

(8) Advise defendant of appeal right (not applicable if defendant 
pleaded guilty or no contest or is represented by counsel). Cal Rules of Ct 
8.853(a), 4.306; Pen C §1466: 

[Mr./Ms.] [name of defendant], it is the duty of this court to advise you 
of your right to appeal to the appellate division of the superior court of this 
county from the judgment of this court in [imposing sentence/ 
imposing sentence and suspending execution of sentence and granting 
you probation/suspending imposition of sentence and granting you 
probation]. If you want to file an appeal, there is a 30-day limit within which 
you must act by filing a written Notice of Appeal. This 30-day period starts 
today. 

Your Notice of Appeal must be filed with the clerk of this court and it 
must be signed by you or your attorney. It must clearly specify what it is 
you are appealing from, and whether you are appealing from the whole 
judgment or just part of it. 

[If defendant is subject to jail term or fine in excess of $500, or is likely to 
suffer significant adverse collateral consequences (Cal Rules of Ct 

8.851(a))] 
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If you appeal and you do not have the money to hire an attorney, the 
appellate division of the superior court will appoint an attorney to represent 
you on appeal. 

[All other defendants] 

If you appeal and you do not have the money to hire an attorney, the 
appellate division of the superior court may appoint an attorney to represent 
you on appeal. 

[Continue] 

It is your responsibility to keep the appellate division of the superior 
court advised of your current mailing address. The court will contact you to 
see whether you have a right to free counsel after you have filed the Notice 
of Appeal. 

Do you understand your right to appeal as I have explained it to you? 
Do you understand that unless your present attorney is going to file a 
Notice of Appeal for you, it is your duty to file your own Notice of Appeal, 
and it must be done within 30 days from today? 

Do you have any questions that you want to ask the court about your 
right to appeal? 

(9) Advise the defendant of the duty to register with local law enforce-
ment authorities. Add as appropriate: 

[Mr./Ms.] [name of defendant], you are required to register, under [Pen 
C §186.30/Pen C §290/Health & S C §11590], with the chief of police in the 
city in which you now reside, or with the sheriff if you live in an 
unincorporated area. You have [10 (under Pen C §186.30)/5 working days 
(under Pen C §290)/30 days (under Health & S C §11590)] in which to 
register. You will be asked to sign a registration form and you will be 
photographed and fingerprinted. 

If you should move to a new address, it is your responsibility to notify, 
in writing within [5 working days (under Pen C §290.013)/10 days (under 
Pen C §186.32(b) and Health & S C §11594)], the law enforcement agency 
with whom you are registered of your new address. 

[Defendants registering under Pen C §290] 

You must update your registration with the chief of police or sheriff 
each year within 5 working days of your birthday. In addition, if you change 
your name, you must provide written notification of your name change to 
the chief of police or sheriff within 5 working days. 
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Do you have any questions that you want to ask the court about your 
duty to register? 

(9a) Firearm relinquishment (Pen C §29810): 

As you were convicted of [set forth relevant statute(s) listed in Pen C 
§29805], you are prohibited from owning, purchasing, receiving, 
possessing, or having under your custody or control, any firearms, 
ammunition, and ammunition feeding devices, including but not limited to 
magazines. In addition, you are required to relinquish all firearms that you 
own, possess, or have in your custody or control. 

Let the record show that I have received, read, and considered the 
probation officer’s report regarding firearm relinquishment filed on [date], 
and consisting of ___ pages. I have also received, read, and considered 
the Prohibited Persons Relinquishment Form submitted by defendant. The 
report indicates that the defendant [has relinquished all firearms as 
required/had no firearms] and the form [has the required receipts attached 
for the relinquished firearms/indicates defendant has no firearms to 
relinquish.]  

[The above is where the court received the probation officer report and 
Prohibited Persons Relinquishment Form showing no weapons or all 
weapons relinquished. If firearms were not relinquished then you must 
order the search for and removal of any firearms at any location where you 
have probable cause to believe the defendant’s firearms are located. You 
must state with specificity the reasons for and scope of the search and 
seizure authorized by the order. Pen C §29810(c)(4).]   

(10) Advise the defendant of the right to rehabilitation (Pen C 
§§1203.4a, 1203.4): 

[Mr./Ms.] [name of defendant], if you successfully perform the 
sentence that I have imposed today, you may, one year from today’s date, 
request the court to [withdraw your plea of guilty/withdraw your plea of no 
contest/set aside the guilty verdict] and dismiss the accusatory pleading. 
The court will grant this relief and release you from all penalties and 
disabilities resulting from your conviction if you are not then serving a 
sentence for any offense or under charge of the commission of any crime, 
and have lived an honest and upright life and conformed to and obeyed the 
laws of the land. 

You may make this application and change of plea in person or by 
your attorney, or by the probation officer authorized in writing. Should you 
be subsequently prosecuted for any other offense, the conviction may be 
pleaded and proved and will have the same effect as if relief had not been 
granted. 
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Do you have any questions that you want to ask the court about your 
rights to relief? 

V. [§75.61] ADDITIONAL REFERENCES 
California Criminal Law Procedure and Practice, chaps 35, 36, 38, 40 

(Cal CEB 2017) 
3 Witkin & Epstein, California Criminal Law, Punishment §§18–36, 

102–127, 306–308, 464–483, 601–679 (4th ed 2012) 
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