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I. [§82.1] SCOPE OF BENCHGUIDE 

This benchguide covers procedures for handling traffic court 
proceedings involving infractions and misdemeanors under the Vehicle 
Code. It may be used by traffic commissioners and by judges who are 
assigned to handle a traffic calendar. The benchguide includes procedural 
checklists for handling the arraignment and trial calendars, and charts 
listing common Vehicle Code infractions and misdemeanors with the 
applicable penalties that may be imposed. It describes evidentiary and 
sentencing considerations that are specific to traffic cases, and includes 
spoken forms that may be used in connection with arraignment and trial. 
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This benchguide also covers procedures for handling juvenile traffic 
offenses. 

Procedures for handling DUI offenses are covered in California 
Judges Benchguide 81: DUI Proceedings (Cal CJER). General procedures 
regarding misdemeanor arraignments are covered in California Judges 
Benchguide 52: Misdemeanor Arraignment (Cal CJER). General 
procedures regarding misdemeanor sentencing are covered in Benchguide 
75: Misdemeanor Sentencing (Cal CJER). 

II. PROCEDURAL CHECKLISTS 

A. [§82.2] Checklist: Arraignment Calendar 

(1) Call the calendar. 

(2) Advise the defendants of their constitutional rights, i.e., the right 
to be represented by an attorney, to cross-examine the arresting officer 
and any other prosecution witnesses, to subpoena witnesses to testify on 
the defendant’s behalf, to refuse to testify, to have a trial within 45 days of 
the arraignment, and to have a jury trial in a misdemeanor case. See Cal 
Const art I, §15. For a script that might be used, see §82.99.  

(3) Call the first group of defendants forward, and ask the first 
defendant to step up to the podium. 

(4) Inform the defendant of the charge, and ask the defendant how 
he or she wishes to plead. At the commencement of the calendar, many 
judges advise the assembled defendants of their options regarding pleas 
and the consequences of each plea. See §82.46.  

(5) If the defendant pleads guilty or no contest, impose sentence, 
assuming the defendant has waived time for sentencing. See §82.47. If the 
defendant refuses to waive time, the judge must set date for judgment and 
sentencing. On factors to consider in sentencing, see §§82.15, 82.17 
(infractions), 82.23–82.24 (misdemeanors), 82.59–82.69 (general 
considerations). 

(6) If the defendant pleads not guilty, ask the defendant if he or she 
waives time for trial. If not, set the case for trial within 45 days. If the 
defendant is charged with an infraction, the judge should ask the defendant 
if he or she wishes to proceed with a trial by declaration (see §82.13). If 
the defendant is charged with a misdemeanor, the judge should ask the 
defendant if he or she wishes a court trial or a jury trial. In some courts, 
when a defendant pleads not guilty or guilty with an explanation (hoping 
to receive a reduced or suspended fine), the judge (or commissioner) refers 
the defendant to the district attorney’s representative for a conference. If 
the defendant changes his or her plea to guilty or no contest, the judge 
imposes sentence. 
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B. [§82.3] Checklist: Trial Calendar 

(1) Welcome the parties to the courtroom. 

(2) Dispose of any preliminary matters, e.g., any motions for a 
continuance, a dismissal, a change of venue (see §82.5), disqualification 
of the judge, or exclusion of witnesses. 

(3) Advise the defendants of their legal rights, e.g., to change the 
plea to the charge, to remain silent, to confront witnesses, to have 
sentencing delayed (see §82.69), and to appeal (see §82.84). For a script 
that might be used, see §82.100. 

(4) Advise the defendants regarding the trial procedure. Some 
courts give defendants a written form describing the trial procedure. For a 
script that might be used, see §82.101. 

(5) Ask if any defendant or witness will require an interpreter. If a 
defendant cannot understand English, the court must continue the 
defendant’s case until an interpreter is appointed. Cal Const art I, §14 
(defendant unable to understand English has right to interpreter throughout 
criminal proceedings); People v Carreon (1984) 151 CA3d 559, 567, 198 
CR 843 (court must appoint interpreter on showing of need). See Cal 
Rules of Ct, Standards of J Admin 2.10, which outlines the procedures for 
determining the need for a court interpreter. 

(6) Ask the clerk to administer the oath to all witnesses who will 
testify. 

(7) Ask the clerk to call the name of the first case. 

(8) Ask the defendant if his or her name on the calendar is his or 
her true name. If the defendant states that another name is his or her true 
name, the clerk should correct the record. See Pen C §989. 

(9) Ask the defendant and the officer or the District Attorney’s 
representative to take the appropriate seats in the courtroom. 

(10) Advise the defendant of the charged offense (e.g., a violation of 
Veh C §22350 for speeding) and the date of the offense. 

(11) Ask the clerk to ask the officer to state his or her full name and 
to spell his or her last name for the record. 

(12) If a member of the District Attorney’s office represents the 
people, ask him or her to proceed with the people’s case. Otherwise, the 
judge should ask the officer to proceed with his or her testimony. The 
judge should have any exhibits used by the officer marked as People’s 
Exhibit No. 1, No. 2, etc., and should rule on requests to take judicial 
notice of speedometer calibrations, engineering surveys or studies, etc. 
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(13) Proceed with the testimony of any other witnesses for the 
prosecution.  

(14) After each prosecution witness completes his or her testimony, 
give the defendant an opportunity to cross-examine the witness. On 
completion of the defendant’s cross-examination, the judge should ask the 
officer or the district attorney’s representative for any redirect 
examination. 

(15) On completion of the prosecution case, ask the defendant to put 
on his or her case. Generally, the defendant’s case will consist solely of 
testimony. If the defendant has diagrams, photographs, or other exhibits, 
the judge should have them marked as Defendant’s Exhibit A, Exhibit B, 
etc., and should give the officer or the district attorney’s representative an 
opportunity to examine the exhibits before proceeding. 

(16) After each of the defendant’s witnesses completes his or her 
testimony, give the District Attorney’s representative an opportunity to 
cross-examine the witness. On completion of the cross-examination, the 
judge should ask the defendant for any redirect examination. 

(17) On completion of the defendant’s case, ask the officer or the 
District Attorney’s representative if he or she has anything further to add. 
If the prosecution introduces additional matters, the judge should give the 
defendant the opportunity for rebuttal. 

(18) Allow the prosecution to present its summation, the defendant to 
present his or her argument, and the prosecution to present a closing 
argument. Pen C §1093(e); see People v Douglas (1973) 31 CA3d Supp 
26, 27–28, 106 CR 611 (traffic court conviction reversed because of 
court’s refusal to allow defendant to make closing argument in nonjury 
trial). 

(19) Ask the parties to submit the case for decision. 

(20) Inform the parties of your decision. For scripts that might be 
used, see §§82.102–82.103. 

(21) If the defendant is found not guilty of all the charges, advise the 
defendant that he or she is free to leave at this time. 

(22) If the defendant is found guilty, impose sentence. On factors to 
consider, see §§82.15, 82.17 (infractions), 82.23–82.24 (misdemeanors), 
82.59–82.69 (general considerations). 

(23) Call the next case that is ready to proceed, i.e., that has both the 
defendant and the officer present. 

(24) At the end of the calendar, call the cases in which the officer or 
the defendant has failed to appear. If the officer has failed to appear, the 
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judge should consider dismissing the case. In most cases, the court will 
dismiss on the officer’s failure to appear. The court might continue the 
case if the defendant has previously failed to appear for trial or been 
granted a continuance of the trial date and there is a question about 
whether the officer’s schedule was checked before the new trial date was 
set. If the defendant has failed to appear, issue a Veh C §40508 warrant or 
a bench warrant (see §82.35). 

III. APPLICABLE LAW 

A. [§82.4] Jurisdiction Over Traffic Offenses 

Superior courts have jurisdiction over all misdemeanors and 
infractions committed within the county, except those over which the 
juvenile court is given jurisdiction (see §82.95). See Pen C §§19.7, 
1462.2. 

B. [§82.5] Venue Over Traffic Offenses 

The notice to appear (see §82.25) will require the traffic offender to 
appear in the court that is nearest or most accessible to the place where the 
arrest was made. See Veh C §40502(a). The traffic offender may request a 
change of venue to the court at the seat of the county in which the offense 
was committed if the offender’s residence or principal place of 
employment is closer to the county seat than to the court that is nearest or 
most accessible to the place where the arrest was made. See Veh C 
§40502(b); People v Beltran (1981) 124 CA3d 335, 340, 177 CR 262 (in 
Los Angeles County, any branch court in the city of Los Angeles qualifies 
as a “county seat” court). The request must be made at the arraignment. 
See Pen C §1462.2. 

C. [§82.6] Traffic Commissioners and Referees 

Article VI, §22 of the California Constitution permits trial courts to 
appoint officers such as commissioners to perform subordinate judicial 
duties. Under this authority, many courts use traffic commissioners or 
referees to handle many aspects of the traffic caseload. For procedures for 
appointment and authority, see Govt C §§70214(d), 72190–72190.2. 

A court commissioner or traffic referee has the authority to exercise 
the same powers and duties as a judge with respect to traffic infractions. 
See Govt C §§70214(d), 72190–72190.2; In re Kathy P. (1979) 25 C3d 
91, 98, 157 CR 874; Branson v Martin (1997) 56 CA4th 300, 305, 65 
CR2d 401. 

With respect to Vehicle Code misdemeanor violations, a 
commissioner or referee may: 

• Fix the amount of bail, 
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• Grant continuances, 

• Arraign defendants, 

• Hear and recommend orders to be made on demurrers and motions, 

• Take pleas, 

• Set cases for hearing or trial, 

• Impose a fine following a plea of guilty or no contest, 

• Suspend all or a portion of any fine, and 

• Order a defendant to attend traffic violator school. Govt C 
§70214(d).  

A commissioner also has the authority to issue a bench warrant for 
the arrest of a defendant who fails to appear or to perform any act required 
by a court order. Govt C §72190.2. 

D. Infractions 

1. [§82.7] General Classification of Vehicle Code Violations as 
Infractions 

Unless otherwise provided, Vehicle Code violations are infractions. 
See Veh C §40000.1. Numerous violations have been designated as 
misdemeanors. See Veh C §§40000.5–40000.26; discussion in §82.24. 
Other specified offenses are punishable as felonies. See Veh C §40000.3. 
Registration and equipment violations, and all but the most serious 
moving violations, are infractions. 

2. Overview of Procedure 

a. [§82.8] Payment of Fine 

A person who has received a written notice to appear in court on an 
infraction (see §82.25) may post the appropriate bail (see §§82.15, 82.17) 
and penalty assessment (see §82.66) to the court clerk before the date on 
which he or she is required to appear as stated in the notice. See Veh C 
§§40510(a), 40519, 40521(a). A deposit of bail under Veh C §40519 does 
not constitute entry of a plea or a court appearance; a plea of not guilty 
must be made in court at the arraignment. Veh C §40519(a). If the person 
does not appear in court on that date, he or she is declared guilty, the bail 
is declared forfeited, and the case is closed. See Veh C §§40512(a)(1), 
40512.5(a), 40519; People v Monroe (1993) 12 CA4th 1174, 1180, 16 
CR2d 267. 

A person who has not posted bail on or before the date on which he 
or she is required to appear must appear in court on that date for an 
arraignment hearing at which he or she may enter a plea of guilty, no 
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contest, or not guilty. For a discussion of the arraignment, see §§82.44–
82.47. 

b. [§82.9] Payment of Fine in Installments 

If an infraction violation of the Vehicle Code or an infraction 
violation of an ordinance adopted under the code does not require a court 
appearance, the court clerk may accept a payment and forfeiture of bail in 
installments. Veh C §40510.5(a). An initial installment payment of at least 
10 percent of the total bail amount for each infraction violation must be 
made to the clerk before the date on which the defendant promised to 
appear, before the expiration of any continuance, or on receipt of 
information that an action has been filed and before the scheduled court 
date. Veh C §40510.5(a). As a condition of payment of bail installments, 
the defendant must sign an Agreement To Pay and Forfeit Bail in 
Installments (form TR-300), which sets out the terms of the installment 
payment schedule as agreed on with the court. Veh C §40510.5(a)(4). The 
defendant must also submit proof of correction when such proof is 
mandatory for a correctable offense. Veh C §40510.5(a)(2). 

When the clerk accepts the agreement for payment and forfeiture of 
bail installments, the clerk must continue the appearance date to the date 
scheduled for completion of payment and forfeiture of bail in the 
agreement. Veh C §40510.5(b). For purposes of reporting violations to the 
DMV under Veh C §1803, the date that the defendant signs an agreement 
to pay and forfeit in installments is reported as the date of conviction. Veh 
C §40510.5(d). 

The defendant must pay to the clerk or collection agency a fee equal 
to the administrative and clerical costs of processing installment accounts 
as determined by the board of supervisors or the court, up to a maximum 
of $35. Veh C §40510.5(g). 

If the defendant fails to make an installment payment according to 
the agreement, the court may charge a failure to appear or pay under Veh 
C §40508 (see §§82.35, 82.70–82.73) and impose a civil assessment as 
provided under Pen C §1214.1, or issue an arrest warrant for a failure to 
appear. Veh C §40510.5(e). 

Vehicle Code §40512 provides that if the defendant does not make an 
installment payment as agreed and fails to appear at a compliance hearing, 
either in person or by counsel, the court may continue the arraignment to a 
date beyond the date of the last installment payment date, issue an arrest 
warrant, or impose a civil assessment as provided under Pen C §1214.1 for 
the failure to appear. Veh C §40512(b)(1). If the defendant has paid all the 
required bail funds and does not appear at a compliance hearing, the court 
may declare bail forfeited and order that no further proceedings take place 
in the case, with specified exceptions. Veh C §40512(b)(2). 
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c. [§82.10] Pleading Not Guilty 

A person who pleads not guilty to an infraction has the right to a trial 
before a traffic commissioner or referee. See §82.6. There is no right to a 
jury trial or to a court-appointed attorney. See Pen C §19.6; People v 
Lucas (1978) 82 CA3d 47, 51–52, 147 CR 235 (“[a]ttorneys rarely appear 
in infraction cases for the simple reason that the stakes are not worth the 
cost”), although a person charged with an infraction has the right to be 
represented by private counsel (see People v Kriss (1979) 96 CA3d 913, 
917, 158 CR 420). Without a showing of special circumstances, it is not 
necessary for the judge to advise an unrepresented defendant charged with 
a traffic infraction of his or her right to be represented by privately 
retained counsel. It is also unnecessary for the judge to obtain a waiver of 
the right to counsel before accepting a defendant’s plea of guilty or no 
contest to the infraction or before trying the defendant without counsel if 
the defendant pleads not guilty. People v Prince (1976) 55 CA3d Supp 19, 
32–34, 127 CR 296. “Special circumstances” that might warrant an 
advisement and waiver include the possible imposition of multiple 
maximum penalties or proof of gross physical, linguistic, or mental 
inability of the defendant to represent himself or herself or to understand 
the right to employ counsel and the means of employing counsel. 55 CA3d 
Supp at 34 n10. 

d. [§82.11] Calling and Examining Witnesses 

Generally, the only witnesses at the trial are the officer and the 
defendant. There is usually no prosecutor. See People v Marcroft (1992) 6 
CA4th Supp 1, 4, 8 CR2d 544 (“economic realities preclude the presence 
of prosecuting attorneys at most infraction trials”). If the officer fails to 
appear at the trial, the judge may dismiss the case or proceed with the case 
by examining the witnesses himself or herself. See Evid C §775 (judge’s 
authority to call and question witnesses). A trial of a traffic infraction 
conducted without a prosecutor is proper as long as the judge’s conduct, 
including the judge’s calling and questioning of witnesses, is fair and 
properly limited in scope. See People v Carlucci (1979) 23 C3d 249, 256–
259, 152 CR 439; People v Marcroft, supra, 6 CA4th Supp at 4. In People 
ex rel Kottmeier v Municipal Court (1990) 220 CA3d 602, 269 CR 542, 
the Court of Appeal overruled a municipal court’s policy requiring the 
attendance of prosecutors at the trial of traffic infractions. It noted that 
Govt C §26500 does not require the attendance of a prosecutor at an 
infraction trial. 220 CA3d at 608, 610; People v Daggett (1988) 206 CA3d 
Supp 1, 253 CR 195 (in accord). It emphasized, however, that, in the 
absence of a prosecutor, the judge must not appear to assist one side or the 
other: “This principle should be most carefully and rigorously followed 
where the party being questioned appears for the prosecution, to avoid the 
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inference that the court and law enforcement are ‘in cahoots’ and the result 
of the trial a foregone conclusion.” People ex rel Kottmeier v Municipal 
Court, supra, 220 CA3d at 611–612. In conducting an infraction trial 
without a prosecutor, the judge must be most circumspect in avoiding an 
appearance of lack of impartiality. The judge must exercise utmost care to 
preserve not only the reality but also the appearance of fairness and lack of 
bias. People v Marcroft, supra, 6 CA4th Supp at 4. It is within the judge’s 
discretion to request the presence of a prosecutor in an unusual case. 
People ex rel Kottmeier v Municipal Court, supra, 220 CA3d at 612. 

At trial, the officer testifies first, the defendant has an opportunity to 
cross-examine the officer, and then the defendant testifies. After all 
testimony, including that of any other witnesses, the judge usually gives 
his or her decision and, if the defendant is found guilty, imposes sentence 
immediately. For further discussion of the trial, see §§82.48–82.58. 

e. [§82.12] Documentary Evidence 

A court may establish special rules under Veh C §40901 for the trial 
of Vehicle Code infractions. Veh C §40901(a). These rules may provide 
for testimony and other relevant evidence to be introduced in the form of a 
notice to appear and a business record or receipt (notwithstanding the 
hearsay rules set forth in Evid C §§1200–1380). Veh C §40901(b). The 
court must inform the defendant of the summary nature of a proceeding 
under the court’s rules and of his or her right to confront and cross-
examine witnesses, to subpoena witnesses, and to be represented by an 
attorney. The court must ascertain that the defendant knowingly and 
voluntarily waives these rights before proceeding. Veh C §40901(c). In a 
jurisdiction having a non-English-speaking population that communicates 
in any one language and exceeds 5 percent of the total population, a 
written explanation of the court’s summary procedures must be made 
available in that language. Veh C §40901(d). 

f. [§82.13] Trial by Written Declaration 

A defendant may elect to have a trial by written declaration on any 
Vehicle Code infraction. Veh C §40902(a). See Cal Rules of Ct 4.210; 
People v Cooper (2002) 101 CA4th Supp 1, 4–5, 125 CR2d 188 
(defendant’s request for a traffic trial by declaration was properly denied 
because the request was untimely and not in written form). If the clerk 
receives from the defendant a written request for a trial by written 
declaration on or before the appearance date indicated on the notice to 
appear, the clerk must, within 15 calendar days of receiving the request, 
extend the appearance date 25 calendar days, and must give or mail the 
defendant notice of the extended due date on a Request for Trial by 
Written Declaration (form TR-205) with a copy of the Instructions to 
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Defendant (form TR-200) and any other required forms. Cal Rules of Ct 
4.210(b)(2), (i)(1)(2). The defendant must file the Request for Trial by 
Written Declaration with the clerk on or before the appearance date 
indicated on the notice to appear (or any extended appearance date). This 
form must be filed in addition to the defendant’s written request for a trial 
by written declaration, unless that request was made on this form. Cal 
Rules of Ct 4.210(b)(3). 

A defendant who makes this election must submit bail in the amount 
established in the Uniform Traffic Bail and Penalty Schedule under Veh C 
§40310 (see §82.66) at the time of submitting the declaration. Veh C 
§40902(b); Cal Rules of Ct 4.210(b)(4). If the defendant is found not 
guilty or the charges are otherwise dismissed, the amount of the bail must 
be promptly refunded to the defendant. Veh C §40902(b). 

On receiving the defendant’s Request for Trial by Written 
Declaration and bail by the due date, the clerk must deliver or mail to the 
arresting officer’s agency a Notice and Instructions to Arresting Officer 
(form TR-210) and Officer’s Declaration (form TR-235), with a copy of 
the notice to appear and a specified return date for receiving the officer’s 
declaration. Cal Rules of Ct 4.210(b)(5), (i)(3)–(4). On receipt of the 
officer’s declaration or at the close of the return date, the clerk must 
submit the case file to the court for decision with all declarations and other 
evidence received. Cal Rules of Ct 4.210(b)(5). Testimony and other 
relevant evidence may be introduced in the form of a  notice to appear, a 
business record or receipt, and the sworn declarations of the arresting 
officer and the defendant. Veh C §40902(c); Cal Rules of Ct 4.210(f). 

After the court decides the case and returns the file and decision, the 
clerk must immediately mail the Decision and Notice of Decision (form 
TR-215) to the defendant and arresting agency. Cal Rules of Ct 
4.210(b)(6), (i)(5). The defendant may request a trial de novo by filing a 
Request for New Trial (form TR-220) within 20 calendar days after the 
date on which the decision was mailed. Veh C §40902(d); Cal Rules of Ct 
4.210(b)(7), (i)(6). The clerk must set a trial date within 45 calendar days 
of receipt of the defendant’s request and must deliver or mail to the 
defendant and to the arresting officer’s agency the Order and Notice to 
Defendant of New Trial (form TR-225). Cal Rules of Ct 4.210(b)(7), 
(i)(7). The case is closed if the defendant fails to make a timely request for 
a trial de novo. Cal Rules of Ct 4.210(b)(7). 

Although the rules state that a new trial must be set within 45 days of 
the receipt of the request, the remedy for failure to set within 45 days is 
not automatic dismissal. People v Benhoor (2009) 177 CA4th 1308, 1320–
1322, 99 CR3d 827 (trial set 57 days after receipt of notice). 

The court may deny a trial by written declaration to a defendant who 
does not file a Request for Trial by Written Declaration or deposit bail 
with the clerk within the specified time limits. Cal Rules of Ct 4.210(e). 



§82.14 California Judges Benchguide 82–14 

The court is not limited to imposing a monetary penalty in the 
amount of the bail the defendant has deposited with the clerk, unless this 
amount is the maximum and the only lawful penalty. Cal Rules of Ct 
4.210(g). 

A person who fails to appear as provided by law may be deemed to 
have elected to have a trial by written declaration on any alleged Vehicle 
Code infraction. Veh C §40903(a). Relevant evidence may be introduced 
in the form of a notice to appear, a business record or receipt, a sworn 
declaration of the arresting officer, or a written statement or letter signed 
by the defendant. Veh C §40903(b). 

g. [§82.14] Misdemeanor Provisions Generally Applicable to 
Infractions 

Except as otherwise provided by law, all provisions of law relating to 
misdemeanors apply to infractions, including jurisdiction, periods for 
commencing the action and for bringing the case to trial, and the burden of 
proof. Pen C §19.7. Application of misdemeanor law is limited to the 
specific provisions in Pen C §19.7; this code may not be interpreted as 
including the requirements of due process of law in the enforcement of 
infraction laws. People v Prince (1976) 55 CA3d Supp 19, 32–33, 127 CR 
296 (trial court not required to admonish unincarcerated infraction 
defendant of his or her right to privately employed counsel or obtain an 
express waiver of that right if the defendant is not so represented). 

3. [§82.15] General Penalties for Infraction Conviction 

Except as otherwise provided with respect to specified infractions 
(see §82.17), the penalties for general infractions are as follows: 

• A first offense is punishable by a fine of up to $100. Veh C 
§42001(a)(1). 

• A second offense within one year of a prior conviction is 
punishable by a fine of up to $200. Veh C §42001(a)(2). 

• A third or subsequent offense within one year of two or more prior 
convictions is punishable by a fine of up to $250. Veh C 
§42001(a)(3). 

A penalty assessment is added to the base fine. See §82.66. A jail 
term may not be imposed. Pen C §19.6; People v Schindler (1993) 20 
CA4th 431, 434, 26 CR2d 255. 

On factors to consider in imposing sentence, see §§82.59–82.69. 
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4. [§82.16] Infraction Charged as Misdemeanor After Three or 
More Violations 

An offense that would otherwise be an infraction may be charged as a 
misdemeanor if: 

• The defendant has been convicted of three or more Vehicle Code 
violations within one year immediately preceding the commission 
of the offense, and 

• The prior convictions are alleged in an accusatory pleading or 
admitted by the defendant. Veh C §40000.28. 

 For this purpose, a bail forfeiture is deemed a conviction of the 
charged offense. Veh C §40000.28. The one-year period referred to in the 
statute relates to the date of the conviction, not of the offense. People v 
Pickett (1981) 128 CA3d Supp 11, 15, 181 CR 97. 

If the offense is charged as a misdemeanor, the defendant has a right 
to a jury trial and, if unable to afford an attorney, has a right to court-
appointed counsel. See §82.20. 

It is reversible error for the court to deny a defendant’s offer to admit 
three prior infractions within a one-year period in order to transform the 
current charge into a misdemeanor and secure the right to a jury trial. 
People v Shults (1978) 87 CA3d 101, 103–106, 150 CR 747 (court may 
not grant prosecutor’s motion to strike the prior convictions over 
defendant’s objection). It is not error, however, for a court to deny a 
defendant’s motion to strike the three prior infractions without 
affirmatively advising the defendant of his or her constitutional rights and 
obtaining a waiver of those rights. People v Pickett, supra, 128 CA3d 
Supp at 13–14. 

5. [§82.17] Chart: Penalties for Specific Infractions 

The following chart lists infractions for which the Vehicle Code 
provides a specific penalty. A penalty assessment is added to the specified 
base fines. See §82.66. On factors to consider in imposing sentence, see 
§§82.59–82.69. 
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Veh C §§ Infractions Penalties 

2815, 
42001.1 

Disregarding traffic signal or 
direction of crossing guard. 

First offense: $50–$100 fine. 
Second offense within 1 year of prior 
conviction: $100–$200 fine. 
Third or subsequent offense within 2 
years of 2 or more prior convictions: 
$250–$500 fine. Court may also order 
license suspension for up to 30 days. 

4000, 
42001.8  

Driving an unregistered 
vehicle. 

Fine of $50–$250. 

4463(e) Falsifying a Clean Air 
Sticker; passing as true a 
false, forged or counterfeit 
sticker; or acquiring or selling 
genuine or counterfeit sticker 
with fraudulent intent. 

First offense: $100–$250 fine. 
Second offense: $250–$500 fine. 
Third or subsequent offense: $500–
$1000 fine. 

5201(c), 
5201.1 

Selling product or device that 
obscures, or is intended to 
obscure, the reading or 
recognition of a license plate; 
operating vehicle that violates 
these provisions; or erasing 
reflective coating or altering 
license plate. 

Fine of $250 per item sold or per 
violation. 

9853.8(b) Operating an undocumented 
and unnumbered vessel that 
does not comply with 
specified emissions standards. 

$250 fine. 

12814.6(b), 
(e) 

Violating restrictions on 
provisional driving license. 

First offense: Fine of up to $35; 
community service of no less than 8 
hours nor more than 16 hours.  
Second or subsequent offense: Fine of 
up to $50; community service of no less 
than 16 hours nor more than 24 hours. 

16020, 
16025 

Failing to exchange 
information, including 
evidence of insurance, with 
other driver involved in 
accident. 

Fine of up to $250. Veh C §16025(b). 
DMV must suspend driver’s license for 
1 year unless driver establishes financial 
responsibility. Veh C §16070. On 
driver’s application, DMV may restrict 
rather than suspend license. Veh C 
§16072. 

16028, 
16029 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Failing to provide proof of 
insurance on request of officer 
or traffic collision investigator 
during a traffic stop. 

First offense: $100–$200 fine, and 
penalty assessments. See §82.66. 
Subsequent offense within 3 years of 
prior conviction: $200–500 fine and 
penalty assessments. 
Court has discretion to impound vehicle 
for good cause. For further discussion, 
see §82.18. 
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Veh C §§ Infractions Penalties 

21070, 
42001.19 

Unsafe operation of motor 
vehicle proximately causing 
bodily injury or great bodily 
injury. 

Violation causing bodily injury: $70 
fine. 
Violation causing great bodily injury: 
$95 fine. 

21367, 
40000.14 

Failing to obey instructions of 
person controlling and 
directing traffic at highway 
construction site, or to comply 
with directions of control 
devices provided to regulate 
traffic. 

A willful violation is a misdemeanor. If 
committed with wanton disregard for 
safety of persons, violation is punishable 
by imprisonment in county jail for up to 
1 year. Additional penalties are set forth 
in Veh C §42009. 

21453(a), 
(c), 
21454(c), 
21457(a), 
42001.15 

Failing to stop at steady or 
flashing red light signal. 

$100 fine. 

21655.5, 
21655.8, 
42001.11 

Unauthorized use of lane for 
high-occupancy vehicles. 

First offense: $100–$150 fine. 
Second offense within 1 year of prior 
conviction: $150–$200 fine. 
Third or subsequent offense within 2 
years of 2 or more prior convictions: 
$250–500 fine. 

21712(c)–
(e) 

Driving motor vehicle while 
knowingly permitting person 
to ride in trunk; riding in 
trunk. 

First offense: $100 fine. 
Second offense within 1 year of prior 
conviction: $200 fine. 
Third or subsequent offense within 1 
year of 2 or more prior convictions: 
$250 fine. 
No violation point for conviction of Veh 
C §21712(d) (riding in trunk). Veh C 
§12810(i)(3). 

21760(b) –
(d) 

Unsafe passing of bicycle. $35 fine. 
If collision occurs resulting in bodily 
injury to the bicyclist: $220 fine.  

21806, 
42001.12 

Failing to yield right-of-way 
to emergency vehicle. 

First offense: $100–$250 fine. 
Second offense within 1 year of prior 
conviction: $150–$500 fine. 
Third or subsequent offense within 3 
years of 2 or more prior convictions: 
$250–$500 fine. 
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Veh C §§ Infractions Penalties 

21809 Failing to change lane or slow 
down when passing stationary 
emergency vehicle, tow truck, 
or DOT vehicle with flashing 
lights. 

Fine of up to $50. 

21951, 
42001.17 

Passing vehicle stopped at 
crosswalk. 

First offense: $100 fine. 
Second offense within 1 year of prior 
conviction: fine of up to $200. 
Third or subsequent offense within 1 
year of 2 or more prior convictions: fine 
of up to $250. 

21971, 
42001.18 

Causing injury to pedestrian. First offense: $220 fine. 
Second offense within 1 year of prior 
conviction: $320 fine. 
Third or subsequent offense within 1 
year of 2 or more prior convictions: 
$370 fine. 

22348(b), 
42000.1 

Speeding at more than 100 
miles per hour. 

First offense: Fine of up to $500; court 
may order license suspension for up to 
30 days. Veh C §13200.5. 
Second offense within 3 years of prior 
conviction: fine of up to $750; six-
month mandatory license suspension or 
restriction. Veh C §13355(a). 
Third offense within 5 years of 2 or 
more prior convictions: fine of up to 
$1000; one-year mandatory license 
suspension or restriction. Veh C 
§13355(b). 
Conviction carries 2 traffic violation 
points. Veh C §12810(d)(1). 

22451– 
22452, 
42001.16 

Failure of vehicle, truck, or 
buses to stop at railroad 
crossing.. 

First offense: $100 fine. 
Second offense within 1 year of prior 
conviction: fine of up to $200. 
Third offense within 1 year of 
2 or more prior convictions: fine of up to 
$250. 
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Veh C §§ Infractions Penalties 

22454–
22454.5 

Meeting or overtaking school 
bus displaying flashing red 
light signal. 

First offense: $150–$250 fine. 
Second offense: $500–$1000 fine. 
Third or subsequent offense within 3 
years of 2 or more prior convictions: 
mandatory 1-year license suspension by 
DMV. 

22500(i), 
(l), 42001.5 

Parking along curbside space 
authorized for loading and 
unloading bus passengers, or 
parking in front of or on curb 
constructed to provide 
wheelchair access to 
sidewalk. 

$250 minimum fine. Court may suspend 
that portion of fine above $100. Fine 
may be paid in installments if court 
determines defendant is unable to pay 
entire amount in one payment. 

22507.8, 
40203.5, 
42001.13 

Parking in space designated 
for disabled persons. 

Issuance of a notice of parking violation 
imposing a civil penalty of $250–$1000 
Or 
Issuance of criminal notice to appear and 
on conviction for an infraction : 
First offense: $250–$500 fine. 
Second offense: $500–$750 fine. 
Third or subsequent offense: $750–
$1000 fine. No portion may be 
suspended, except the court may 
suspend fine if defendant possessed 
valid special identification license plate 
or placard at time of offense but failed to 
display it. Fine may be paid in 
installments if court determines 
defendant is unable to pay entire amount 
in one payment. 
Additional assessments must be imposed 
under Pen C §§1465.5, 1465.6, and Veh 
C §40203.6. 
Additional penalty of $100 may be 
imposed under Veh C §4461.3. 

22523 Abandoning vehicle on 
highway or on public or 
private property. 

Minimum $100 fine. Fine may not be 
suspended, but may be paid in 
installments if court determines that 
defendant is unable to pay entire amount 
in one payment. Defendant must also 
provide proof that costs of removing and 
disposing of vehicle have been paid. 
This proof is not required if defendant 
furnishes proof that vehicle was stolen 
before abandonment. 
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Veh C §§ Infractions Penalties 

22526(a)–
(b), 42001.1 

Obstructing passage of 
vehicles by entering 
intersection or marked 
crosswalk. 

First offense: $50–$100 fine. 
Second offense within 1 year of prior 
conviction: $100–$200 fine. 
Third or subsequent offense within 2 
years of 2 or more prior convictions: 
$250–$500 fine. 
No violation point for conviction. Veh C 
§12810.4. 

22526(c)–
(d), 
42001.16 

Obstructing passage of 
railway vehicle by entering 
railroad or rail transit 
crossing. 

First offense: $100 fine. 
Second offense within a year: fine of up 
to $200. 
Third offense within a year of two 
others: fine of up to $250. 
No violation point for conviction. Veh C 
§12810.4. 

23111–
23112, 
23113(a), 
42001.7 

Littering on public highway. First offense: mandatory fine of $100–
$1000 and at least 8 hours picking up 
litter or cleaning up graffiti. 
Second offense: mandatory fine of 
$500–$1000 and at least 16 hours 
picking up litter or cleaning up graffiti. 
Third or subsequent offense: mandatory 
fine of $750–$1000 and at least 24 hours 
picking up litter or cleaning up graffiti. 
Court may not suspend mandatory fines 
unless interest of justice would best be 
served by suspending fine. When 
suspending fine, court must require 
offender to pick up litter or clean up 
graffiti for at least 8 hours for every 
$100 of fine suspended. 

23117, 
42001.4 

Transporting animal in back 
of vehicle without proper 
restraint or enclosure. 

First offense: $50–$100 fine. 
Second offense within 1 year of prior 
conviction: $75–$200 fine. 
Third or subsequent offense within 1 
year of 2 or more prior convictions: 
$100–$250 fine. 

23123 Driving while using a wireless 
telephone unless telephone is 
designed and configured to 
allow hands-free operation 
and is used in that manner. 

First offense: $20 fine. 
Second offense: $50 fine. 
No violation point for conviction. Veh C 
§12810.3. 

23123.5 
 
 
 
 
 

Driving while using an 
electronic wireless 
communications device to 
write, send, or read text 
message, unless device is 
voice-operated and hands-

First offense: $20 fine. 
Second offense: $50 fine. 
No violation point for conviction. Veh C 
§12810.3. 
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Veh C §§ Infractions Penalties 

23123.5 
(cont.) 

free. 

23124 Person under age 18 driving 
motor vehicle while using 
wireless telephone or 
electronic wireless 
communications device. 

First offense: $20 fine. 
Second offense: $50 fine. 
No violation point for conviction. Veh C 
§12810.3 

23140, 
42001.25 
 

Person under age 21 driving 
under the influence of 
alcohol. 

First offense: $100 fine. 
Second offense within 1 year of prior 
conviction: $200 fine. 
Third or subsequent offense within 1 
year of 2 or more prior convictions: 
$300 fine. 
Conviction carries 2 traffic violation 
points. Veh C §12810(d)(2). 

23222(b) Possession of not more than 
one ounce of marijuana while 
driving motor vehicle. 

Fine of not more than $100. 

27000(b)–
(c), 
42001.20 

Violation of refuse or garbage 
truck safety provisions. 

First offense: $150 fine. 
Second offense within 1 year of prior 
conviction: $200 fine. 
Third or subsequent offense within 1 
year of 2 or more prior convictions: 
$250 fine. 

27156, 
42001.14 

Disconnecting, modifying, or 
altering required pollution 
control device. 

First offense: $50–$100 fine. 
Subsequent offense: $100–$250 fine.  

27315(d)–
(f), (h) 

Violating mandatory seat belt 
law. 

First offense: maximum fine of $20; 
instead of imposing fine and penalty, 
court may permit violator to attend 
traffic violator school. See §82.60. 
Subsequent offense: maximum penalty 
of $50.  
No violation point for conviction. Veh C 
§12810.2. 

27360, 
27360.6 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Failing to use child passenger 
restraint system for child 
under 8 years of age. 

First offense: $100 fine. 
Subsequent offense: $250 fine. 
Court may reduce or waive fine for 
economically disadvantaged defendant, 
and may instead refer defendant to 
community education program on 
installation and use of child safety 
restraint. 
Conviction carries 1 traffic violation 
point. Veh C §12810(h). 
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Veh C §§ Infractions Penalties 

27360.5, 
27360.6 
 

Failing to use child passenger 
restraint system or safety belt 
for child passenger 8 years of 
age or older, but less than 16 
years of age. 

First offense: $100 fine 
Subsequent offense: $250 fine. 
Court may reduce or waive fine for 
economically disadvantaged defendant, 
and instead refer defendant to child 
restraint education program.  
Conviction carries 1 traffic violation 
point. Veh C §12810(h). 

38020, 
42001.10 

Operating unregistered off-
highway motor vehicle. 
Riding in violation of seasons 
established by §§2412 and 
2415 of Title 13 of the 
California Code of 
Regulations also is a violation 
of Veh C §38020. 

First offense: minimum $50 fine. 
Subsequent offense: maximum $250 
fine. 

38301 Operating off-highway motor 
vehicle in an area closed to 
that vehicle. 

First offense: $50 fine. 
Second offense within 7 years of prior 
conviction: $75 fine. 
Third or subsequent offense within 7 
years of 2 or more prior convictions: 
$150 fine. Court may also assess costs 
sufficient to repair property damage. 
No violation point for conviction. Veh C 
§12810(i)(5). 

6. [§82.18] Mandatory Insurance Law 

Under the mandatory insurance provisions of the Vehicle Code, all 
drivers must carry evidence of financial responsibility and must provide 
that evidence to an officer on request. The evidence may be provided by 
using a mobile electronic device. A driver who fails to provide proof of 
insurance on request by an officer or a traffic collision investigator during 
a traffic stop (that is not for the sole purpose of determining whether the 
driver has insurance) is guilty of an infraction. Veh C §§16028(a), 
16029(a); see Mercury Ins. Group v Superior Court (1998) 19 C4th 332, 
341, 79 CR2d 308 (purpose of law requiring owners and operators of 
motor vehicles to be “financially responsible” for any bodily injury or 
property damage they may cause is primarily to ensure compensation for 
their victims); see also Veh C §§4000.37 (requirement to furnish proof of 
financial responsibility to DMV on registration renewal), 4000.38 
(suspension, cancellation, or revocation of registration by DMV for lack of 
insurance coverage). The financial responsibility requirements are 
satisfied if the driver of the vehicle has insurance, even if the owner of the 
vehicle does not. Goodson v Perfect Fit Enters., Inc. (1998) 67 CA4th 
508, 512–513, 79 CR2d 102. See Montes v Gibbens (1999) 71 CA4th 982, 
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987–988, 84 CR2d 324 (employee operating employer’s vehicle need not 
establish financial responsibility); see Veh C §§16021, 16054.2 
(establishing proof of financial responsibility). 

On a first conviction for not complying with the financial 
responsibility law, the court must impose a fine of $100 to $200. Veh C 
§16029(a). If there is a subsequent conviction within three years of a prior 
conviction, the court must impose a fine of $200 to $500. Veh C 
§16029(b). Penalty assessments are added to the fines. Veh C §16029(a)–
(b). See §82.66. 

A violator who had insurance at the time of the citation but who did 
not have proof of insurance to show the officer may provide proof of 
insurance to the clerk of the court either by mail or in person. In such 
event, all further proceedings on the violation are dismissed on payment of 
a $25 transaction fee. Veh C §§16028(e), 40611. 

A violator who does not have insurance at the time of the citation but 
obtains insurance before the charge is adjudicated is eligible for the 
minimum fine. Veh C §16029(e)(1). A violator who fails to obtain 
insurance before the date of the court appearance must receive a fine 
greater than the minimum. However, the judge may grant a continuance 
for a reasonable period of time to allow the violator to obtain insurance. If 
the violator furnishes proof of insurance to the court within this time, the 
judge may reduce the fine to the minimum level. Veh C §16029(e)(1). A 
judge does not have authority to impose a fine that is less than the 
minimum or greater than the maximum. Veh C §16029(e)(1). To ensure 
continued compliance with the mandatory insurance law, the court may 
issue an order impounding the violator’s car or directing the violator to 
maintain insurance coverage for at least one year from the date of the 
order. Veh C §16029(c), (e)(1). 

If the violator claims an inability to both pay the insurance and the 
fine, or claims other financial hardship, the court may allow the violator to 
make installment payments or to pay the entire amount within a specified 
time. The court may, in its discretion, reduce or waive the fine based on 
the violator’s inability to pay, but the Legislature specifically declared that 
it is in the interest of justice that the minimum fines for violations be 
enforced. Veh C §16029(e)(2). See §82.67. In a case of extreme financial 
hardship, the court may allow a violator to substitute community service 
for payment of the fine. If the violator fails to pay the fine (or to complete 
community service), the court may issue a warrant for failure to pay or 
obey a court order, may assess additional fines, and may impound the 
violator’s driver’s license. See §§82.70–82.74. A motorist who knowingly 
provides false evidence of financial responsibility is guilty of a 
misdemeanor. Veh C §16030(a); see §82.24. 
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7. [§82.19] Remote Video Proceedings in Infraction Cases 

A superior court, with the approval of the Judicial Council, may 
establish by local rule a pilot project through December 31, 2015, to 
permit arraignments, trials, and related proceedings concerning traffic 
infractions to be conducted by two-way remote video communication 
methods. Cal Rules of Ct 4.220(a). The minimum procedural requirements 
and options for courts that conduct a pilot project are outlined in Cal Rules 
of Ct 4.220(d)–(p). The rule remains in effect until January 1, 2016. Cal 
Rules of Ct 4.220(q). 

The Superior Court of Fresno County is the only court that has 
established a remote video proceeding pilot project. For a description of 
the Fresno Court’s project, visit www.fresno.courts.ca.gov/traffic/rvp.php. 

E. Misdemeanors 

1. Overview of Procedure 

a. [§82.20] Arraignment 

An arraignment is required in every misdemeanor case. For a 
discussion of the arraignment, see §§82.44–82.47. 

b. [§82.21] Trial 

If the defendant pleads not guilty at the arraignment, a trial must be 
held within 45 days, unless the defendant waives time. Pen C §1382(a)(3). 
The defendant is entitled to a jury trial. See Cal Const art I, §16. The 
defendant is also entitled to be represented by an attorney at all stages of 
the proceedings, and is entitled to court-appointed counsel if he or she 
cannot afford to employ private counsel. See Cal Const art I, §15; Pen C 
§§858, 987(a). The judge must advise defendants in misdemeanor cases of 
their right to counsel, either individually or collectively. People v Prince 
(1976) 55 CA3d Supp 19, 24–25, 32, 127 CR 296. A collective 
advisement of the right to counsel given to all defendants in the courtroom 
for arraignment is sufficient unless there is proof of its inadequacy 
concerning a particular defendant. In re Johnson (1965) 62 C2d 325, 329–
333, 42 CR 228. See §82.99 for such an advisement. 

Misdemeanor cases are prosecuted by a District Attorney or, in some 
jurisdictions, by a city attorney. The trial of a misdemeanor case in traffic 
court proceeds in much the same way as a trial in any other misdemeanor 
case, except that it is more likely that the defendant will appear in pro per. 
For further discussion of the trial, see §§82.48–82.58. 
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c. [§82.22] Jury Instructions 

A number of special jury instructions applicable to specified Vehicle 
Code misdemeanors are contained in CALCRIM and CALJIC, including 
the following: 

• CALCRIM 2181, 2182; CALJIC 12.85, 16.890: elements of a Veh 
C §2800.1 violation (flight from pursuing officer) and §2800.2 
violation (driving with willful or wanton disregard for safety of 
others while fleeing from pursuing officer). 

• CALCRIM 2180; CALJIC 12.86: elements of a Veh C §2800.3(a) 
violation (flight from pursuing officer causing serious bodily 
injury; punishable as wobbler). 

• CALCRIM 2241; CALJIC 1.28: definition of “driver” and 
“driving.” 

• CALCRIM 2180–2182; CALJIC 12.87: definition of “distinctively 
marked” vehicle. 

• CALCRIM 1821; CALJIC 16.620: elements of a Veh C §10852 
violation (tampering with vehicle). 

• CALCRIM 2221; CALJIC 16.630–16.631: elements of a Veh C 
§12500 violation (driving without a valid license). 

• CALCRIM 2222; CALJIC 16.632: elements of a Veh C §12951(b) 
violation (failure to present driver’s license to officer). 

• CALCRIM 2220; CALJIC 16.640–16.641: definition of driving 
when license is suspended or revoked in violation of Veh C 
§14601(a), §14601.1(a), §14601.2, or §14601.5. 

• CALCRIM 2150–2151; CALJIC 16.650, 16.652: elements of a 
Veh C §20002(a) violation (“hit-and-run”). 

• CALCRIM 2200; CALJIC 16.840–16.841: elements of a Veh C 
§23103 violation (reckless driving). 

• CALJIC 16.842: elements of a Veh C §23104(a) violation 
(reckless driving causing bodily injury). 

• CALJIC 12.82: elements of a Veh C §23105(a) violation (reckless 
driving causing specified bodily injuries; punishable as wobbler) 

• CALCRIM 2201; CALJIC 16.860: elements of a Veh C §23109(a) 
violation (engaging in a speed contest). 

• CALCRIM 2202; CALJIC 16.870: elements of a Veh C §23109(c) 
violation (engaging in an exhibition of speed). 

• CALJIC 12.83: elements of a Veh C §23109.1(a) violation (speed 
contest causing specified bodily injuries; punishable as wobbler). 
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• CALCRIM 2240; CALJIC 16.880: elements of a Veh C §40508(a) 
violation (willful failure to appear). 

2. [§82.23] General Penalties for Misdemeanor Conviction 

Unless a different penalty is expressly provided (see §82.24), 
conviction of a misdemeanor violation of the Vehicle Code is punishable 
by a fine of up to $1000 and/or by imprisonment in the county jail for up 
to six months. Veh C §42002. A penalty assessment is also added to the 
base fine. See §82.66. On factors to consider in imposing sentence, see 
§§82.59–82.69. 

3. [§82.24] Chart: Penalties for Specific Misdemeanors 

The following chart lists misdemeanors for which the Vehicle Code 
provides a specific penalty. A penalty assessment is added to the specified 
base fine. See §82.66. On factors to consider in imposing sentence, see 
§§82.59–82.69. 

Veh C §§ Misdemeanors Penalties  

Designated 
misdemeanor 
violations of 
2800, 2801, or 
2803,  
42002.1.  

Failure to stop and submit 
to inspection of 
equipment or for an 
unsafe condition 
endangering a person, or 
violations regarding 
hazardous waste placards 
or number of passengers. 

First offense: fine of up to $50 or up to 5 
days in county jail. 
Second offense within 1 year of prior 
conviction: fine of up to $100 and/or up 
to 10 days in county jail. 

Third or subsequent offense within 1 
year of 2 or more prior convictions: fine 
of up to $500 and/or up to 6 months in 
county jail. 

2800.1, 
40000.7(a)(3) 

Fleeing from officer. Fine of up to $1000 and up to 1 year in 
county jail. Pen C §672. Court may 
suspend defendant’s license for up to 6 
months. Veh C §13201(d). Vehicle may 
be impounded for up to 30 days. Veh C 
§14602.7(a). 

2800.2 Driving with willful or 
wanton disregard for 
safety of others while 
fleeing from pursuing 
officer. 

May be treated as either misdemeanor or 
felony, punishable by imprisonment in 
state prison or county jail for 6 months 
to 1 year and/or by $1000–$10,000 fine. 
Court may suspend defendant’s license 
for up to 6 months. Veh C §13201(d). 
Conviction carries 2 traffic violation 
points. Veh C §12810(d)(1). 

2800.3(a) 
 
 
 

Causing serious bodily 
injury while fleeing from 
pursuing officer. 

May be treated as either misdemeanor or 
felony, punishable by 3–7 years in state 
prison or up to 1 year in county jail 
and/or by $2000–$10,000 fine. Veh C 
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Veh C §§ Misdemeanors Penalties  

2800.3(a) 
(cont.) 

§§12810(d)(1), 13201(d), discussed 
under Veh C §2800.2, also apply. 

2800.4 Driving in wrong 
direction while fleeing 
from pursuing officer in 
violation of Veh C 
2800.1. 

May be treated as either misdemeanor or 
felony; punishable by imprisonment in 
state prison or county jail for 6 months 
to 1 year and/or by $1000–$10,000 fine. 
Court may suspend defendant’s license 
for up to 6 months. Veh C §13201(d). 

4461(b)–(d), 
4461.5, 
40000.7(a)(7) 

Lending of disabled 
person placard to person 
not entitled to placard, 
and permitting its use by 
the borrower. 

Issuance of a notice of parking violation 
imposing a civil penalty of $250–$1000  
Or 
Punishable as a misdemeanor as follows: 
$250–$1000 fine and/or 6 months in 
county jail. 
In addition to or instead of fine, court 
may impose civil penalty of up to $1500 
for each conviction. 
Additional penalty of $100 may be 
imposed under Veh C §4461.3. 

4463(b), 
4463.3, 
40000.7(a)(7) 

Falsifying disabled-
person placard with 
fraudulent intent. 

$500–$1000 fine and/or 6 months in 
county jail. 
In addition to, or instead of, fine, court 
may impose civil penalty of up to $2500 
for each conviction . 

4463(c), 
4463.3, 
40000.7(a)(7) 

Displaying falsified 
placard with fraudulent 
intent. 

Issuance of a notice of parking violation 
imposing a civil penalty of $250–$1000 
Or 
Punishable as a misdemeanor as follows: 
 $250–$1000 fine and/or 6 months in 
county jail. 
In addition to or instead of fine, court 
may impose civil penalty of up to $2500 
for each conviction. 

5500, 
40000.7(a)(10) 
 

Failure to deliver to DMV 
the certificate of 
ownership, registration 
card, and license plates 
for vehicle before 
dismantling it. 

First offense: $50–$500 fine and/or 5 
days to 6 months in county jail. 
Subsequent offense: $250–$1000 fine 
and/or 30 days to 1 year in county jail. 

10501, 
40000.9 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Filing false report of 
vehicle theft with a law 
enforcement agency. 

First offense: general penalty applies. 
Subsequent offense: may be treated as 
either misdemeanor or felony, 
punishable by imprisonment in state 
prison and fine of up to $10,000, or by 
imprisonment in county jail for up to 1 
year and fine of up to $1000. Pen C 
§672. 
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Veh C §§ Misdemeanors Penalties  

10751, 
42002.4 

Purchase, sale, receipt, or 
possession of vehicles or 
components with removed 
or altered vehicle 
identification numbers. 

Up to 6 months in county jail and fine of 
up to $1000 if value of property does not 
exceed $950. Up to 1 year in county jail 
and fine of up to $1000 if value of 
property is more than $950. Pen C §672. 

10752 Acquiring, possessing, 
selling, or offering for 
sale genuine or counterfeit 
vehicle identification 
number with intent to 
defraud. 

May be treated as either misdemeanor, 
punishable by imprisonment in county 
jail for 90 days to 1 year, or as a felony, 
punishable by imprisonment in county 
jail for 16 months, or 2 years or 3 years, 
and by $250–$5000 fine. 

10852–10853, 
40000.9 

Injuring or tampering 
with vehicle. 

General penalty applies, except: Bailee 
may be given fine of up to $1000 and/or 
sentence of up to 1 year in county jail. 
Veh C §10854. Defendant may be given 
fine of up to $2000 and/or sentence of up 
to 1 year in county jail for tampering 
with vehicle modified for disabled 
person. Veh C §42002.5. 

12500(a), 
40000.11(b) 

Driving without valid 
driver’s license. 

On first conviction, court must inform 
defendant that a motor vehicle is subject 
to forfeiture as a nuisance if driven on a 
highway in this state by an unlicensed 
driver who is a registered owner of 
vehicle and has prior misdemeanor 
conviction for a violation of Veh C 
§12500(a), §14601, §14601.1, §14601.2, 
§14601.3, §14601.4, or §14601.5. Veh C 
§§14607.6, 14607.8. Exemptions to 
licensing requirement. Veh C §12502(a). 

12951(b), 
40000.11(i) 

Refusing to present 
driver’s license when 
demanded to do so by 
officer who is enforcing 
provisions of Vehicle 
Code. 

Court must dismiss charge if motorist 
produces license in court that was valid 
at time of his or her arrest. On third or 
subsequent charge, dismissal is within 
court’s discretion. If motorist produces 
temporary, interim, or duplicate license, 
court may not dismiss charge unless 
motorist also furnishes proof from DMV 
that license was issued before arrest, that 
motorist was eligible for license, and that 
license has not been suspended or 
revoked. General penalty applies. 

13004.1 Manufacture or sale of 
fraudulent DMV 
identification cards. 

$250–$1000 fine and mandatory 24 
hours of community service. Court may 
not waive or suspend fine and 
community service. 
Alternatively, up to 1 year in county jail 
and fine of up to $1000. 

14601, 
40000.11(l)  
 

Driving after license has 
been suspended or 
revoked for reckless or 

First offense: $300–$1000 fine and 5 
days to 6 months in county jail. 

Second offense within 5 years of prior 
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Veh C §§ Misdemeanors Penalties  

14601, 
40000.11(l) 
(cont.) 

negligent driving under 
Veh C §12806(a), (c), 
§12809(e), §12810.5, 
§23103, §23104, or 
§23105 when motorist has 
knowledge of suspension 
or revocation. Knowledge 
is rebuttably presumed if 
DMV has mailed notice 
of suspension or 
revocation to motorist by 
first-class mail and the 
notice was not returned as 
undeliverable or 
unclaimed. Veh C 
§13106(a). 

conviction for driving with suspended or 
revoked license: $500–$2000 fine and 10 
days to 1 year in county jail. As 
condition of probation, defendant must 
serve at least 10 days in county jail. 
Court may allow defendant to serve 
sentence on consecutive weekends. Veh 
C §14601.8. 

Under specified circumstances, court 
must, with certain exceptions, order 
installation of ignition interlock device 
on vehicle under Veh C §23575 for up to 
3 years from date of conviction. 

On first conviction, the court must 
inform defendant that a motor vehicle is 
subject to forfeiture as a nuisance if 
driven on a highway in this state by a 
driver with a suspended or revoked 
license, who is registered owner of the 
vehicle and has prior misdemeanor 
conviction for violation of Veh C 
§12500(a), §14601, §14601.1, §14601.2, 
§14601.3, §14601.4, or §14601.5. Veh C 
§§14607.6, 14607.8. 

Conviction carries 2 traffic violation 
points. Veh C §12810(e). 

14601.1, 
40000.11(l)  
 

Driving after license has 
been suspended or 
revoked for other reasons 
other than reckless or 
negligent driving, when 
motorist has knowledge 
of suspension or 
revocation. Knowledge is 
rebuttably presumed if 
DMV has mailed notice 
of suspension or 
revocation to motorist by 
first-class mail and notice 
was not returned as 
undeliverable or 
unclaimed. Veh C 
§13106(a). 

First offense: $300–$1000 fine and/or up 
to 6 months in county jail. 

 Second offense within 5 years of prior 
conviction for driving with suspended or 
revoked license: $500–$2000 fine and 5 
days to 1 year in county jail. Court may 
allow defendant to serve sentence on 
consecutive weekends. Veh C §14601.8.  

Veh C §§12810(e), 14607.6, 14607.8, 
discussed under Veh C §14601, also 
apply.  
Under specified circumstances, court 
must, with certain exceptions, order 
installation of ignition interlock device 
on vehicle under Veh C §23575 for up to 
3 years from date of conviction. 

14601.2, 
40000.11(l) 

 
 
 
 

Driving after license has 
been suspended or 
revoked for driving under 
the influence. 

First offense: $300–$1000 fine and 
condition of probation, defendant must 
serve at least 10 days in county jail.  

Second offense within 5 years of prior 
conviction for driving with suspended or 
revoked license: $500–$2000 fine and 30 
days to 1 year in county jail. As 
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Veh C §§ Misdemeanors Penalties  

14601.2, 
40000.11(l) 
(cont.) 

condition of probation, defendant must 
serve at least 30 days in county jail. 
Note: If conviction occurred within 7 
years, but more than 5 years after the 
prior conviction, defendant must serve at 
least 10 days in county jail. 

If defendant is designated as a habitual 
offender under Pen C §193.7, or under 
Veh C §23546(b), §23550(b), 
§23550.5(d), or §23566(d): $2000 fine 
and 180 days in county jail. Veh C 
§14601.3(e)(3). 

Veh C §§12810(e), 14607.6, 14607.8, 
discussed under Veh C §14601, also 
apply. 

Court must order installation of ignition 
interlock device on vehicle under Veh C 
§23575 for up to 3 years from the date of 
conviction. 

Note: DMV is responsible for mandating 
installation of ignition interlock device 
when a person has been convicted of 
Veh C §14601.2 within 10 years of prior 
conviction of Veh C §14601.2, 
§14601.4, §14601.5, §23103.5, §23152, 
or §23153. DMV will require the 
installation of an ignition interlock 
device for 1 2, or 3 years. Veh C 
§23573(j). 

14601.3 Habitual traffic offender 
because of specified 
driving history record 
during period of license 
suspension or revocation. 

First offense: $1000 fine and 30 days in 
county jail. 

Second offense within 7 years of prior 
conviction: $2000 fine and 180 days in 
county jail. 
Veh C §§12810(e), 14607.6, 14607.8, 
discussed under Veh C §14601, also 
apply. 

14601.4 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Causing bodily injury 
while driving with 
suspended or revoked 
license under Veh C 
§14601.2 

Defendant convicted of causing bodily 
injury is not eligible for any release 
program before serving minimum county 
jail term prescribed by Veh C §14601.2. 
On granting probation, court must 
require defendant to serve minimum 
county jail term as condition of 
probation.  
Veh C §§12810(e), 14607.6, 14607.8, 
discussed under Veh C §14601, also 
apply.  
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Veh C §§ Misdemeanors Penalties  

14601.4 
(cont.) 

Under specified circumstances, court 
must, with certain exceptions, order 
installation of ignition interlock device 
on vehicle under Veh C §23575 for up to 
3 years from date of conviction. 
DMV will not reinstate driving 
privileges until it receives proof that 
ignition interlock device has been 
installed as ordered. 

Note: DMV is responsible for mandating 
installation of ignition interlock device 
when a person has been convicted of 
Veh C §14601.4 within 10 years of prior 
conviction of Veh C §14601.2, 
§14601.4, §14601.5, §23103.5, §23152, 
or §23153. DMV will require the 
installation of an ignition interlock 
device for 1, 2, or 3 years. Veh C 
§23573(j). 

14601.5, 
40000.11(l)) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Driving after license has 
been suspended or 
revoked for failing to 
submit to blood, breath, or 
urine test, or preliminary 
alcohol screening, or for 
having blood alcohol 
concentration of 0.08 or 
more, when motorist has 
knowledge of suspension 
or revocation. Knowledge 
is rebuttably presumed if 
DMV has mailed notice 
of suspension or 
revocation to motorist by 
first-class mail and notice 
was not returned as 
undeliverable or 
unclaimed. Veh C 
§13106(a). 

First offense: $300–$1000 fine and/or up 
to 6 months in county jail.  

Second offense within 5 years of prior 
conviction for driving with suspended or 
revoked license: $500–$2000 fine and 10 
days to 1 year in county jail. Court must 
consider defendant’s ability to pay 
minimum fine and may reduce fine to 
less than statutory minimum in interest 
of justice and for reasons stated in 
record. 

Veh C §§12810(e), 14607.6, 14607.8, 
discussed under Veh C §14601, also 
apply.  

Under specified circumstances, court 
must, with certain exceptions, order 
installation of ignition interlock device 
on vehicle under Veh C §23575 for up to 
3 years from the date of conviction. 

DMV will not reinstate driving 
privileges until it receives proof that 
ignition interlock device has been 
installed as ordered. 

Note: DMV is responsible for mandating 
installation of ignition interlock device 
when a person has been convicted of 
Veh C §14601.5 within 10 years of prior 
conviction of Veh C §14601.2, 
§14601.4, §14601.5, §23103.5, §23152, 
or §23153. DMV will require the 
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Veh C §§ Misdemeanors Penalties  

14601.5, 
40000.11(l)) 
(cont.) 

 

installation of an ignition interlock 
device for 1, 2, or 3 years. Veh C 
§23573(j). 

14610.1 Manufacture or sale of 
fraudulent drivers’ 
licenses. 

$250–$1000 fine and mandatory 24 
hours of community service. Court may 
not waive or suspend the fine or 
community service. 
Alternatively, up to 1 year in county jail 
and fine of up to $1000. 

16030 

 
Giving false evidence of 
insurance to officer or 
court, including an 
expired or cancelled 
insurance policy. 

Fine of up to $750 and/or up to 30 days 
in county jail. Court must suspend or 
restrict driver’s license for 1 year. 
Suspension may not be terminated until 
1 year from date of suspension and until 
defendant files proof of financial 
responsibility. Suspension must be 
reinstated if defendant fails to maintain 
proof of financial responsibility for 3 
years. 

20001, 20003–
20004 

Hit-and-run causing 
injury or death. 

May be treated as either misdemeanor or 
felony, punishable by imprisonment in 
state prison or county jail for up to 1 
year and/or $1000–$10,000 fine. 
Violation resulting in death or permanent 
serious injury: 2–4 years in state prison 
or 90 days to 1 year in county jail, and/or 
$1000–$10,000 fine. Court may reduce 
or eliminate minimum term of 
imprisonment in interests of justice and 
for reasons stated in record. 
In imposing minimum fine, court must 
consider defendant’s ability to pay, and 
may reduce amount of fine to less than 
the minimum in interests of justice and 
for reasons stated in record. 
DMV must revoke defendant’s license 
for 1 year. Veh C §13350(a)(1), (c). 
Conviction carries 2 traffic violation 
points. Veh C §12810(a). 
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Veh C §§ Misdemeanors Penalties  

20002, 
40000.13(b) 

Hit-and-run causing 
property damage. 

Up to $1000 fine and/or up to 6 months 
in county jail. Court may also suspend 
defendant’s license for up to 6 months. 
Veh C §13201(a). DMV may also 
suspend defendant’s license. Veh C 
§13361(a). Court may condition 
probation on payment of restitution to 
owner of damaged property. See People 
v Carbajal (1995) 10 C4th 1114, 1123, 
43 CR2d 681. 

Case may be resolved by civil 
compromise under Pen C §1377. See 
People v Tischman (1995) 35 CA4th 
174, 176–181, 40 CR2d 650. 

Conviction carries 2 traffic violation 
points. Veh C §12810(a). 

21464 Defacing or interfering 
with traffic control 
devices; purchasing, 
manufacturing, installing, 
or selling devices 
designed to interfere with 
traffic control devices. 

Willful violation resulting in injury or 
death: May be treated as either 
misdemeanor, punishable by 
imprisonment in county jail for up to 6 
months, or as a felony, punishable by 
imprisonment in county jail for 16 
months, 2 years or 3 years, and by 
$5000–$10,000 fine. 

Willful violation not resulting in injury 
or death: Fine of up to $5000.  

Court may allow offender to perform 
community service in place of all or part 
of fine. 

21651(b), 
40000.13(d) 

Driving wrong way on 
divided highway. 

General penalty applies, except that 
willful violation resulting in injury or 
death may be treated as either 
misdemeanor , punishable by 
imprisonment in county jail for up to 6 
months, and by $1000 fine, or as a 
felony, punishable by imprisonment in 
county jail for 16 months, 2 years, or 3 
years, and $10,000 fine (Pen C §672).  
Conviction carries 2 traffic violation 
points. Veh C §12810(d)(1). 

23103, 
40000.15 
 
 
 
 
 

Reckless driving. $145–$1000 fine and/or 5–90 days in 
county jail. Court may suspend 
defendant’s license for up to 30 days on 
first conviction, up to 60 days on second 
conviction, and up to 6 months on any 
subsequent conviction. Veh C §13200. 
DMV may also suspend license on 
second or subsequent conviction. Veh C 
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23103, 
40000.15 
(cont.) 

§13361(b). 
Vehicle may also be impounded for up 
to 30 days. Veh C §14602.7(a).  

Conviction carries 2 traffic violation 
points. Veh C §12810(c). See also Veh C 
§40008. 
If vehicle was impounded at time of 
arrest and defendant was not authorized 
by registered owner to operate it, court 
must order defendant to reimburse owner 
for towing, storage, and administrative 
charges incurred to obtain possession of 
vehicle. Veh C §23109.2.  

23104, 
40000.15 
 

Reckless driving that 
proximately causes bodily 
injury. 

$220–$1000 fine and/or 30 days to 6 
months in county jail. When defendant 
has prior conviction under Veh C 
§23103, §23104, §23105, §23109, 
§23109.1, §23152, or §23153, charge 
may be treated as either misdemeanor, 
punishable by imprisonment in county 
jail for 30 days to 6 months, or as felony, 
punishable by imprisonment in county 
jail for 16 months, 2 years, or 3 years, 
and/or $220–$1000 fine. Court may 
suspend defendant’s license for up to 6 
months. Veh C §13201(b). DMV must 
revoke license for 1 year. Veh C 
§13350(a)(3), (c). 

23105 Reckless driving causing 
specified bodily injuries.  

May be treated as either misdemeanor, 
punishable by imprisonment in county 
jail for 30 days to 6 months, or as felony, 
punishable by imprisonment in county 
jail for 16 months, 2 years, or 3 years, 
and/or $220–$1000 fine. Court may 
suspend defendant’s license for up to 6 
months. Veh C §13201(b). DMV must 
revoke license for 1 year. Veh C 
§13350(a)(3), (c). 

23109(a), (e)–
(f), 40000.15 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Engaging in speed contest 
on highway. 

First offense: $355–$1000 fine and/or 24 
hours to 90 days in county jail. 40 hours 
of community service required. Court 
may suspend or restrict defendant’s 
license for 90 days to 6 months. Veh C 
§13352(a)(8). 

First offense proximately causing bodily 
injury: $500–$1000 fine and/or 30 days 
to 6 months in county jail 
Second offense within 5 years of prior 
conviction: $500–$1000 fine and 4 days 
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23109(a), (e)–
(f), 40000.15 
(cont.) 

to 6 months in county jail. If the second 
offense proximately causes bodily 
injury, the minimum county jail term is 
30 days. If the second offense 
proximately causes serious bodily injury, 
the offense is punishable as either a 
misdemeanor or felony, punishable by 
imprisonment in state prison or county 
jail for 30 days to 1 year and $500–
$1000 fine. Court may also suspend or 
restrict defendant’s license for 6 months; 
license may not be reinstated w/o proof 
of financial responsibility. Veh C 
§13352(a)(9). Court may order probation 
in suitable case. As condition of 
probation, defendant must serve 48 
hours to 6 months in county jail, and 
defendant’s license must be suspended 
or restricted for 6 months. Court may not 
strike prior conviction to avoid imposing 
minimum county jail term as part of 
sentence or term of probation, or to 
avoid revoking, suspending, or 
restricting defendant’s license. Veh C 
§23109.5(a). Court must mark any 
restriction on defendant’s license and 
notify DMV. Court may permit 
defendant to serve sentence on his or her 
days off.  
If vehicle is registered to defendant, 
court may impound it for 1–30 days.  
If vehicle was impounded at time of 
arrest and defendant was not authorized 
by registered owner to operate the 
vehicle, court must order defendant to 
reimburse owner for towing, storage, and 
administrative charges incurred to obtain 
possession of vehicle. Veh C §23109.2.  
Conviction carries 2 traffic violation 
points. Veh C §12810(d)(1). 

23109(b)–(d), 
(i), 40000.15 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Engaging in exhibition of 
speed on a highway; 
aiding or abetting speed 
contest or exhibition; 
obstructing or placing 
barricade or obstruction 
on highway for purpose of 
facilitating speed contest 
or exhibition.  

Up to $500 fine and/or up to 90 days in 
county jail. 
If vehicle was impounded at time of 
arrest for violation of Veh C §23109(c) 
and defendant was not authorized by 
registered owner to operate the vehicle, 
court must order defendant to reimburse 
the owner for towing, storage, and 
administrative charges incurred to obtain 
possession of vehicle. Veh C §23109.2.  
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23109(b)–(d), 
(i), 40000.15 
(cont.) 

Conviction of Veh C §23109(c) carries 2 
traffic violation points. Veh C 
12810(d)(1). 

23109.1 Engaging in speed contest 
causing specified bodily 
injuries. 

May be treated as either a misdemeanor, 
punishable by imprisonment in county 
jail for 30 days to 6 months or as a 
felony, punishable by imprisonment in 
county jail for 16 months, 2 years, or 3 
years, and/or by $500–$1000 fine. Court 
may suspend or restrict defendant’s 
license for 90 days to 6 months. Veh C 
§13352(a)(8). DMV must revoke license 
for 1 year. Veh C §13350(a)(3), (c). 
Court may not strike prior conviction to 
avoid imposing minimum county jail 
term as part of sentence or term of 
probation, or to avoid revoking, 
suspending, or restricting defendant’s 
license. Veh C §23109.5(a). 
Conviction carries 2 traffic violation 
points. Veh C §12810(d)(1). 

23110(a) Throwing any substance 
at a vehicle or an 
occupant of a vehicle on a 
highway. 

General penalty applies, except that 
willful violation with intent to do great 
bodily injury is a felony, punishable by 
imprisonment in state prison. Veh C 
§23110(b). 

23112.5, 
40000.70 

Failing to notify CHP or 
other appropriate agency 
as soon as possible of 
hazardous spill on 
highway caused by 
motorist. 

Treated as misdemeanor, not infraction. 
Mandatory fine of at least $2000. 

23114, 
40000.16 

Second or subsequent 
violation of Veh C 
§23114, relating to failure 
to prevent contents of 
vehicle from spilling on 
highway, within 2 years 
of prior violation. 

Treated as misdemeanor, not infraction. 
General penalty applies. 

23224 Possession of alcoholic 
beverage in vehicle by 
driver or passenger under 
age 21. 

Fine of up to $1000 and/or up to 6 
months in county jail. Court must 
suspend defendant’s license for 1 year. 
Veh C §13202.5(a), (d)(4). Court may 
impound defendant’s vehicle for 1–30 
days. 

23225, 23223, 
40000.20 

 
 

Third or subsequent 
violation relating to 
storage or possession of 
open container by driver 

General penalty applies. 
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Veh C §§ Misdemeanors Penalties  

23225, 23223, 
40000.20 
(cont.) 

of vehicle used to provide 
transportation services. 

23247(e)–(g) Driving of vehicle not 
equipped with functioning 
ignition interlock device 
by person with restricted 
license under Veh C 
§13352, §23575, or 
§23700. 

Fine of up to $5000 and/or up to 6 
months in county jail. 
If defendant’s driving privilege is 
restricted under Veh C §13352, court 
must notify DMV to terminate restriction 
and to suspend or revoke defendant’s 
license for the remainder of original 
suspension or revocation period and 
until all reinstatement requirements 
under Veh C §13352 are met. 
If defendant’s driving privilege is 
restricted under Veh C §23575 or 
§23700, court must notify DMV to 
suspend defendant’s license for 1 year. 

23573(g)(2), 
(i) 

Driving in violation of 
terms of exemption from 
ignition interlock device 
installation requirements. 

Fine of up to $5000 and/or up to 6 
months in county jail. 

23573(i) Willful failure to install 
ignition interlock device 
within 30 days. 

Fine of up to $5000 and/or up to 6 
months in county jail. 

27317 Installing, tampering with, 
altering, or modifying for 
compensation a vehicle’s 
computer system or 
supplemental restraint 
system, or knowingly 
distributing or selling 
previously deployed air 
bag. 

Fine of up to $5000 and/or up to one 
year in county jail. 

38316, 
40000.24(b) 

Reckless driving of off-
highway motor vehicle. 

$50–$500 fine and/or 5–90 days in 
county jail. 

38317, 
40000.24(c) 

Reckless driving of off-
highway motor vehicle 
causing personal injury. 

$100–$1000 fine and/or 30 days to 6 
months in county jail. 

40008(a)–(b) Interference with driver, 
driving too closely, or 
reckless driving with 
intent to capture picture, 
sound recording, or other 
physical impression for 
commercial purpose; 
endangering child. 

Fine of up to $2500 and/or up to 6 
months in county jail. If child is 
endangered, fine of up to $5000 and/or 
up to 1 year in county jail. 
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F. Notice To Appear 

1. General Requirements 

a. [§82.25] Signature Allows Release 

In most infraction and misdemeanor traffic cases, by signing a notice 
to appear on a form prescribed by the Judicial Council, the motorist is 
released from arrest and does not have to post bail. See 80 Ops Cal Atty 
Gen 111, 116 (1997); People v Monroe (1993) 12 CA4th 1174, 1180, 16 
CR2d 267 (“in the vast majority of cases the violator will not be taken into 
custody”). When a minor Vehicle Code violation is involved, the “arrest” 
is complete when, after an investigatory stop, the officer determines that 
there is probable cause to believe a traffic violation has been committed 
and begins the process of citing the violator to appear in court. 12 CA4th 
at 1181. See People v Wohlleben (1968) 261 CA2d 461, 463, 67 CR 826 
(minor traffic violation is not basis for custodial arrest). A motorist 
without sufficient identification may still be released if the officer requires 
the motorist to place a thumbprint or fingerprint on the notice to appear. 
Veh C §§40500(a), 40305(a) (nonresident offender). 

b. [§82.26] Contents of Notice To Appear 

The notice to appear must contain the motorist’s true full name, 
address, and driver’s license or identification card number; the license 
number of his or her vehicle; the name and address of the registered 
owner, if available; the offense charged; the court in which the motorist 
must appear; and the date on which he or she must appear. See Veh C 
§§40500(a)–(b), 40504(a). A notice to appear that charges a speed 
violation must specify the approximate speed at which the motorist is 
alleged to have driven, the maximum speed limit, and any other applicable 
speed limit. Veh C §40503. One copy of the notice is given to the 
motorist, one is transmitted to the court, and one is for the officer’s files. 
See Veh C §§40500(d), 40504(a), 40506. The notice to appear may also 
contain a thumbprint or fingerprint of the motorist if the motorist did not 
have sufficient proof of identity. Veh C §§40305, 40500. 

c. [§82.27] Courtesy Notice 

Each court should promptly mail a “courtesy notice” to the address 
shown on the notice to appear. The date of mailing should allow for the 
plea-by-mail option in infraction cases. Cal Rules of Ct, Standards of J 
Admin 4.41(a). In addition to information obtained from the notice to 
appear, the courtesy notice should contain the following information (Cal 
Rules of Ct, Standards of J Admin 4.41(b)–(c)): 

• An appearance date, time, and location; 
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• Whether a court appearance is mandatory or optional; 

• The total bail amount if forfeitable; 

• The procedure required for remitting bail; 

• The plea-by-mail option in infraction cases and the number of 
appearances required when a trial is requested; 

• The consequences of a failure to appear; 

• A telephone number to call for additional information; 

• If appropriate, the informal trial, trial by declaration, traffic 
violators’ school, and telephone scheduling options; and 

• If appropriate, correction requirements and procedures. 

d. [§82.28] Notice as Constituting Verified Complaint 

A notice to appear that is filed with the court serves as a verified 
complaint to which the defendant-motorist may plead guilty or no contest. 
Veh C §40513(a). If the defendant violates his or her promise to appear or 
enters a plea other than guilty or no contest, a verified complaint 
conforming to the requirements of Pen C §§948–964 must be filed, unless 
the defendant executes a written waiver of this requirement and an 
election to proceed on the notice to appear. Veh C §40513(a). 
Notwithstanding Veh C §40513(a), if the notice to appear was prepared on 
a form approved by the Judicial Council, a duplicate copy of that notice 
filed with the court constitutes a complaint to which the defendant may 
enter any plea, i.e., guilty, no contest, or not guilty. Veh C §40513(b). The 
notice to appear may be filed in place of a formal, verified complaint even 
if the defendant pleads not guilty and the case proceeds to trial. People v 
Barron (1995) 37 CA4th Supp 1, 3–5, 44 CR2d 348. See Heldt v 
Municipal Court (1985) 163 CA3d 532, 537–539, 209 CR 579 (notice to 
appear also constitutes valid complaint under Pen C §853.9). If the notice 
is verified, a warrant may be issued on it. If it is not verified, the defendant 
may request at the time of arraignment that a verified complaint be filed. 
Veh C §40513(b). 

A notice to appear that is issued on an approved Judicial Council 
form for certain violations may be received and filed in an electronic 
format. Pen C §959.1(d)–(f). 

There is no right to a verified complaint when the citation is issued 
on a form approved by the Judicial Council. See People v Barron, supra, 
37 CA4th Supp at 3–5. A defendant who contends that the notice to appear 
is defective must raise the issue before trial by filing a demurrer. See Pen 
C §§1004(2), 1012; People v Gompper (1984) 160 CA3d Supp 1, 8–9, 207 
CR 534. 

In the case of an infraction violation for a minor defendant, the 
defendant may enter a plea at the arraignment on a written notice to 
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appear. Consent of the minor is not required before a hearing is conducted 
on a written notice to appear. Veh C §40513(b). 

e. [§82.29] Continuance of Promise To Appear 

Before the date on which the defendant promised to appear (and 
without depositing bail), he or she may request a continuance of his or her 
written promise to appear. Veh C §40506.5. 

f. [§82.30] Motorist’s Signature on Notice 

Signing a notice to appear with a false or fictitious name is a 
misdemeanor (it could even be charged as a felony under Pen C §529) 
even if the original charge is an infraction. See Veh C §§40000.25, 
40504(b). A motorist who refuses to sign a notice to appear must be taken 
into custody and brought before a magistrate. See Veh C §40302(b); 80 
Ops Cal Atty Gen 111, 116–117 (1997); discussion in §82.40. 

g. Notice Based on Automatic Traffic Enforcement System 

(1) [§82.31] Initial Requirements for System 

A notice to appear may issue based on photographs of a license plate 
and driver produced by an automated traffic enforcement system (ATES), 
also called red-light enforcement. The ATES must comply with specific 
requirements, such as clear signs at the intersection identifying the system, 
proper installation and calibration, adherence to minimum yellow light 
change intervals, and regular inspection. See Veh C §§21455.5(a), (c)(2), 
21455.7. 

Signs must be posted within 200 feet of an intersection where a 
ATES is operating; these signs must clearly indicate the system’s presence 
and must be visible to traffic approaching from all directions in which the 
system is being utilized to issue citations. No signs are required for traffic 
approaching from directions not subject to the ATES. Veh C 
§21455.5(a)(1), (j) (replacement of existing signs). 

Operation of an ATES must be preceded by a public announcement 
and an initial 30-day period during which warning notices are given 
instead of citations. Veh C §21455.5(b). These notice and warning 
requirements pertain not just to the initial installation of an ATES within a 
municipality, but also to each later installation of ATES at additional 
intersections. People v Gray (2014) 58 C4th 901, 905–908, 168 CR3d 
710. However, a municipality’s compliance with the requirements of Veh 
C §21455.5(b) is not a jurisdictional precondition to enforcement of the 
red light traffic law, and therefore the prosecution need not prove 
compliance to establish a red light traffic violation. 58 C4th at 908–911. 
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(2) [§82.32] Notice To Appear 

Notices to appear for red-light enforcement are limited to the 
following violations (Veh C §40518(a)): 

• Failing to comply with a traffic signal. Veh C §§21453, 21455. 

• Making an illegal turn at an intersection. Veh C §22101. 

• Driving over a railroad crossing despite a flashing red signal. Veh 
C §22451. 

The notice must be delivered by mail, within 15 days of the alleged 
violation, to the current address of the registered owner of the vehicle on 
file with the DMV, along with a certificate of mailing, which constitutes 
evidence of service. Veh C §40518(a). An exact and legible duplicate 
copy of the notice filed with the court constitutes a complaint to which the 
defendant may enter a plea. Veh C §40518(a). 

The notice must contain the owner’s name and address, the license 
plate number of the vehicle, the charged violation (including a description 
of the offense), and the time and place when and where the owner must 
appear in court or before a person authorized to receive a deposit of bail. 
The time specified must be at least 10 days after the notice is delivered. 
Veh C §40518(b)(1). The notice must also contain the methods by which 
the registered owner or alleged violator may view and discuss the 
evidence used to substantiate the violation, and the issuing agency’s 
contact information. Veh C §40518(b)(2). 

The automated system must obtain clear photographs of the driver 
and the vehicle’s license plate. Veh C §210. Local systems may also 
photograph the vehicle entering and exiting the intersection. The 
registered owner or the person identified by the owner as the driver at the 
time of the alleged violation has a right to review this photographic 
evidence. Veh C §21455.5(g). The notice to appear often includes one or 
more photographs and may identify where to view photographs, such as a 
local website. See also §82.54. 

(3) [§82.33] Notice of Nonliability 

The issuing agency or the manufacturer or supplier of the ATES may 
mail a notice of nonliability (also called a “courtesy notice”) to the 
registered owner or alleged violator before issuing a notice to appear. Veh 
C §§40518(c)(1), 40520(c). For example, when a police officer cannot 
match the photograph of the driver to that of the registered owner, a courtesy 
notice may be mailed. 

The notice of nonliability must be substantively identical to the form 
provided in Veh C §40518(c)(1).  



§82.34 California Judges Benchguide 82–42 

(4) [§82.34] Dismissal 

If, after the notice to appear has been issued, the citing peace officer 
or qualified employee of a law enforcement agency determines that, in the 
interest of justice, the citation or notice should be dismissed, the citing 
agency may recommend, in writing, to the magistrate or judge that the 
case be dismissed. The recommendation must cite the reasons for the 
recommendation and must be filed with the court. If the magistrate or 
judge makes a finding that there are grounds for dismissal, the finding 
must be entered on the record and the infraction must be dismissed. Veh C 
§40518(b)(1). 

A citation may also be dismissed if it is based on a notice or other 
Judicial Council form that has been materially altered. Veh C §40518(d). 

2. [§82.35] Failure To Appear 

A willful violation of a promise to appear in court, or of a lawfully 
granted continuance of a promise to appear, is a misdemeanor even if the 
original charge is an infraction; i.e., it is punishable by a fine of up to 
$1000 (plus the penalty assessment) and/or by up to 6 months in jail (see 
§82.23). Veh C §§40000.25, 40508(a). The prosecutor or the court may 
reduce the charge of a failure to appear to an infraction. See Pen C 
§§17(d), 19.8(a). Appearance by counsel is sufficient compliance with a 
promise to appear. Veh C §40507. See Pen C §§977(a)(1), 1429 
(defendant may appear at arraignment hearing through counsel). 

When a defendant fails to appear, the court may: 

• Issue a bench warrant for the defendant’s arrest. See Veh C 
§40515. See also Veh C §40509.5(e) (when bench warrant may not 
be issued). 

• Treat the failure to appear as an election to have a trial by written 
declaration on any alleged infraction. See Veh C §40903. 

• Impose a civil assessment penalty of up to $300 for a continued 
failure to appear 10 days after mailing a warning notice by first-
class mail to the defendant to the address shown in the notice to 
appear or to the defendant’s last known address. Pen C 
§1214.1(a)–(b). If the defendant appears within the time specified 
in the notice and shows good cause for the failure to appear, the 
court must vacate the assessment. Pen C §1214.1(b). If a civil 
assessment is imposed, no bench warrant or arrest warrant may be 
issued because of the failure to appear, and any outstanding, 
unserved warrant must be recalled. Pen C §1214.1(c). 

• Notify the DMV of the defendant’s failure to appear. Veh C 
§§40509(a), 40509.5(a). The court must mail a courtesy warning 
notice to the defendant at least 10 days before sending notice to the 
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DMV. Veh C §40509.5(d). Until the DMV receives a certificate 
from the court that the defendant has subsequently appeared or 
otherwise satisfied the charge, the DMV may not issue or renew a 
driver’s license for the defendant. Veh C §12807(c). If the notice is 
given under Veh C §40509.5, the DMV must suspend the 
defendant’s license. Veh C §13365(a)(2). If the notice is given 
under Veh C §40509, the DMV may suspend the defendant’s 
license only for two or more violations of Veh C §40509 or Veh C 
§40509.5. Veh C §13365(a)(1). 

A vehicle owner who is not the driver also may fail to appear in 
response to an unsigned owner-responsibility notice to appear, e.g., after a 
citation is issued at truck scales because a vehicle is not properly equipped 
or not in compliance with size, weight, or load provisions. See Veh C 
§40001(b). If the defendant fails to either appear, deposit bail, or plead 
guilty, a verified complaint must be filed that informs the defendant that 
unless he or she appears in court and answers the charge within 21 days 
from receipt (rather than the usual 10 days), the court may notify the DMV 
to put a hold on the vehicle’s registration or may issue an arrest warrant. 
Veh C §§40002(a), 40002.1(a). 

3. Identification by Thumbprint 

a. [§82.36] Thumbprint 

A person may be required to provide a right thumbprint on a notice if 
he or she does not have satisfactory identification. Prints obtained in this 
manner may not be used in any database except for law enforcement 
purposes. Veh C §§40303(a), 40305(a), 40500(a), 40504(a). 

b. [§82.37] Contesting Identification 

A person may contest a charge by claiming under penalty of perjury 
not to be the person to whom the notice to appear was issued when 
identification was made by thumbprint or fingerprint. The person must 
submit a thumbprint or fingerprint for comparison with the thumbprint or 
fingerprint on the notice. The court may forward the submitted print and 
the print on the notice to the prosecuting attorney for comparison. If there 
is no print on the notice or if a comparison of the prints is inconclusive, 
the court must refer the notice back to the issuing agency for further 
investigation, unless it determines that a referral is not in the interest of 
justice. Veh C §§40303(c), 40305(b), 40500(e), 40504(c).  

This process will result in the continuance of the case and tolling of 
the speedy trial period for 45 days. Veh C §§40303(c)(2), 40305(b)(2), 
40500(e)(2), 40504(c)(2).  
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The court may make a finding of factual innocence under Pen C 
§530.6 if: 

• The prosecuting attorney or agency does not respond within 45 
days; or 

• The court determines there is insufficient evidence that the person 
cited is the person charged. In this case the court has the alternative 
of determining that a finding of factual innocence is not in the 
interest of justice. Veh C §§40303(c)(3)–(4), 40305(b)(3)–(4), 
40500(e)(3)–(4), 40504(c)(3)–(4). 

G. Notice To Correct Registration, License, and Equipment 
Violations 

1. [§82.38] When Applicable 

A notice to correct violation is issued when a person is arrested for 
any of the following infractions (Veh C §40610(a)): 

• A registration infraction. Veh C §40303.5(a). 

• A driver’s license infraction relating to possession of a driver’s 
license. Veh C §40303.5(b). 

• An all-terrain vehicle safety certificate violation. Veh C §38501.  

• An infraction involving an equipment violation. Veh C 
§40303.5(d). 

The notice to correct violation must be on a form approved by the 
Judicial Council. In addition to the owner’s or operator’s address and 
identifying information, the notice must contain an estimate of the 
reasonable time required for correction and proof of correction of the 
particular defect. This time may not exceed 30 days or 90 days for the all-
terrain vehicle safety certificate violation. Veh C §40610(d). A copy of the 
notice must be given to the motorist at the time he or she signs the notice. 
Veh C §40612. The notice to correct is generally issued with a notice to 
appear in which the motorist promises to either appear in court on a 
specified date or offer proof of correction on or before that date. 

An officer may not issue a notice to correct violation, but may take 
other appropriate enforcement action, if the officer finds evidence of fraud 
or persistent neglect; finds that the violation presents an immediate safety 
hazard; or finds that the motorist does not agree to or cannot promptly 
correct the violation. Veh C §40610(b)–(c). If a citation does not indicate 
that an offense is eligible for correction, the court may presume that the 
offense is noncorrectable. California Highway Patrol v Superior Court 
(2008) 158 CA4th 726, 740, 70 CR3d 280. 
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Signing a notice to correct a violation with a false or fictitious name 
is a misdemeanor (or in some instances could be charged as a felony under 
Pen C §529). Veh C §40614. 

2. [§82.39] Proof of Correction 

If proof of correction is not received by the issuing agency within the 
time specified in the notice, the issuing agency may deliver the promise to 
correct to the court having jurisdiction of the violation along with a 
certification that proof of correction has not been received. If prepared on 
a form approved by the Judicial Council, the promise to correct and the 
certification constitute a complaint to which the defendant-motorist may 
enter a plea and on which a warrant may be issued if the complaint is 
verified. Veh C §40618. 

If the defendant presents proof of correction to the court, either by 
mail or in person, on or before the date on which he or she has promised to 
appear and pays a $25 fee per violation, the court must dismiss the charge. 
Veh C §§40522, 40611. 

Proof of correction may consist of a certification by an authorized 
representative of one of the following agencies that the alleged violation 
has been corrected: 

• Driver’s license and registration violations may be certified as 
corrected by the DMV or by any clerk or deputy clerk of a court. 
Veh C §40616(b). 

• Any violation may be certified as correct by a police department, 
the CHP, a sheriff, a marshal, or other law enforcement agency 
regularly engaged in enforcement of the Vehicle Code. Veh C 
§40616(c). 

• Brake, lamp, smog device, or muffler violations may be certified 
as corrected by any station that is licensed to make such 
inspections and certifications under the Business and Professions 
Code. Veh C §40616(a). 

A willful violation of a promise to correct or a willful failure to 
deliver proof of correction is a misdemeanor. Veh C §40616. Most judges 
will grant a defendant a continuance to obtain proof of correction. 

H. Arrests in Traffic Cases 

1. [§82.40] Mandatory Appearance Before Magistrate 

A person arrested for a Vehicle Code misdemeanor or infraction must 
be arrested, taken into custody, and brought before a magistrate without 
unnecessary delay if he or she 
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• Fails to present a driver’s license or other satisfactory evidence of 
identity for examination by the arresting officer. Veh C §40302(a). 
This statute confers discretion on the arresting officer to determine 
what “satisfactory evidence” of identity is under the circumstances. 
The decision of whether to accept some evidence of identity other 
than a driver’s license or its functional equivalent is within the 
officer’s discretion. The officer may, but is not required to, accept 
verifiable oral assertions of identity or make inquiries to elicit this 
evidence; e.g., the officer has the discretion to determine that only 
reliable, written evidence will do, or to determine that the 
violator’s oral statements of promise to appear are sufficiently 
reliable to allow citation and release. People v McKay (2002) 27 
C4th 601, 622, 117 CR2d 236 (officer had discretion to accept or 
not accept oral identification of bicyclist; discretion subject to 
review for invalid criteria such as race or religion, but not subject 
to Fourth Amendment criteria); People v Monroe (1993) 12 CA4th 
1174, 1182–1183, 1185–1189, 16 CR2d 267 (applying statute to 
passenger in vehicle in which officer saw open alcoholic beverage 
container).  

• Refuses to give a written promise to appear in court. Veh C 
§40302(b). 

• Demands an immediate appearance before a magistrate. Veh C 
§40302(c). 

• Is charged with a violation of Veh C §23152 (DUI). Veh C 
§40302(d). 

If the charged Vehicle Code violation is a felony, the arrest 
procedures are the same as for any other felony arrest. See Veh C §40301; 
People v Superior Court (Simon) (1972) 7 C3d 186, 199, 101 CR 837. 

2. [§82.41] Appearance Before Magistrate at Officer’s 
Discretion 

When a person is arrested for one of the following violations, the 
arresting officer has the discretion either to give the person a 10-day notice 
to appear in court (see discussion in §82.37 of motorist who contests 
identity based on thumbprints) or to take the person without unnecessary 
delay before a magistrate: 

• Veh C §2800, insofar as it relates to (1) a failure or refusal to stop 
and submit to an inspection or test of a vehicle’s lights under Veh 
C §2804 or to a brake test, (2) a refusal to submit a vehicle and 
load to an inspection, measurement, or weighing under Veh C 
§2802, (3) a refusal to adjust the load or obtain a permit under Veh 
C §2803, (4) a driver’s continuing to drive after being lawfully 
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ordered not to drive by a member of the CHP for violating the 
driver’s hours of service or driver’s log regulations under Veh C 
§34501(a), or (5) a pedestrian’s second violation of Veh C §21962 
within 24 hours. Veh C §40303(b)(3)–(7), (15). 

• Veh C §2813, relating to a refusal to stop and submit a vehicle to 
an inspection of its size, weight, and equipment. Veh C 
§40303(b)(13). 

• Veh C §10852 or §10853, relating to injuring or tampering with a 
vehicle. Veh C §40303(b)(1). 

• Veh C §14601, §14601.1, §14601.2, or §14601.5, relating to 
driving while the privilege to operate a motor vehicle is suspended 
or revoked. Veh C §40303(b)(10). 

• Veh C §20002 or §20003, relating to the duty to stop in the event 
of an accident. Veh C §40303(b)(8). 

• Veh C §21200.5, relating to riding a bicycle while under the 
influence. Veh C §40303(b)(16). 

• Veh C §21221.5, relating to operating a motorized scooter while 
under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Veh C §40303(b)(17). 

• Veh C §21461.5, insofar as it relates to a pedestrian’s second 
violation of that section within 24 hours. Veh C §40303(b)(14). 

• Veh C §23103 or §23104, relating to reckless driving. Veh C 
§40303(b)(2). 

• Veh C §23109, relating to participating in a speed contest or an 
exhibition of speed. Veh C §40303(b)(9). 

• Veh C §2800(b)–(d), relating to a failure or refusal to comply with 
a lawful out-of-service order. Veh C §40303(b)(7). 

• Veh C §23332, relating to persons on vehicular crossings. Veh C 
§40303(b)(12). 

The officer may also exercise this discretion when 

• The person arrested has attempted to evade arrest. Veh C 
§40303(b)(11). 

• The motorist has been involved in a traffic accident or is 
obstructing traffic, and the officer has reason to believe the 
motorist was driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Veh 
C §40300.5. 

• The officer is a member of the CHP and has arrested the person for 
violating a vehicular provision of state law not found in the 
Vehicle Code. Veh C §40304. 
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• The officer arrests a nonresident for a Vehicle Code violation and 
the nonresident fails to furnish satisfactory evidence of identity and 
a California address where he or she can be located. Veh C 
§40305(a) (see discussion in §82.37 of motorist who contests 
identity based on thumbprints). 

An officer may arrest a motorist for committing an infraction in the 
officer’s presence, regardless of whether an accident, a traffic obstruction, 
or another event has occurred. 80 Ops Cal Atty Gen 111, 112–114 (1997). 

3. [§82.42] Procedure Before Magistrate 

When a person arrested for a misdemeanor or an infraction is taken 
before a magistrate, the arresting officer must file a complaint with the 
magistrate stating the charged offense. Veh C §40306(a). The defendant is 
entitled to a continuance of at least 5 days to plead and prepare for trial. 
The defendant is not required to plead or be tried within the 5 days unless 
the defendant waives this time in writing or in open court. Veh C 
§40306(b). 

The defendant must be released on his or her own recognizance (see 
Pen C §§1270, 1318) or on bail as fixed by the magistrate (see Pen C 
§§1269b, 1275). Veh C §40306(c); People v Monroe (1993) 12 CA4th 
1174, 1185 n8, 16 CR2d 267. For a comprehensive discussion of bail and 
OR procedures, see California Judges Benchguide 55: Bail and Own-
Recognizance Release (Cal CJER). 

4. [§82.43] Procedure When Magistrate Is Unavailable 

When the arresting officer attempts to take a traffic offender before a 
magistrate and the magistrate is unavailable, the officer must take the 
offender before one of the following (Veh C §40307(a)): 

• The magistrate’s clerk, who must admit the offender to bail for the 
full amount set for the offense in the county bail schedule. Veh C 
§40307(a). 

• The officer in charge of the most accessible jail, who may admit 
the offender to bail for the full amount set for the offense in the 
county bail schedule or release the offender on his or her written 
promise to appear. 

 When the offender has failed to present a driver’s license or other 
satisfactory proof of identity to the arresting officer, the officer in charge 
of the jail may detain the offender for a reasonable time, not to exceed two 
hours, to verify his or her identity. Veh C §40307(b). The offender need 
not be offered the opportunity to post bail before being detained for this 
two-hour period, and an inventory search of the offender may be 
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conducted incident to this detention. People v Benz (1984) 156 CA3d 483, 
487–489, 203 CR 28. 

I. Arraignment 

1. [§82.44] General Considerations 

A judge or commissioner handling a traffic court arraignment 
calendar faces unique challenges. The calendar is generally lengthy. Most 
traffic offenders appear in pro per, and many of them are having their first 
experience with the judicial system. They are, therefore, unfamiliar with 
court proceedings and may be somewhat ill at ease. In presiding over the 
calendar, the judge or commissioner must be patient, dignified, courteous, 
and fair. The judge or commissioner must handle the calendar efficiently 
and expeditiously, but must also take the time to ensure that each person 
appearing before the court is adequately informed of the nature of the 
proceedings and of his or her rights, and is satisfied that he or she has 
received a fair hearing. 

As one appellate court has noted, “the trial of traffic infraction cases 
calls for the talents of a person who understands the special societal 
function of traffic law enforcement, who is committed to its educational 
objective and who has the personal capability of dealing with people 
expeditiously, fairly, and in good spirit.” People v Lucas (1978) 82 CA3d 
47, 54, 147 CR 235. 

2. [§82.45] Calendar Call 

Traffic court judges and commissioners handle the calendar call in 
various ways. Some have prepared a videotape that is played in the 
courtroom at the beginning of the calendar, before the judge or 
commissioner takes the bench. The purpose of the videotape is to give the 
defendants an overview of their procedural rights, their options regarding 
pleas, the range of sentences, the consequences of particular pleas, the 
traffic violation points that may be assessed, the effect that a particular 
plea may have on their insurance rates, the option of attending traffic 
violator school, and how to arrange for payment of any fine that may be 
imposed. Other judicial officers prefer to cover these matters in person 
immediately after taking the bench. Some judicial officers give the 
defendants a printed advisement in place of or in addition to an oral 
advisement. An advisement that might be used in either spoken or written 
form is provided in §82.99. 

Some judicial officers have found that an efficient way to manage the 
arraignment calendar is to advise the defendants that their names will be 
called in alphabetical order and that they should have their documents, 
such as proof of registration, insurance, or correction, in hand to show to 
the court. When they hear their name called, they should come forward to 
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the podium, state their plea, and present any documents to the clerk. Many 
judicial officers call several defendants forward at a time (e.g., all 
defendants whose last names begin with the letters A through D). They 
ask the first defendant to take his or her place at the podium, and ask the 
others to line up in the aisle outside the rail. Calling several defendants 
forward and asking them to be ready to proceed speeds up the disposition 
of cases, saving time for both the court and the defendants. 

3. [§82.46] Informing Defendant of Charge and Receiving Plea 

Once a defendant has taken his or her place at the podium, the judge 
or commissioner informs the defendant of the charge, and asks the 
defendant how he or she wishes to plead. See Pen C §988. The defendant 
may plead guilty, not guilty, or no contest. See Pen C §1016. A no-contest 
plea has the same legal effect as a guilty plea, except that it may not be 
used against the defendant as an admission in any civil suit based on the 
same act. A no-contest plea is subject to the court’s approval. Pen C 
§1016(3). In traffic court, defendants sometimes plead guilty with an 
explanation, hoping to receive a reduced or suspended sentence. Such a 
plea has the same effect as a guilty plea in that it constitutes an admission 
to each element of the charged offense. 

When a defendant pleads guilty or no contest, the judge or 
commissioner imposes sentence, assuming that the defendant has waived 
the right to delay sentencing under Pen C §1449. On general 
considerations in imposing sentence, see §§82.59–82.69. On the range of 
sentences that may be imposed for specific infractions, see the chart in 
§82.17. On the general penalties that may be imposed for an infraction, 
see §82.15. On the range of sentences that may be imposed for specific 
misdemeanors, see the chart in §82.24. On the general penalties that may 
be imposed for a misdemeanor, see §82.23. 

A defendant who pleads not guilty is given a trial date. See §82.47. 
Many judicial officers generally try to discourage defendants from 

pleading not guilty to minor traffic violations such as registration or 
equipment violations. They may suggest to a defendant charged with these 
offenses that he or she plead no contest, and tell the defendant that, 
depending on the explanation for the violation, they will consider waiving 
the fine or substantially reducing it. 

4. [§82.47] Setting Case for Trial If Defendant Pleads Not 
Guilty 

When a defendant pleads not guilty, the case must be set for trial 
within 45 days unless the defendant waives time. See Pen C §1382(a)(3). 
If the defendant is not represented by an attorney, the judge or 
commissioner must explain to the defendant his or her right to a trial 
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within 45 days. Pen C §1382(c). If the defendant does not waive time and 
is not tried within 45 days, the charges must be dismissed. Pen C 
§1382(a). 

A defendant charged with an infraction may be offered the option of 
a trial by declaration, in which the defendant and the officer or other 
witnesses file written declarations with the court and the court determines 
the appropriate disposition of the case solely on the basis of these 
declarations. See §82.13. A defendant charged with a misdemeanor is 
entitled to a jury trial. See §82.21. 

If a defendant does not appear on the trial date, the court should 
determine whether the absence is knowing and voluntary before 
proceeding to trial. See Veh C §§40512.5(a), 40901(c); Pen C §1043(e); 
People v Disandro (2010) 186 CA4th 593, 601–604, 111 CR3d 857. 

J. Trial 

1. Evidence 

a. [§82.48] Accident and Police Reports 

An accident report may not be used as evidence in any trial of the 
accident, whether criminal or civil. Veh C §20013. See Box v California 
Date Growers Ass’n (1976) 57 CA3d 266, 270–271, 129 CR 146 (judge 
properly refused to admit into evidence either entire accident report or 
diagram of accident contained in report). The reason for this prohibition is 
that if the accident report were introduced into evidence, there is a danger 
that the jury would consider it to be “official” and give it more weight than 
that to which it fairly is entitled. Sherrell v Kelso (1981) 116 CA3d Supp 
22, 31, 172 CR 667. The officer who made the report may use it to refresh 
his or her recollection. 116 CA3d Supp at 32. 

The defendant may cross-examine the officer concerning the report 
and, if the officer’s statements in court are in conflict with the statements 
in the report, the defendant may impeach the officer. The defendant may 
ask the officer whether a fact stated in the report is true, and may inquire 
whether the officer asked a witness certain questions. See Evid C §771(b); 
116 CA3d Supp at 33. If, after reading the report, the officer has no full 
and accurate memory of the incident, the officer is required to read into 
evidence the statements, otherwise admissible, directly from the report. 
116 CA3d Supp at 33. The court may also permit the officer to read into 
evidence as a past recollection recorded the statement of a witness 
contained in the report that is inconsistent with the witness’s testimony at 
trial. 116 CA3d Supp at 28, 35–36. 

If a defendant pleads guilty to a Vehicle Code violation, the court 
may not receive or consider any written or verbal report of any police or 
traffic officer or of any witness of the offense, at any time before 
pronouncing sentence, without fully informing the defendant of all 
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statements in the report and giving him or her an opportunity to answer the 
report or produce rebuttal witnesses. For this purpose, the court must grant 
a continuance before pronouncing sentence if the defendant request it. Veh 
C §40806. 

b. Speed Trap Evidence 

(1) [§82.49] Definition of “Speed Trap” 

Evidence obtained from use of a speed trap is inadmissible in 
proceedings on a charge involving the speed of a vehicle. See Veh C 
§§40801, 40803(a), 40805. A “speed trap” is either of the following: 

• A section of a highway measured as to distance and with 
boundaries marked, designated, or otherwise determined in order 
that a vehicle’s speed may be calculated by securing the time it 
takes the vehicle to travel the known distance. Veh C 
§40802(a)(1); or 

• A section of a highway that has a prima facie speed limit, provided 
by the Vehicle Code or local ordinance, that is not justified by an 
engineering and traffic survey conducted within five years before 
the date of the alleged violation, and where enforcement involves 
the use of radar or other electronic devices that measure the speed 
of moving objects. Veh C §40802(a)(2). This provision does not 
apply to local streets, roads, or school zones as defined in Veh C 
§40802(b). Veh C §40802(a)(2). 

Thus, when radar or another electronic device is used to enforce a 
prima facie speed limit on a nonlocal road, the speed trap law is invoked, 
and a current engineering and traffic survey is needed to justify the speed 
limit. People v Cooper (2002) 101 CA4th Supp 1, 7, 125 CR2d 188. If a 
survey conducted within five years before the date of the alleged violation 
justifies the prima facie speed limit, the speed trap law does not apply. 
Veh C §40802(a)(2). 

A survey may be extended to seven or ten years, and the speed trap 
law will also not apply if the prosecution proves all of the following (Veh 
C §40802(c)(1)): 

• If radar was used, the arresting officer has successfully completed 
a radar operator course of at least 24 hours on the use of police 
traffic radar, and this course has been approved and certified by the 
Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST); 

• If laser or any other electronic device (e.g., light detection and 
ranging (LIDAR)) was used, and the arresting officer has 
successfully completed a 24-hour POST-certified radar course and 
at least two hours of additional POST-certified training on use of 
the device; 
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• An engineering and traffic survey that justifies the prima facie 
speed limit has been conducted within the past seven years or 
within the past ten years if a registered engineer evaluates the 
section of the highway and determines that no significant changes 
in roadway or traffic conditions have occurred (Veh C 
§40802(c)(2)(B));  

• Before the arresting officer issued the notice to appear, the officer 
established that the radar, laser, or other electronic device used to 
measure the defendant’s speed meets or exceeds the minimal 
operational standards of the National Traffic Highway Safety 
Administration and has been calibrated by an independent certified 
laser or radar repair and testing or calibration facility within three 
years before the date of the alleged violation; and 

• The accused’s speed was unsafe for the conditions present at the 
time of the violation—unless the citation was for a violation of 
Veh C §22349 (exceeding 65 mph or 55 mph), §22356 (exceeding 
posted 70 mph), or §22406 (exceeding 55 mph in specified 
vehicles). 

(2) [§82.50] Prosecution’s Burden 

In any prosecution of a charge involving the speed of a vehicle when 
enforcement involved the use of radar or another electronic device to 
measure speed, the prosecution must establish, as part of its prima facie 
case, that the evidence or testimony presented is not based on a speed trap 
as defined in Veh C §40802(a). Veh C §40803(b). Evidence that a traffic 
and engineering survey has been conducted within five years of the date of 
the alleged violation under Veh C §40802(a)(2), or within seven or ten 
years of the alleged violation under Veh C §40802(c)(2), or evidence that 
the offense was committed on a local street or road, constitutes a prima 
facie case that the evidence or testimony is not based on a speed trap as 
defined in Veh C §40802(a)(2). Veh C §40803(c). The original survey or a 
certified copy must be produced. People v Earnest (1995) 33 CA4th Supp 
18, 23, 40 CR2d 304. A mere summary of the survey is insufficient 
(People v Ellis (1995) 33 CA4th Supp 25, 40 CR2d 111), as is the 
officer’s testimony about the contents of the survey (People v Earnest, 
supra, 33 CA4th Supp at 20–21). 

If the defendant is charged with violating the basic speed law (Veh C 
§22350), the prosecution must prove either that the defendant drove at a 
speed that endangered people or property or that the defendant drove at a 
speed that was unreasonable for the driving conditions. People v Behjat 
(2000) 84 CA4th Supp 1, 3–4, 101 CR2d 193 (no testimony was presented 
on this issue and no facts bearing on this issue were set forth in radar 
speed survey that was introduced). If the prosecution establishes that the 
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speed was greater than the prima facie speed limit, the burden shifts to the 
defendant to establish that the speed did not violate the basic speed law at 
the time and place and under the existing conditions. Veh C §22351(b). 

(3) [§82.51] Engineering and Traffic Survey 

When the officer’s means of determining a defendant’s speed 
included the use of radar or another electronic device, the prosecutor must 
produce a current engineering and traffic survey to meet its burden of 
establishing a prima facie case that there was no speed trap. Without a 
current engineering and traffic survey, the arresting officer is incompetent 
to testify about the speed of the defendant’s vehicle even if the officer’s 
testimony is confined to his or her visual determination of speed. See Veh 
C §40804(a); People v Conzelman (1994) 33 CA4th Supp 6, 8–9, 39 CR2d 
156. The speed trap laws compel exclusion of all evidence of the 
defendant’s speed when the prosecution fails to justify the posted speed 
limit with proof of a timely traffic and engineering survey. People v 
Studley (1996) 44 CA4th Supp 1, 3, 52 CR2d 461. 

The survey must comply with methods determined by the 
Department of Transportation. It must consider prevailing speeds, accident 
records, and conditions not readily apparent to motorists. It may also 
consider residential density, as well as pedestrian and bicyclist safety. Veh 
C §627; People v Goulet (1992) 13 CA4th Supp 1, 9–10, 17 CR2d 801. 
The speed limit must be justified by the survey; i.e., the survey must show 
that the speed limit is just and based on sufficient lawful reason. 13 CA4th 
Supp at 9. The speed limit should be set at the nearest 5-mph increment to 
the 85th percentile critical speed (the speed at or below which 85 percent 
of the traffic is moving) unless the survey lists other factors justifying a 
reduction. Cal Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices (MUTCD) 
§2B.13. 

If the court determines that the speed limit is not justified by the facts 
stated in the survey, the speeding charge must be dismissed. 13 CA4th 
Supp at 15. If the court determines that the speed limit is justified, the 
court must then decide whether guilt is proved beyond a reasonable doubt. 

The speed trap laws do not apply to evidence of speed from a 
speedometer without the use of radar. 13 CA4th Supp at 3. 

 (4) [§82.52] Cases Involving Maximum Prescribed Speed 
Limit 

The rules and procedures governing speed traps and the use of radar 
are inapplicable to cases in which the Legislature has mandated a 
maximum speed of a vehicle, e.g., a maximum speed of 25 miles per hour 
in a school zone when children are present (Veh C §22352(b)(2)). People 
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v Goodrich (1994) 33 CA4th Supp 1, 4–5, 39 CR2d 154; People v Miller 
(1979) 90 CA3d Supp 35, 153 CR 192. 

c. [§82.53] Evidence of Actions Taken by DMV 

No record of an action taken by the DMV against a person’s privilege 
to operate a motor vehicle, and no testimony about the hearing held in 
connection with the action, is admissible as evidence in any criminal 
action. Veh C §40807. This provision does not limit the admissibility of 
testimony or DMV records (1) as necessary to enforce the Vehicle Code 
provisions relating to operating a motor vehicle without a valid driver’s 
license or when the person’s driving privilege has been suspended or 
revoked; (2) in a prosecution for failing to disclose any matter at the 
hearing that the person is required to disclose; or (3) when the testimony 
or records are introduced solely for impeachment purposes. Veh C 
§40807. 

d. [§82.54] “Photo Enforcement” Evidence 

Printed representations of computer-generated information, video, or 
photographic images stored by an automated traffic enforcement system 
(ATES) do not constitute an out-of-court hearsay statement by a declarant. 
Veh C §21455.5(e). People v Goldsmith (2014) 59 C4th 258, 273–275, 
172 CR3d 637. These printed representations are presumed to be accurate 
representations of the information or images they purport to represent. 
Evid C §§1552(a)–(b), 1553(a)–(b). In Goldsmith, ATES evidence was 
adequately authenticated at a trial for failing to stop at a red light, although 
no witness with special expertise in the operation and maintenance of the 
ATES computers testified regarding the system’s operation. The 
presumptions provided by Evid C §§1552 and 1553 supported a finding, in 
the absence of contrary evidence, that the printed versions of ATES 
images and data were accurate representations of the images and data 
stored in the ATES equipment. 59 C4th at 266–272. A police department 
investigator’s testimony regarding the independent operation of the 
camera system supported an inference that, when triggered, the system 
automatically and contemporaneously recorded the images of the 
intersection and the data imprinted on the photographs. 59 C4th at 271. 

2. Presumptions 

a. [§82.55] Speed Limits 

In an action involving unlawful speed on a highway that has been 
posted with speed restriction signs, there is a rebuttable presumption that 
existing facts authorize the erection of the signs and that the prima facie 
speed limit is the limit stated on the signs. Veh C §41100. 
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b. [§82.56] Official Signs and Traffic-Control Devices 

There is a rebuttable presumption that traffic signs or control devices 
placed in a position approximately conforming to the requirements of the 
Vehicle Code were placed by official acts of lawful authorities. Veh C 
§41101(a). Traffic signs or devices that purport to conform to the 
requirements of the Vehicle Code are presumed to comply unless 
competent evidence establishes the contrary. Veh C §41101(b). Similarly, 
milepost markers placed on highways by Caltrans and the CHP may be 
presumed to be properly placed. People v Zunis (2005) 134 CA4th Supp 1, 
5, 36 CR3d 489. 

3. Defenses 

a. [§82.57] Prior Conviction or Acquittal 

It is a sufficient defense to an alleged Vehicle Code violation to show 
that the defendant was prosecuted in a criminal trial in another state or in a 
federal court on the same act or omission, and that the defendant was 
convicted or acquitted. Veh C §41400. 

b. [§82.58] Violations Required by Law 

No person may be prosecuted for a violation of the Vehicle Code if 
the violation was required by federal law, rule, regulation, directive, or 
order (Veh C §41401), or if the violation was necessary to comply with an 
order of the governor under the California Emergency Services Act (Veh 
C §41402). 

K. Sentencing 

1. [§82.59] General Considerations 

In minor traffic cases, it is usually the desire of both the court and the 
defendant that sentence be pronounced immediately following a plea or 
finding of guilty. Immediate sentencing can be facilitated if the court 
includes in the arraignment advisement to defendants an explanation of 
“waiving time,” i.e., that a defendant may waive the six-hour 
postponement of sentencing after a plea or finding of guilty that is 
required by Pen C §1449. 

After the presentation of evidence and argument, the court may enter 
a decision immediately, in the defendant’s presence, together with a brief 
explanation of the basis for the decision. Because an appearance in traffic 
court is often the only contact most defendants will have with the court 
system, it is important that the proceedings not only be fair and just but 
also appear to be fair and just. Delaying a decision until the defendant has 
left the courtroom and notifying the defendant of the decision and 
judgment by mail may appear to be arbitrary. As one appellate court has 
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noted, an “appearance of arbitrariness is to be avoided, even in the 
crowded conditions of traffic court proceedings . . . . It is of advantage to 
the fair administration of justice that all proceedings be conducted in open 
court.” People v Kriss (1979) 96 CA3d 913, 921, 158 CR 420. 

However, there may be cases in which it appears more fair and just 
for the court to take the case under submission to consider the evidence 
presented and any legal memoranda filed with the court, or possibly to 
visit the scene. In such event, the court must advise the defendant of his or 
her right to be present when judgment is given unless the defendant 
waives this right. If the judge intends to visit the scene, the judge must 
also inform the defendant of his or he right to be present unless the 
defendant waives this right. 

The general penalties for an infraction provided in §82.15. Penalties 
for specified infractions are listed in the chart in §82.17. The general 
penalties for a misdemeanor are provided in §82.23. Penalties for specified 
misdemeanors are listed in the chart in §82.24. Suggested base fines are 
listed in the Uniform Traffic Bail and Penalty Schedule adopted by the 
Judicial Council. See §82.66. 

Some traffic courts have established informal sentencing guidelines 
for particular offenses. Judicial officers should take steps to ensure that 
these guidelines are applied consistently to avoid the appearance of 
favoritism and let the litigants and their attorneys know what to expect 
from the court. 

2. [§82.60] Traffic Violator School 

After a deposit of bail and bail forfeiture, a plea of guilty or no 
contest, or a conviction, the court may order a continuance of a proceeding 
against a person who received a notice to appear for violating a statute 
relating to the safe operation of a motor vehicle, in consideration for 
successful completion of a course of instruction at a licensed traffic 
violator school. The court may order that the conviction be held 
confidential in accordance with Veh C §1808.7, but must notify the person 
that only one conviction within 18 months will be held confidential. Veh 
C §41501(a). 

A court also has the authority to order or permit a person who holds a 
noncommercial class C, class M1, or class M2 driver’s license and pleads 
guilty or no contest or is convicted of a traffic offense to attend a licensed 
traffic violator school. Veh C §42005(a). 

The court may, after deposit of the uniform traffic school fee or bail, 
order or permit a person who holds a class A, class B, or commercial class 
C driver’s license, and who pleads guilty or no contest or is convicted of a 
traffic offense, to complete a course of instruction at a licensed traffic 
violator school if the person was operating a vehicle requiring only a 
noncommercial class C or a class M license. Veh C §42005(b) (court must 
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conform to 49 CFR regarding transportation providers); Cal Rules of Ct 
4.104(c)(1). In such circumstances, the court may not order that the record 
of conviction be kept confidential, and the record must be disclosed to 
insurers by the department for insurance underwriting and rating purposes. 
Veh C §42005(b); Cal Rules of Ct 4.104(c)(1). The conviction, however, 
must not be added to a violation point count for purposes of determining 
whether the driver is presumed to be a negligent operator. Veh C 
§§1808.10, 42005(b). 

Court-approved driving instruction programs for defendant 
motorcyclists may include motorcyclist safety courses—for example, the 
Basic Rider Course (BRC) offered through the California Highway 
Patrol’s California Motorcyclist Safety Program. See www.ca-msp.org.  

The court clerk or hearing officer must prepare an abstract of the 
record indicating that the person was convicted and ordered to complete a 
traffic violator program; certify the abstract to be true and correct; and 
forward it to the DMV’s Sacramento office within 5 days after receipt of 
proof that the program was completed or after the due date to which the 
proceeding was continued, whichever comes first. Veh C §1803.5(a). The 
record in any 18-month period is confidential, and no violation point may 
be assessed. Veh C §1808.7(a). The record is not confidential, however, if 
any of the following applies (Veh C §1808.7(b)): 

• The person convicted holds a commercial driver’s license as 
defined in Veh C §15210(a). 

• The person convicted holds a commercial driver’s license in 
another state in accordance with 49 CFR pt 383. 

• The violation occurred in a commercial motor vehicle as defined in 
Veh C §15210(b). 

• The conviction carries a violation point count of more than one 
point under Veh C §12810. 

Subject to the court’s discretion, a court clerk is authorized to grant a 
request to attend traffic violator school when a defendant with a valid 
driver's license requests to attend an 8-hour traffic violator school under 
Veh C §§41501(a) and 42005 for any infraction under Divisions 11 and 12 
of the Vehicle Code (rules of the road and equipment violations) if the 
violation is reportable to the DMV. Cal Rules of Ct 4.104(b)(1). A court 
clerk is not authorized to grant a request to attend traffic violator school 
for a misdemeanor or those infractions designated in Cal Rules of Ct 
4.104(b)(2). 

a. [§82.61] Eligibility Restrictions 

Violation that occurs in commercial vehicle. A defendant charged 
with a violation that occurs in a commercial vehicle, as defined in Veh C 
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§15210(b), is not eligible to attend traffic violator school under Veh C 
§41501 or §42005 in lieu of adjudicating an offense, to receive a 
confidential conviction, or to avoid violator point counts. Cal Rules of Ct 
4.104(c)(1); Veh C §42005(c)(1).  

Violation of specified offenses. The court may not order or permit a 
defendant to attend a traffic violator school under Veh C §41501(a) if the 
defendant receives a notice to appear as to, or is otherwise charged with, 
any of the following two-point violations listed in Veh C §12810(a)–(e) 
(Veh C §41501(b)): 

• Pen C §191.5(b) or §192(c) (vehicular manslaughter offenses). 

• Veh C §2800.2 or §2800.3 (fleeing from pursuing officer). 

• Veh C §14601, §14601.1, §14601.2, §14601.3, or §14601.5 
(driving while privileges suspended). 

• Veh C §20001 or §20002 (failure to stop at the scene of an 
accident). 

• Veh C §21651(b) (driving wrong way on divided highway). 

• Veh C §22348(b) (speeding in excess of 100 miles per hour). 

• Veh C §23103, §23104, or §23105 (reckless driving). 

• Veh C §23109(a), §23109(c), or 23109.1 (engaging in speed 
contests and exhibitions of speed). 

• Veh C §23140 (DUI under age 21). 

• Veh C §23152 or §23153 (DUI offenses). 

• Veh C §31602 (transporting explosives without proper license). 

Additionally, Veh C §42005(c) provides that the court may not order 
or permit traffic school attendance under Veh C §42005 if any of the 
following applies: 

• The offense is a violation of Veh C §§20001 and 20002 (failure to 
stop at the scene of an accident), Veh C §§23103, 23104, and 
23105 (reckless driving), Veh C §§23140, 23152, and 23153 (DUI 
offenses), or Veh C §23103 as specified in Veh C §23103.5 (wet 
reckless. 

• The offense is a violation described in Veh C §12810(d) or (e). 

b. [§82.62] Payment of Traffic Violator School Fee 

A person who is ordered or permitted to attend traffic violator school 
must pay to the court a fee equal to the applicable fine (or “total bail”) for 
the charged offense (see Veh C §42007(a)(1)), plus an additional fee of 
$49 (see Veh C §42007.1). If multiple offenses are charged in a single 
notice to appear, the “total bail” is the amount applicable for the greater of 
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the qualifying offenses. In addition, the court must impose a conviction 
assessment; for purposes of this assessment, “conviction” includes the 
dismissal of a traffic violation on the condition that the defendant attend a 
court-ordered traffic violator school. Govt C §70373(a)(2). The court may 
also charge a fee to defray the costs of any court assistance program used 
to process traffic violators (Veh C §11205.2(c)), and a fee to defray the 
costs of routine monitoring of traffic violator schools (Veh C §11208(c)). 
Veh C §42007.1(a). These fees are in addition to the cost of instruction 
charged by the traffic violator school. See Veh C §42007(a)(1). The court 
may permit payment of a reduced fee on a showing that the defendant is 
unable to pay the full amount. Veh C §42007(a)(1). 

c. [§82.63] Payment of Fee in Installments 

The court clerk may accept payment of the traffic violator school fee 
required under Veh C §42007(a)(1) in installments. Veh C §42007(a)(2). 
The defendant must make an initial installment payment of at least 10 
percent of the fee and sign an Agreement To Pay Traffic Violator School 
Fees in Installments (form TR-310), which sets out the terms of the 
installment payment schedule as agreed on with the court. Veh C 
§42007(a)(2). The court must continue the case to the date specified in the 
agreement for completing payment of the fee and submitting the 
certification of completion of traffic violator school to the court. Veh C 
§42007(a)(2). In addition, the clerk must collect a fee of up to $35 to cover 
administrative and clerical costs for processing the installment payment. 
Veh C §42007(a)(2). 

If the defendant fails to make an installment payment according to 
the agreement, the court may convert the fee to bail, declare it forfeited, 
and report the forfeiture as a conviction under Veh C §1803. The date the 
bail is declared forfeited is reported as the date of conviction. Veh C 
§42007(a)(3). The court may also charge a failure to pay under Veh C 
§40508 (see §§82.70–82.73) and impose a civil assessment, as provided 
under Pen C §1214.1, or issue an arrest warrant for a failure to pay. Veh C 
§42007(a)(3). 

d. [§82.64] Granting Request To Attend Traffic Violator 
School 

It is within the court’s discretion to grant or deny a defendant’s 
request to attend traffic violator school. Cal Rules of Ct 4.104(c)(1); 
People v Schindler (1993) 20 CA4th 431, 433–435, 26 CR2d 255. The 
court must base its decision to grant or deny a request on the 
circumstances of the specific case. Cal Rules of Ct 4.104(c)(2). If the court 
believes that a defendant’s circumstances indicate that he or she would 
benefit from attending traffic violator school, attendance should be 
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authorized. People v Enochs (1976) 62 CA3d Supp 42, 44, 133 CR 363. 
The court may not arbitrarily refuse to entertain such a request because the 
defendant enters a plea other than guilty or exercises his or her right to 
trial. Cal Rules of Ct 4.104(c)(2); People v Enochs, supra (court’s ruling 
on the request should not be affected by the order in which plea, 
explanation, and request for school are presented; judge’s policy of 
denying requests made after plea and explanation was capricious and 
arbitrary); People v Schindler, supra, 20 C4th at 433; People v Wozniak 
(1987) 197 CA3d Supp 43, 44, 243 CR 686. The court is not required to 
state on the record its reasons for granting or denying a traffic violator 
school request. Cal Rules of Ct 4.104(c)(2); People v Schindler, supra. 

A hearing-impaired defendant is not entitled to a court-appointed 
interpreter for traffic violator school. See People v Levinson (1984) 155 
CA3d Supp 13, 16 n2, 203 CR 426. 

Traffic violator schools must notify the court of successful course 
completions by posting the information on the DMV’s web-based 
database. This database allows the DMV, the courts, and traffic violator 
schools to monitor, report, and track course participation and completion. 
Veh C §§11200(d), 11205(c). 

e. [§82.65] Failure To Comply With Court’s Order 

A defendant who willfully fails to comply with a court order to attend 
traffic violator school is guilty of a misdemeanor. Veh C §§40000.25, 
42005(e). If a defendant has elected or is ordered to attend traffic violator 
school and has paid the full traffic violator school fee under Veh C 
§42007, but fails to submit proof of completion within the time ordered by 
the court (or any extension of that time), the court may, after notice, order 
that the fine paid by the defendant be converted to bail, declare the bail 
forfeited, and close the case. Veh C §40512.6(a). 

3. [§82.66] Fines and Penalty Assessments 

A traffic fine consists of a base fine (or “base bail” or “bail”) plus a 
penalty assessment and miscellaneous fees. The penalty assessment is a 
combination of assessments and a surcharge (see Govt C §§70372, 70373, 
76000(e), 76000.5, 76000.10(c), 76104.6, 76104.7; Pen C §§1464, 1465.7) 
that can total approximately 300 percent of the base fine. The penalty 
assessment is a state tax that is used to pay for a variety of programs such 
as peace officer training, a DNA identification fund, courthouse and jail 
construction, and emergency medical services (EMS). Other possible 
assessments and fees include amounts for court security, maintaining a 
record of prior convictions, and operating a night court. See Pen C 
§1465.8; Veh C §§40508.6, 42006. A separate penalty is assessed for 
every fine imposed for a parking violation infraction. Govt C §76000.3. 
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Suggested base fines are listed in the Uniform Bail and Penalty 
Schedules adopted by the Judicial Council. See Pen C §1269b(d); Veh C 
§40310; Cal Rules of Ct 4.102. Although judges in each county may adopt 
their own countywide bail and penalty schedule, they generally adopt the 
amounts listed in the uniform schedule. Courts in 30 counties can increase 
bail amounts when authorized by their county boards of supervisors. See 
Pen C §1463.28. 

Courts may obtain copies of the Uniform Bail and Penalty Schedules 
by contacting Criminal Justice Services, Judicial Council of California, 
455 Golden Gate Avenue, San Francisco, California 94102-3688; or 
online at http://www.courts.ca.gov/criminaljustice.htm. 

The fine may be paid by a personal check that meets the requirements 
of the court’s written policy governing the acceptance of personal checks. 
Veh C §40510(b)–(d). 

4. [§82.67] Considerations in Imposing Fine 

The amount of the fine to be imposed depends on the circumstances 
of the particular case. Important factors to consider are the existence of 
any prior convictions (see §82.68) and the defendant’s ability to pay. 

Before imposing a fine for conviction of a Vehicle Code violation, 
the court must, on the defendant’s request, consider the defendant’s ability 
to pay. The defendant has the burden of demonstrating his or her lack of 
ability to pay. The court need not make express findings about the factors 
bearing on the amount of the fine. Veh C §42003(c). In cases of 
demonstrated financial hardship, the court may consider waiving the fine, 
allowing the defendant to pay the fine in installments, or allowing the 
defendant to perform community service in place of paying a fine. 

A judgment imposing a fine for conviction of an infraction may 
provide for the payment to be made within a specified time or in specified 
installments. Veh C §42003(a). The judgment must contain an order that, 
if the defendant fails to pay the fine or any installment by the date it is 
due, the defendant must appear in court on that date for further 
proceedings. A willful violation of the order is punishable as contempt. 
Veh C §42003(a). 

The judgment imposing a fine for conviction of a misdemeanor may 
also order that the defendant be imprisoned until the fine is satisfied. The 
extent of the imprisonment may not exceed one day for every $30 of the 
fine and may not extend beyond the term for which the defendant might be 
sentenced for the misdemeanor of which he or she was convicted. Veh C 
§42003(b). 

At the time of rendering the judgment, the court must advise the 
defendant of the right to petition the court to modify or vacate the 
judgment during its pendency on the grounds of a change in circumstances 
with regard to the defendant’s ability to pay. Veh C §42003(e). 
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5. [§82.68] Use of Priors To Increase Penalty 

For many offenses a second or subsequent conviction carries a 
heavier penalty than that which may be imposed for a first offense. See 
§§82.15, 82.17, 82.24. For purposes of determining the penalty to be 
imposed, the court may consider a written report from the DMV 
containing information regarding prior convictions. The report is prima 
facie evidence of the convictions if the defendant admits them, regardless 
of whether the complaint commencing the proceedings alleged any prior 
convictions. Veh C §42004. If the defendant denies a prior conviction, it 
must be pleaded and proved before the increased penalty for a subsequent 
conviction may be imposed. See Veh C §42004; People v Ford (1964) 60 
C2d 772, 794, 36 CR 620. 

For sentencing purposes, a prior bail forfeiture is deemed a 
conviction of the charged offense. Veh C §42004. 

6. [§82.69] Twenty-Four-Hour Suspension of Sentence 

A defendant sentenced to a jail term for a nonfelony violation of the 
Vehicle Code is entitled to a 24-hour suspension of the execution of the 
sentence, on his or her demand, unless the court determines that the 
defendant is unlikely to return. If the court grants a suspension and the 
defendant fails to deliver himself or herself into custody for 
commencement of the jail term, the failure to appear is a misdemeanor. 
Veh C §42004.5. 

L. Failure To Pay Fine 

1. [§82.70] Misdemeanor 

A willful failure to pay bail in installments as agreed under Veh C 
§40510.5 (see §82.9) or a fine imposed by the court for a Vehicle Code 
violation within the time authorized by the court and without presenting a 
lawful excuse to the court before the fine is due is a misdemeanor, even if 
the bail or fine is paid in full after that time. Veh C §§40508(b), 40000.25. 
A late charge in the amount of 50 percent of the total initial fine must be 
added to any traffic fine that it not paid within 20 days following mailing 
of a notice that the fine has been assessed. Veh C §40310. 

2. [§82.71] Penalty Assessment 

In addition, the court may impose a civil assessment of up to $300 
after notice to the defendant. Pen C §1214.1(a). The assessment does not 
become effective until at least ten days after the court mails a warning 
notice to the defendant by first-class mail to the address shown on the 
notice to appear or to the defendant’s last known address. If the defendant 
appears within the time specified in the notice and shows good cause for 
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the failure to pay the fine or installment of bail, the court must vacate the 
assessment. Pen C §1214.1(b). If a civil assessment is imposed, no bench 
warrant or arrest warrant may be issued with respect to the failure to pay 
the fine or installment of bail, and any outstanding, unserved warrant must 
be recalled. Pen C §1214.1(c). 

3. [§82.72] Notice to DMV 

The court may notify the DMV of the defendant’s willful failure to 
pay a lawfully imposed fine or to pay bail in installments, as agreed under 
Veh C §40510.5 (see §82.9), within the time authorized by the court. See 
Veh C §§40509(b), 40509.5(b). Until the DMV receives a certificate from 
the court that the defendant has subsequently paid the fine in full, the 
DMV may not issue or renew a driver’s license for the defendant. Veh C 
§12807(c). When the DMV receives notice of two or more violations 
under Veh C §40509 for a particular defendant, it must suspend the 
defendant’s license until it receives certificates indicating that the 
violations have been satisfied. Veh C §13365. 

4. [§82.73] Impoundment of License 

If a defendant convicted of an infraction fails to pay bail in 
installments, as agreed under Veh C §40510.5 (§82.9), or to pay a fine or 
any installment of a fine within the time authorized by a judge, the court 
may impound the defendant’s driver’s license and order the defendant not 
to drive for up to 30 days. Veh C §40508(d). The court must endorse on 
the reverse side of the license that the defendant has been ordered not to 
drive, the period for which the order is made, and the name of the court 
making the order. If the defendant has a class C or M driver’s license and 
satisfies the court that impounding the license and ordering the defendant 
not to drive would affect his or her livelihood, the court may limit the 
defendant’s driving to what the court determines is essential for the 
defendant’s employment, for up to 30 days. Veh C §40508(d). A violation 
of the order constitutes contempt of court. Veh C §40508(d). The court 
must notify the DMV of the impoundment or limitation within five days of 
the order. Veh C §1803(c). 

M. [§82.74] Failure To Comply With Court Order 

A willful failure to comply with a court order concerning a Vehicle 
Code violation—e.g., an order to attend traffic school or to perform 
community service instead of paying a fine—is a misdemeanor regardless 
of subsequent compliance with the order. Veh C §40508(c). When a 
defendant has willfully failed to comply with a court order, except a 
failure to appear, to pay a fine, or to attend traffic violator school, the 
court may notify the DMV of this fact. Veh C §40509.1. 
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N. License Suspension or Revocation 

1. By Court 

a. [§82.75] Grounds for Suspension or Revocation 

The court has the authority to suspend or revoke the driver’s license 
of a defendant who is convicted of certain traffic violations. Provisions 
concerning specified misdemeanor violations are discussed in §82.24. In 
addition, the court has the authority to suspend or revoke a defendant’s 
license under the following provisions: 

• Excessive speed. Whenever a person is convicted of a violation of 
any provision of the Vehicle Code relating to the speed of vehicles, 
the court may suspend the person’s license for up to 30 days on a 
first conviction, up to 60 days on a second conviction, or up to six 
months on any subsequent conviction, unless the Vehicle Code 
mandates revocation by the DMV. Veh C §13200. 

• Insurance fraud. The court may suspend or restrict for up to six 
months the license of any person who knowingly causes or 
participates in a vehicular collision for the purpose of presenting a 
fraudulent insurance claim. Veh C §13201(e). 

• Prostitution. The court may suspend for up to 30 days the license 
of a person convicted under Pen C §647(b) of soliciting or 
engaging in prostitution when the violation was committed with 
the use of a vehicle within 1000 feet of a private residence. Veh C 
§13201.5(a). The court may also suspend for up to 30 days the 
license of a person convicted under Pen C §647(a), if a peace 
officer witnessed the violator picking up a person who was 
loitering with the intent to commit prostitution and the violator 
engaged in a lewd act with that person within 1000 feet of a private 
residence and with the use of a vehicle. Veh C §13201.5(b). In 
either case, instead of ordering a license suspension, the court may 
restrict the violator’s license for up to six months, except for travel 
to and from the violator’s place of employment or education. Veh 
C §13201.5(c). 

• Controlled substances. The court may suspend or order the DMV 
to revoke for up to three years the license of a person convicted of 
any offense related to controlled substances, as defined in Health 
& S C §§11000–11651, when use of a motor vehicle was involved 
in or incidental to the commission of the offense. Veh C 
§13202(a), (c). The court must order the DMV to revoke for up to 
three years the license of a person convicted of violating Health & 
S C §11350, §11351, §11352, §11353, §11357, §11359, §11360, 
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or §11361, when a motor vehicle was involved in or incidental to 
the commission of the offense. Veh C §13202(b)–(c). 

• Alcohol offense. The court must suspend for one year the license of 
a person under age 21 who is convicted of a drug- or alcohol- 
related offense specified in Veh C §13202.5(d). Veh C 
§13202.5(a). The court may also require the installation of a 
certified ignition interlock device. Veh C §13202.8. 

• Road rage. The court may suspend the license of any person 
convicted of “road rage” under Pen C §245(a) for six months for a 
first offense or for one year for a subsequent offense. Veh C 
§13210. It is within the court’s discretion to order the 
commencement of the suspension either on the date of the person’s 
conviction or on the person’s release from confinement or 
imprisonment. Veh C §13210. In place of or in addition to the 
suspension, the court may order the person to complete a court-
approved anger management or “road rage” course. Veh C §13210. 
On receipt of a duly certified abstract of a court record showing 
that the court has ordered the suspension of the person’s license, 
the DMV must suspend the license in accordance with the order. 
Veh C §13351.8. 

The court may suspend or revoke a defendant’s license only if 
suspension or revocation is specifically permitted by statute. People v 
Harper (2000) 82 CA4th 1413, 1419–1420, 98 CR2d 894. 

For purposes of suspension or revocation, a plea of no contest, a 
guilty plea, a judgment of guilty (whether or not probation is granted), or a 
bail forfeiture is a conviction. Veh C §13103. 

The court may suspend or revoke the privilege of a nonresident to 
operate a vehicle in this state under any of the provisions of the Vehicle 
Code that give the court the authority to suspend or revoke the license of a 
resident. Veh C §13205. 

The court may not suspend or restrict a defendant’s license for a 
period of time longer than that specified in the Vehicle Code. Veh C 
§13203. 

b. [§82.76] Surrender of License to Court 

When the court suspends a defendant’s license, the court must require 
the defendant to surrender the license to the court. Veh C §13206. A 
suspension applies to all driver’s licenses held by the defendant, and all 
licenses must be surrendered to the court. Veh C §13207. Failure to 
surrender the licenses constitutes an infraction. See Veh C §40000.1. The 
court may also caution the defendant that driving after his or her license 
has been suspended is a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine and/or a jail 
sentence. See Veh C §§14601.1, 40000.11(l). 
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If the defendant is convicted of an offense for which the DMV must 
suspend or revoke the defendant’s license, the court must forward the 
license to the DMV with a report of the conviction within ten days after 
conviction. Veh C §13550. In all other cases, the court retains the license 
during the suspension period and returns it to the defendant at the end of 
the period, after endorsing the record of suspension on it. Veh C §13206. 

c. [§82.77] Recommendation to DMV 

In a criminal proceeding, without regard to its disposition, in which 
the defendant is charged with a violation of Veh C §§21000–23336, the 
court may, if it has reason to believe that any of the conditions for refusing 
to issue or renew a license specified in Veh C §12805 or §12806 exists, 
recommend to the DMV that an investigation be conducted to determine 
whether the defendant’s license should be suspended or revoked. The 
court must state the basis for its belief that the condition exists and must 
state whether the defendant relied on the condition as part of his or her 
defense. Veh C §13208. 

2. By DMV 

a. [§82.78] Grounds for Suspension or Revocation 

The DMV has authority to suspend or revoke the driver’s license of a 
defendant who is convicted of certain traffic violations. Provisions 
concerning specified infractions are discussed in §82.17. Provisions 
concerning specified misdemeanors are discussed in §82.24. In addition, 
under the following provisions the DMV: 

• Must revoke for one year the license of a person convicted of 
reckless driving causing bodily injury. Veh C §13350(a)(3). 

• May suspend the license of a person convicted of a second or 
subsequent offense of reckless driving. Veh C §13361(b). 

• Must revoke for three years the license of a person convicted of 
manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle. Veh 
C §13351(a)(1), (b). 

• Must revoke for three years the license of a person convicted of 
three or more violations of Veh C §20001, §20002, §23103, 
§23104, or §23105 within a 12-month period. Veh C §13351(a)(2), 
(b). 

• Must revoke for three years the license of a person convicted of a 
violation of Pen C §191.5(a), Pen C §192.5(a), or Veh C §2800.3 
causing serious bodily injury that results in a serious impairment of 
physical condition. Veh C §13351(a)(3), (b). 
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• May suspend the license of a person convicted of manslaughter 
resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle under Pen C 
§192(c)(2). Veh C §13361(c). 

• Must suspend the license of a person who has failed for a period of 
30 days to satisfy a judgment rendered against him or her for 
property damage of more than $750 or for injury or death resulting 
from the person’s operation of a motor vehicle. Veh C §§16250–
16251, 16370. The suspension remains in effect until the judgment 
is satisfied in full and the person gives proof of insurance. Veh C 
§16371. 

When the DMV is required to suspend or revoke a defendant’s 
license for a conviction of violating the Vehicle Code, the suspension or 
revocation begins on a plea, finding, or verdict of guilty. Veh C §13366. 
Any plea or verdict of guilty, plea of no contest, finding of guilty in a trial 
without a jury, or bail forfeiture is deemed a conviction for purposes of 
imposing a license suspension or revocation, notwithstanding subsequent 
action under Pen C §1203.4 or §1203.4a allowing withdrawal of a guilty 
plea, setting aside a verdict of guilty, or dismissing an accusation or 
information. Veh C §13375. See §82.82. 

Except as otherwise specifically provided, a license suspension by the 
DMV may not exceed six months. However, the DMV may suspend a 
license for up to 12 months in those cases in which a discretionary 
revocation is authorized. Veh C §13556(a). 

The DMV may suspend or revoke the privilege of a nonresident to 
operate a vehicle in this state under any of the provisions of the Vehicle 
Code that give the DMV the authority to suspend or revoke the license of 
a resident. Veh C §13552(a). A nonresident who operates a motor vehicle 
on a highway in this state after his or her privilege to do so has been 
suspended or revoked is in violation of Veh C §14601 or §14601.1. Veh C 
§13552(b). 

If the DMV receives notification of an administrative action or 
conviction of a commercial licenseholder in a state, territory, or possession 
of the United States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of 
Puerto Rico, or the Dominion of Canada, the department must impose a 
suspension, revocation, or disqualification action on that person’s 
commercial driving privilege based on violations that would result in an 
administrative action or a conviction under California law. Veh C §15326. 
Further discussion of commercial licenses is beyond the scope of this 
publication. 

b. [§82.79] Traffic Violation Point Counts 

The DMV may suspend or revoke the driver’s license of a person 
whose driving record shows four or more traffic violation points in 12 
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months, six or more points in 24 months, or eight or more points in 36 
months. See Veh C §12810.5(a), (c). Certain misdemeanor violations of 
the Vehicle Code are given specified traffic violation point counts. See 
§82.24. Any conviction of reckless driving carries two traffic violation 
points. Veh C §12810(c). A motorist is given one point for any accident 
for which he or she is responsible. Veh C §12810(g). Any other traffic 
violation involving the safe operation of a vehicle carries one traffic 
violation point (Veh C §12810(f)), with specified exceptions (Veh C 
§12810(i)). 

c. [§82.80] Surrender of License to DMV 

When the DMV suspends or revokes a defendant’s license, the 
suspension or revocation applies to all driver’s licenses held by the 
defendant. Veh C §13551(a). The defendant must surrender all those 
licenses to the DMV not already surrendered to the court. The DMV must 
return the licenses to the defendant, or may issue the defendant new 
licenses, when the period of suspension or revocation expires, if the 
defendant is otherwise eligible for a driver’s license. Veh C §13551(a). 

3. [§82.81] Unlicensed Driver 

When a court or the DMV suspends or revokes the privilege of any 
person to operate a motor vehicle and the person does not hold a valid 
driver’s license or has never applied for or received a driver’s license in 
California, the person is subject to all the penalties and disabilities 
provided in the Vehicle Code for a violation of the terms and conditions of 
a license suspension or revocation. Veh C §13553. For example, a police 
officer may arrest a person for driving with a suspended or revoked license 
and impound the vehicle. Veh C §14602.6(a)(1); California Highway 
Patrol v Superior Court (2008) 162 CA4th 1144, 1150–1152, 76 CR3d 
578. 

4. [§82.82] Termination of Probation and Dismissal of Charges 

A termination of probation and dismissal of charges under Pen C 
§1203.4 or a dismissal of charges under Pen C §1203.4a does not affect 
any revocation or suspension of a defendant’s driver’s license by the court 
or the DMV. The defendant’s prior conviction is considered a conviction 
for the purpose of revoking, suspending, or restricting the defendant’s 
license on the ground of two or more convictions. Veh C §13555. 

5. [§82.83] Judicial Review of DMV Revocation or Suspension 

A court of competent jurisdiction may review any order of the DMV 
refusing, canceling, suspending, or revoking a driver’s license. Veh C 
§14400. Any action seeking judicial review must be filed within 90 days 
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of notice of the order. Veh C §14401(a). On final completion of all 
administrative appeals, the DMV must give written notice of the right to 
seek judicial review of the its decision to the person whose license was 
refused, canceled, suspended, or revoked. Veh C §14401(b). 

O. Appeal of Infraction or Misdemeanor Conviction 

1. [§82.84] Defendant’s Right To Appeal 

A defendant may appeal a conviction on a Vehicle Code infraction or 
misdemeanor to the appellate division of the superior court. The notice of 
appeal must be filed within 30 days of the conviction. See Cal Rules of Ct 
8.853(a), 8.902(a), 8.850(a) (misdemeanor cases defined). An appeal does 
not stay execution of the sentence unless the trial judge or the appellate 
division so orders. The granting or refusal of a stay is discretionary. See 
Pen C §1467. 

2. [§82.85] Record on Appeal in General 

The record on appeal generally is governed by Cal Rules of Ct 8.860 
(misdemeanor cases) and 8.910 (infraction cases). The normal record on 
appeal includes a record of the written documents from the trial court 
proceedings, often in the form of a clerk’s transcript. Cal Rules of Ct 
8.860(a)(1)(A), 8.910(a)(1)(A); see Cal Rules of Ct 8.861, 8.862, 8.867, 
8.912, 8.913, 8.920. Or, if permitted by local rule, the record of written 
documents may consist of the original trial court file. Cal Rules of Ct 
8.860(a)(1)(B), 8.910(a)(1)(B); see Cal Rules of Ct 8.863, 8.914. 

If an appellant wants to raise any issue that requires consideration of 
the oral proceedings in the trial court, the record on appeal must include a 
record of the oral proceedings, which may be in the form of a statement on 
appeal. Cal Rules of Ct 8.860(a)(2)(C), 8.910(a)(2)(A). A statement on 
appeal is a summary of the trial court proceedings that is approved by the 
trial court. Cal Rules of Ct 8.869(a), 8.916(a). Alternatively, a record of 
oral proceedings may be in the form of an official electronic recording if 
permitted by local rule, a reporter’s transcript, or a transcript prepared 
from an official electronic recording. Cal Rules of Ct 8.860(a)(2)(A)–(B), 
8.910(a)(2)(B)–(C); see Cal Rules of Ct 8.865–8.868, 8.917–8.920. 

If, before the record is certified, the appellant and the respondent 
stipulate in writing that any part of the record is not required for proper 
determination of the appeal and file that stipulation in the trial court, that 
part of the record must not be prepared or sent to the appellate division. 
Cal Rules of Ct 8.860(b), 8.910(b). 

3. [§82.86] Election of Record 

The appellant must notify the trial court whether he or she elects to 
proceed with or without a record of the oral proceedings in the trial court. 
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If the appellant elects to proceed with a record of oral proceedings, the 
notice must specify which form of the record of the oral proceedings the 
appellant elects to use. Cal Rules of Ct 8.864(a), 8.915(a). For infractions, 
the election must be filed with the notice of appeal. Cal Rules of Ct 
8.915(b). For misdemeanors, the election must be filed either within 10 
days after appointment of counsel or denial of appointment or within 20 
days after the notice of appeal is filed, whichever is later, or—if no 
application for appointment of counsel is filed—within 20 days after the 
notice of appeal is filed. Cal Rules of Ct 8.864(b). The election may be 
made on Judicial Council form CR-134 (misdemeanors) or CR-142 
(infractions). 

Infraction cases. If the appellant does not file an election within the 
time specified in Cal Rules of Ct 8.915(b), the trial court clerk must 
promptly notify the appellant by mail that the election must be filed within 
15 days after the notice is mailed. Cal Rules of Ct 8.915(c), 8.924. If the 
defendant fails to comply, the trial court clerk must promptly notify the 
appellate division of the default and the appellate division may proceed on 
the clerk’s transcript or other record of the written documents from the 
trial court proceedings. Cal Rules of Ct 8.924. 

Misdemeanor cases. If the appellant does not file an election within 
the time specified in Cal Rules of Ct 8.864(b), the trial court clerk must 
promptly notify the appellant by mail that the election must be filed within 
15 days after the notice is mailed. Cal Rules of Ct 8.864(c), 8.874(a). If 
the defendant fails to comply, the trial court clerk must promptly notify 
the appellate division of the default, and the appellate division may impose 
sanctions under Cal Rules of Ct 8.874. 

4. [§82.87] Reporter’s Transcript or Electronic Recording 

If the appellant elects to use a reporter’s transcript, a transcript 
prepared from an official electronic recording, or the recording itself, the 
court clerk must notify the appellant within 10 days after the appellant 
files this election if any portion of the oral proceedings was not reported or 
officially recorded electronically or cannot be transcribed. The notice must 
indicate that the appellant may use a statement on appeal as the record of 
this portion of the proceedings. Cal Rules of Ct 8.864(d)(1), 8.915(d)(1). 
Within 15 days after this notice is mailed by the clerk, the appellant must 
serve and file a notice with the court stating whether the appellant elects to 
use a statement on appeal as the record of the portion of the proceedings 
that was not recorded or cannot be transcribed. Cal Rules of Ct 
8.864(d)(2), 8.915(d)(2). 
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5. Statement on Appeal 

a. [§82.88] Preparing the Proposed Statement 

If the appellant elects to use a statement on appeal, the appellant must 
prepare and file a proposed statement within 20 days after filing the record 
preparation election. If the defendant is the appellant and the prosecuting 
attorney appeared in the case, the defendant must serve a copy of the 
proposed statement on the prosecuting attorney. Cal Rules of Ct 
8.869(b)(1), 8.916(b)(1). Appellants who are not represented by an 
attorney must file their proposed statements on Judicial Council form CR-
135 (misdemeanors) or CR-143 (infractions). For good cause, the court 
may permit the filing of a statement on another form. Cal Rules of Ct 
8.869(b)(2), 8.916(b)(2). 

b. [§82.89] Contents of Proposed Statement 

The proposed statement must contain the following: 

• The points the appellant is raising on appeal. The appeal is limited 
to those points unless the appellate division determines that the 
record permits full consideration of another point. Cal Rules of Ct 
8.869(c)(1), 8.916(c)(1). 

— The statement must specify the intended grounds of appeal by 
clearly stating each point to be raised but need not identify 
each particular ruling or matter to be challenged. 

— If one of the grounds is insufficiency of the evidence, the 
statement must specify how the evidence is insufficient. Cal 
Rules of Ct 8.869(c)(1), 8.916(c)(1). 

• A summary of the trial court’s rulings and the sentence imposed on 
the defendant. Cal Rules of Ct 8.869(c)(2), 8.916(c)(2). 

• A condensed narrative of the oral proceedings that the appellant 
believes necessary for the appeal. The condensed narrative must 
include a concise factual summary of the evidence and witness 
testimony that are relevant to the points being raised on appeal. 
Any evidence or portion of a proceeding not included will be 
presumed to support the judgment or order appealed from. Cal 
Rules of Ct 8.869(c)(3)(A), 8.916(c)(3). If one of the grounds of 
appeal challenges the giving, refusal, or modification of a jury 
instruction in a misdemeanor case, the condensed narrative must 
include any instructions submitted orally and not in writing, and 
must identify the party that requested the instruction and any 
modification. Cal Rules of Ct 8.869(c)(3)(B). 
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c. [§82.90] Review of Proposed Statement 

Within 10 days after the appellant files the proposed statement, the 
respondent may serve and file proposed amendments. Cal Rules of Ct 
8.869(d)(1), 8.916(d)(1). No later than 10 days after the respondent files 
proposed amendments or after the time to do so expires, a party may 
request a hearing to review and correct the proposed statement. No hearing 
will be held unless ordered by the trial court judge, and the judge will not 
ordinarily order a hearing unless there is a factual dispute about a material 
aspect of the trial court proceedings. Cal Rules of Ct 8.869(d)(2), 
8.916(d)(2). 

 If no hearing is ordered, the trial court judge must review the 
proposed statement and any proposed amendments and must take one of 
the following actions no later than 10 days after the time for requesting a 
hearing expires (Cal Rules of Ct 8.869(d)(3), 8.916(d)(3)): 

• If the proposed statement does not contain the material required 
under Cal Rules of Ct 8.869(c) or 8.916(c), the trial court judge 
may order the appellant to prepare a new proposed statement. The 
order must identify the additional material that must be included in 
the statement and the date by which the new proposed statement 
must be served and filed. If the appellant does not serve and file a 
new proposed statement as directed, the court may impose 
sanctions under Cal Rules of Ct 8.874 (misdemeanors) or 8.924 
(infractions). 

• If the trial court judge does not order the preparation of a new 
proposed statement, the trial court judge must either: 

— Make any corrections or modifications to the statement 
necessary to ensure that it is an accurate summary of the 
evidence and witness testimony that are relevant to the points 
which the appellant states are being raised on appeal; or 

— Identify the necessary corrections and modifications and order 
the appellant to prepare a statement incorporating these 
corrections and modifications. 

If a hearing is ordered, the court must promptly set the hearing date 
and provide the parties with at least 5 days' written notice of the hearing 
date. Cal Rules of Ct 8.869(d)(4), 8.916(d)(4). No later than 10 days after 
the hearing, the trial court judge must either (Cal Rules of Ct 8.869(d)(4), 
8.916(d)(4)): 

• Make any corrections or modifications to the statement necessary 
to ensure that it is an accurate summary of the evidence and 
witness testimony that are relevant to the points which the 
appellant states are being raised on appeal; or  
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• Identify the necessary corrections and modifications and order the 
appellant to prepare a statement incorporating these corrections 
and modifications. 

Alternatively, if the proceedings were reported by a court reporter or 
officially recorded electronically, the trial court judge may determine that 
it would save court time and resources to either transmit the electronic 
recording as the record of the oral proceedings (if permitted by local rule) 
or order that a transcript be prepared as a record of the oral proceedings (if 
permitted by local rule). Cal Rules of Ct 8.869(d)(6), 8.916(d)(6). 

The trial court judge may not eliminate the appellant’s specification 
of grounds of appeal from the proposed statement. Cal Rules of Ct 
8.869(d)(5), 8.916(d)(5). 

d. [§82.91] Review of Corrected or Modified Statement 

If the trial court judge corrects or modifies the statement, the clerk 
must serve copies of the corrected or modified statement on the parties. 
Cal Rules of Ct 8.869(e)(1), 8.916(e)(1). If the trial court judge orders the 
appellant to prepare a statement incorporating corrections and 
modifications, the appellant must serve and file the corrected or modified 
statement within the time ordered by the court. if the appellant does not 
serve and file the statement as directed, the trial court may impose 
sanctions under Cal Rules of Ct 8.874 (misdemeanors) or 8.924 
(infractions). Cal Rules of Ct 8.869(e)(1), 8.916(e)(1). 

The parties have 10 days to serve and file proposed modifications or 
objections to the statement. Cal Rules of Ct 8.869(e)(2), 8.916(e)(2). 

Within 10 days after the time for filing proposed modifications or 
objections has expired, the judge must review the corrected or modified 
statement and any proposed modifications or objections to the statement 
filed by the parties. The procedures in Cal Rules of Ct 8.869(d)(3)–(4) or 
8.916(d)(3)–(4) apply if the judge determines that further corrections or 
modifications are necessary to ensure that the statement is an accurate 
summary of the evidence and witness testimony that are relevant to the 
points which the appellant states are being raised on appeal. Cal Rules of 
Ct 8.869(e)(3), 8.916(e)(3). 

e. [§82.92] Certification of Statement 

If the judge does not make or order corrections or modifications to 
the proposed statement and does not order either the use of an official 
electronic recording or preparation of a transcript in lieu of correcting the 
proposed statement, the judge must promptly certify the statement. Cal 
Rules of Ct 8.869(f), 8.916(f). 
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P. Judicial Review of Final Administrative Decision 

1. [§82.93] On Contested Parking Violation 

Within 30 calendar days after mailing or personal delivery of the 
final administrative decision on a contested parking violation, the 
contestant may seek review of that decision by filing an appeal with the 
court. The court hears the matter de novo. Veh C §40230(a). It must 
receive in evidence (1) the processing agency’s file in the case and (2) a 
copy of the notice of the parking violation, which is prima facie evidence 
of the facts stated in it. The contestant must serve a copy of the notice of 
appeal on the processing agency by personal delivery or first-class mail. 
For purposes of computing the 30-calendar-day period for filing the 
appeal, CCP §1013 applies. Veh C §40230(a). This proceeding is a limited 
civil case. Veh C §40230(a). 

The court must request that the processing agency forward its file on 
the case to the court within 15 calendar days of the request. The court 
must notify the contestant of the appearance date by mail or personal 
delivery. Veh C §40230(b). The fee for filing the notice of appeal is $25. 
Veh C §40230(b); Govt C §70615. The court retains the fee regardless of 
the outcome of the appeal. Veh C §40230(b). If the court finds in the 
contestant’s favor, the processing agency must reimburse the filing fee to 
the contestant. The processing agency must refund any deposit of the 
parking penalty in accordance with the court’s judgment. Veh C 
§40230(b). The appeal may be heard by a traffic commissioner or another 
subordinate judicial official. Veh C §40230(c). 

The court’s determination of liability for a parking violation under 
Veh C §40230 is not an appealable judgment. Smith v City of Los Angeles 
Dep’t of Transp. (1997) 59 CA4th Supp 7, 8, 73 CR2d 838. 

2. [§82.94] On Contested Toll Evasion Violation 

Within 20 days after mailing of the final administrative decision on a 
contested toll evasion violation, the contestant may seek review of that 
decision by filing an appeal with the court. The court hears the matter de 
novo. Veh C §40256(a). It must receive in evidence (1) the processing 
agency’s file in the case and (2) a copy of the notice of toll evasion 
violation, which is prima facie evidence of the facts stated in it. The 
contestant must serve a copy of the notice of appeal on the processing 
agency by personal delivery or first-class mail. For purposes of computing 
the 20-day period for filing the appeal, CCP §1013 applies. Veh C 
§40256(a). This proceeding is a limited civil case. Veh C §40256(a). 

If the court finds in the contestant’s favor, the processing agency 
must reimburse to the contestant the $25 fee for filing the notice of appeal. 
The processing agency must refund any deposit of the toll evasion penalty 
in accordance with the court’s judgment. Veh C §40256(b). The appeal 
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may be heard by a traffic commissioner or another subordinate judicial 
official. Veh C §40256(c). 

Q. Traffic Offenses Involving Juveniles 

1. [§82.95] Appointment of Judge or Referee as Traffic 
Hearing Officer 

The superior court, sitting as the juvenile court, has jurisdiction over 
juvenile traffic cases. See Welf & I C §§255, 256, 602(a). Judges of the 
superior court may be appointed by the presiding judge of the juvenile 
court to serve as traffic hearing officers under the juvenile court law. Welf 
& I C §255. A referee may also serve as a traffic hearing officer. Welf & I 
C §248. 

Under Welf & I C §603.5(a), the superior court has jurisdiction over 
traffic infractions committed by juveniles. Welf & I C §603.5(a), (d). 
These cases are not governed by juvenile court procedures. Welf & I C 
§603.5(b). For example, juvenile court law provisions restricting 
attendance by the public at juvenile court proceedings do not apply. The 
procedures for bail specified in the Penal Code apply. Welf & I C 
§603.5(c). A superior court may refer to the juvenile court for adjudication 
a traffic case involving a minor who has been adjudicated a ward of the 
juvenile court or who has other matters pending in the juvenile court. Welf 
& I C §603.5(a). 

A traffic hearing officer may hear and dispose of a charge other than 
an alcohol-related charge (see Veh C §§23136, 23140, 23152, 23153) 
against a person who was under 18 years of age at the time of the offense 
if the charge alleges a nonfelony violation of the Vehicle Code or a 
violation of any local traffic ordinance. Welf & I C §256. A minor who 
was under 18 years of age at the time of the alleged offense but has turned 
18 before appearing in court may waive juvenile court jurisdiction and 
request that the case be heard in adult court. The traffic hearing officer has 
discretion to grant or deny the request. See In re Rodney F. (1988) 203 
CA3d 177, 182–183, 249 CR 424. 

When a minor is cited for a traffic violation in a county other than his 
or her residence, the citation may be transferred to the minor’s county of 
residence. See Welf & I C §263. 

2. [§82.96] Procedure 

A juvenile traffic case is normally initiated by issuance of a notice to 
appear. See §82.25. The notice to appear takes the place of the petition by 
which juvenile court proceedings are usually initiated under Welf & I C 
§650. 63 Ops Cal Atty Gen 232, 234 (1980). A hearing may be conducted 
on the notice to appear without the minor’s consent. Veh C §40513(b); 
Welf & I C §257(a)(2). 
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There are three ways in which juvenile traffic court proceedings may 
be initiated: (1) the minor signs a promise to appear in a specific court on 
a specified date, (2) the minor signs a promise to appear in court at a date 
and location to be specified in a subsequent notice given by the court to 
the minor and the minor’s parents, or (3) the District Attorney files a 
petition under Welf & I C §658. 

To ensure that the minor and his or her parents have notice of the 
hearing date, the court should mail notice addressed to the minor’s 
parents. A personal appearance by the minor is required; i.e., the traffic 
hearing officer may not accept a forfeiture of bail in place of an 
appearance by the minor. Welf & I C §214; 63 Ops Cal Atty Gen 232, 
237, 240 (1980). Normally, in traffic violation cases, at least one parent is 
also required to attend the hearing. See Welf & I C §§338, 661. Parental 
presence in a traffic case ensures that the parents are aware of the citation, 
understand the reasons for the disposition made in the case, and can 
cooperate in the imposition of appropriate sanctions. 

A minor’s failure to appear in juvenile court as promised in the notice 
to appear is a misdemeanor under Welf & I C §214, and the minor may be 
adjudged a ward of the juvenile court under Welf & I C §602. 63 Ops Cal 
Atty Gen 232, 235 (1980). A juvenile hearing officer may request that the 
juvenile court judge or referee issue an arrest warrant against a minor who 
is issued and signs a written notice to appear for any violation listed in 
Welf & I C §256 and fails to appear at the time and place designated in the 
notice. The juvenile court judge or referee may issue and have delivered 
for execution an arrest warrant against a minor within 20 days after the 
minor’s failure to appear as promised or within 20 days after the minor’s 
failure to appear after a lawfully granted continuance of his or her promise 
to appear. A juvenile hearing officer who is also a referee or juvenile court 
judge may issue the arrest warrant. Welf & I C §256.5. 

Some courts apply a mandatory appearance policy to certain 
equipment violations, including unsafe vehicle, modified vehicle or smog 
device, an accident in which an equipment violation is cited, or multiple or 
repeated violations. Other equipment violations, as well as registration 
violations, are generally disposed of by presenting proof of correction and 
payment of a fine to the court, either in person or by mail, if the minor 
does not contest the charge. See §82.39. 

Juvenile cases should be confidential and hearings should be 
conducted in private. See Welf & I C §§345–346. In the interests of 
judicial economy, joint hearings may be conducted when several minors 
are involved in the same incident. The minor has the right to be 
represented by an attorney. See Welf & I C §218. If the minor is charged 
with a misdemeanor and cannot afford counsel, the court must appoint 
counsel for the minor. See In re Kevin G. (1985) 40 C3d 644, 646, 648–
650, 221 CR 146. If the minor admits the offense, a disposition may be 
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made without further evidence of the alleged violation. See Welf & I C 
§258; discussion in §82.97. 

3. [§82.97] Dispositions 

If the minor admits or is found to have committed the charged 
offense, the traffic hearing officer may 

• Reprimand the minor and take no further action. Welf & I C 
§258(a)(1). 

• Impose a fine in addition to or in place of any of the orders listed 
below. The court may waive all or any portion of the fine if the 
minor is unable to pay. In determining the minor’s ability to pay, 
the court may not consider the ability of the minor’s family to pay. 
The amount of the fine that may be ordered is the same as that for 
an adult unless the offense is otherwise specified in Welf & I C 
§258; for these offenses, the maximum fine is $250. See Welf & I 
C §258(a)(3). 

• Order the minor to pay restitution to the victim in place of all or a 
portion of the fine. The total dollar amount of the fine, restitution, 
and any program fees ordered may not exceed the maximum fine 
that may be imposed under Welf & I C §258(a)(3). Welf & I C 
§258(a)(4). 

• Order the minor to attend traffic violator school (see §82.60) and 
complete it within 60 days of the court’s order. Welf & I C 
§258(a)(6). 

• If the charged offense was an equipment violation, order the minor 
to provide satisfactory evidence that the vehicle has been corrected 
to conform to the requirements of the Vehicle Code. Welf & I C 
§258(a)(7). See §§82.38–82.39. 

• Order the minor to perform community service work in a public 
entity or private nonprofit entity for up to 50 hours over a period of 
60 days, during times other than the minor’s hours of school 
attendance or employment. The work may not exceed 30 hours 
during any 30-day period. These time frames may not be modified 
except in unusual cases when the interests of justice would best be 
served. When the order is made by a referee or traffic hearing 
officer, it must be approved by a juvenile court judge. Welf & I C 
§258(a)(8). 

• Withhold, suspend, or revoke the minor’s driver’s license for up to 
30 days, unless the Vehicle Code permits or mandates a longer 
suspension. Welf & I C §258(a)(5). 
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• If the offense is a misdemeanor, order that the minor complete a 
counseling or education program (or, if the offense involved a 
controlled substance law, a drug treatment program) if one is 
available. Any fees for participation are subject to a hearing about 
the minor’s ability to pay. The sum of the fees plus any fine or 
restitution order may not exceed the maximum amount that may be 
ordered under Welf & I C §258(a)(3). Welf & I C §258(a)(9). 

• Require that the minor attend a school program and incur no 
unexcused absences. Welf & I C §258(a)(10). 

• If the offense is a misdemeanor committed between 10 p.m. and 6 
a.m., require that the minor be at his or her legal residence during 
some or all of those hours each day, to be specified by the hearing 
officer, except for a medical or other emergency or unless the 
minor is accompanied by his or her parent or guardian, or another 
person in charge of the minor. The maximum length of this order is 
six months. Welf & I C §258(a)(11). 

• Order the minor to submit to supervision by a probation officer for 
up to six months in addition to or in place of one of the orders 
listed above. Welf & I C §258(a)(2). 

These possible dispositions are exclusive. 63 Ops Cal Atty Gen 232, 
237 (1980). 

The traffic hearing officer must promptly furnish a written report of 
his or her findings to the juvenile court clerk, who must promptly transmit 
an abstract of these findings and orders to the DMV. Welf & I C §260. 

The traffic hearing officer’s jurisdiction continues until the minor has 
complied with all orders. Welf & I C §258(b). An order by a traffic 
hearing officer is effective immediately unless a motion to set it aside or 
modify it or to obtain a rehearing is filed in the juvenile court by the minor 
or by the minor’s parent or guardian, or unless the juvenile court grants a 
rehearing or sets aside or modifies the order on its own motion. Welf & I 
C §§261–262. 

R. [§82.98] Source Materials for Judges Hearing Traffic Cases 

Important source materials for a judge handling a traffic calendar 
include the following: 

• The Vehicle Code, Penal Code, Evidence Code, and Standard 
California Desk Codes. 

• The Judicial Council’s Uniform Traffic Bail and Penalty Schedule. 

• City and county ordinances dealing with traffic matters. 

• Title 13 of the California Code of Regulations dealing with vehicle 
regulations. 
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• A Thomas Brothers map for the county. 

• http://www.mapquest.com for electronic maps. 

IV. SCRIPTS 

A. [§82.99] Advisements to Defendants at Commencement of 
Arraignment Regarding Rights and Penalties 

RIGHTS 

You have the following rights as a defendant in this court: 

To have the citation or complaint against you read in open court. 

To be represented by an attorney. If you are charged with a 
misdemeanor and cannot afford an attorney, the court will appoint an 
attorney to represent you. 

To enter a plea to the charges against you. You may plead guilty, not 
guilty, or no contest. A plea of no contest has the same effect as a plea of 
guilty except that it cannot be used against you in any civil action. If you 
wish to plead guilty with an explanation to the court, you may do so. Your 
guilty plea, however, is an admission of the charged traffic violation, and 
your explanation will be considered only in determining the appropriate 
penalty. 

To subpoena witnesses to testify on your behalf. 

To confront and cross-examine witnesses called by the prosecution. 

To refuse to testify. This is your constitutional privilege against self-
incrimination. 

To have your case tried within 45 days if you plead not guilty, unless 
you waive this right. If you do not waive this right and your case is not 
tried within 45 days, all charges against you must be dismissed. 

To have a jury trial, if you are charged with a misdemeanor. 

To delay sentencing if you plead guilty or no contest. You have the 
right to postpone your sentencing for six hours; sentence must, however, 
be imposed within five days. Because it may be inconvenient for you to 
return to court for sentencing at a later time, the court will presume that 
you prefer to be sentenced immediately unless you request a delay. 

To appeal the court’s decision. 

If you do not understand any of these rights, please request a further 
explanation from the court. 
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PENALTIES 

If you are convicted of an infraction, you may be fined, and any 
subsequent convictions may result in increased fines. If you are convicted 
of a misdemeanor, you may be fined and/or imprisoned, and for certain 
violations you may have your license suspended or revoked. 

You may be eligible to attend traffic violator school. You must still 
pay any fine imposed for the violation of which you were convicted, as 
well as the traffic violator’s school fee, but if you attend traffic violator 
school in accordance with this court’s order, the charges against you will 
be dismissed and may not appear on your traffic record. If you wish to 
attend traffic violator school, please tell the court. 

B. [§82.100] Advisements to Defendants at Commencement of Trial 
Regarding Rights 

RIGHT TO CHANGE PLEA 

You still have the opportunity to change your mind about going to 
trial. You may withdraw your plea of not guilty and enter a plea of guilty or 
no contest to the charges against you. Or you may enter a plea of guilty 
with an explanation. If I find your explanation to be reasonable, I will 
consider imposing a reduced penalty for the charged offense. 

[If this is an accident case, add:] 

You may wish to enter a no-contest plea because it will have no 
effect on any civil lawsuit or claim brought against you for injuries or 
property damage. 

[If several cases are set on the judge’s trial calendar, add:] 

After the advisement is given, I will call for those persons who wish 
to change their plea and will immediately process their cases before the 
rest of the calendar. 

RIGHT TO REMAIN SILENT 

If you still want to go to trial, you have the right not to testify in your 
case. This is your constitutional right to remain silent. Once you hear the 
officer or the people’s witnesses testify in establishing a case against you, 
you may want to testify to your version of the facts and your defenses. If 
you choose to testify, you will waive, or give up, the right to remain silent 
and will be subject to cross-examination by me or the District Attorney’s 
representative on matters that you have brought up in your testimony, as 
well as other related matters. 

RIGHT TO CONFRONT WITNESSES 
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You also have the right to confront or cross-examine the people’s 
witnesses who testify against you. After each of these witnesses testifies, 
I will ask you whether you want to cross-examine the witness. Cross-
examination means asking the witness questions about matters brought 
up in his or her testimony and other matters concerning the case. It does 
not mean introducing your own testimony at that time. I will warn you if I 
hear you testifying at that stage of the trial. 

RIGHT TO HAVE SENTENCING DELAYED 

If I find you guilty, you have the right to have the sentencing delayed 
for a period of at least six hours but no than five days. If you want to come 
back to this court during that period and then have this court issue its 
sentence, please ask for this delay. If you do not request this delay, I will 
assume that you want to be sentenced immediately. 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 

If I find you guilty, you have the right to appeal my decision. You 
must file your appeal within 30 days from today. Please ask the fines 
clerk about the procedure for filing an appeal. Any fine that I may impose 
must be paid pending any appeal. If you win the appeal, any fine you 
have paid will be refunded to you. 

C. [§82.101] Advisements to Defendants at Commencement of Trial 
Regarding Trial Procedure 

When the case is called, the defendant, the officer, and any 
witnesses to the case should step forward to the counsel table. [Point to 
the appropriate seat.] If you have any photographs or written documents 
that you want me to consider, please give them to the bailiff at that time. 
The officer will take the witness stand, and the other witnesses can be 
seated in the front row. The officer will testify first and state the facts that 
led to issuance of the citation. 

After the officer testifies, the defendant may cross-examine the 
officer. At this time you may ask any questions that you have of the 
officer. The questioning of the officer may serve several purposes: 

The first purpose is to clear up any factual questions you have 
regarding the circumstances of the offense. 

Second, you may want to ask questions to set the stage for your 
testimony. 

Third, you may want to ask questions to confirm your own 
observations. 
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At this time, please do not testify about your side of what happened 
and please do not argue with the witness. Later, you will have a full 
opportunity to explain your side. Let me know when you have finished 
asking questions. 

If there are no other witnesses against you, it is then your turn to 
present your side of the case. You always have a constitutional right to 
remain silent, but you may give up that right and testify. You may also call 
witnesses on your own behalf and present any photographs, charts, or 
other written materials that you want. 

The case is normally submitted on the evidence—in other words 
without closing arguments. However, you may make a closing argument if 
you wish to do so. 

Once both sides have been heard, I will announce my decision. If 
you are found not guilty or if your case is dismissed, you are free to leave. 
If you are found guilty, most likely a fine will be assessed. You can pay 
the fine in three ways: today; later but within 30 days; or in installment 
payments. If you do not pay the fine today, a processing fee will be added 
to your fine. If you cannot pay the fine, you may be able to satisfy the fine 
by performing community service. 

If you are found guilty, you may appeal the decision. Any appeal 
must be made within 30 days. An appeal is not a new trial, and you are 
not allowed to submit new or different evidence. Rather, another judge 
will review a record of today’s trial to determine whether good cause 
exists to support the decision of this court. If that judge upholds the 
decision of this court, the decision will stand. If you win on appeal, your 
traffic record will be corrected and any fines you have paid will be 
refunded. Even though you may wish to appeal, you still must pay your 
fine in one of the three ways I described. 

D. [§82.102] Finding of Guilty 

On due consideration and review of the evidence in this case, both 
oral and written, I find the defendant guilty of a violation of Section 
______ of the Vehicle Code. The following sentence is imposed: 
________________. 

E. [§82.103] Finding of Not Guilty 

On due consideration and review of the evidence in this case, both 
oral and written, I find that there is reasonable doubt that the defendant 
committed a violation of Section _____ of the Vehicle Code. Therefore, 
this court finds the defendant not guilty. The defendant is free to leave at 
this time. 
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